We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“(not so) Elite Cafe', a San Francisco used-to-be...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Elite Cafe

Elite Cafe
2049 Fillmore St, San Francisco, CA 94115
(415) 346-8400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Elite Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #989 of 4,919 restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Café, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: California St.
Transit: To get public transit information, please visit: http://transit.511.org/tripplanner/index.asp
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“(not so) Elite Cafe', a San Francisco used-to-be...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

A San Francisco establishment, that years ago, authenticated the New Orleans culinary delights
and reminded us of the joys of eating down-home style at Café do Monde, Felix's, Antoine's, is tired.
Devil eggs, six halves ($6.00), tasty with a classic mayonnaise based creamy filling. Cajun fries, ($5.00), chili peppered, crisp, worth eating. Kale salad, ($11.00), fresh seemingly slightly cooked, chilled and served with herbs. Good!......Hush puppies, ($9.00), corn meal, shell fish, over- cooked and oily. Gumbo, ($24.50), mushy, seemed like it stayed dormant in a pot for a brief vacation. The stew was like a weak tasteless soup. Jambalaya, ($25.00), similar to the Gumbo, mushy rice, standing around a pot waiting to be served. The Beignet, 2 for $7.50 lacked the light freshness that a du Monde sample should be and served as a heavy overcooked cupcake with a dollop of ice cream.. The food needs to be fresher, the service lacks education and this place is tired. Management should be made aware. Good bar, nice surroundings, good lower Pacific Heights location. We were disappointed. Returning to the Elite would be difficult.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    22
    24
    16
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Californian Cajun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I went to Elite Cafe with my coworkers. The cafe is very quaint and would be a good place to take a first date with the small booths. Overall the food ranged from great to only okay. The oysters and biscuits were amazing. The dino kale salad was a huge portion, but was also pretty good. The dried fruit and cheese paired quite well with the perfectly sliced kale. The downside to the meal with the entree. I was excited to try the gumbo only to find it so hot in temperature, that I was not able to enjoy it. By the time my coworkers were done with their entrees it was still too hot to eat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco,ca
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Got my NOLA in.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The place is happening on most nights and weekend brunch.
Some New Orleans classics with a California twist.
Really yummy deviled eggs, but they need work in the Sazerac department.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Overlook hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

What a cool looking place - reminded us of the bar in The Shining for some reason! Mirrored wall behind the bar, waistcoated barmen and private dining booths along the other wall. Our waiter was telling us the place was built 100 years ago, and back then the booths used to have curtains to make them completely private rooms for entertaining ladies! We had the chicken and polenta (divine) and the flat iron steak (delicious - one of the best I've ever had) and our waiter recommended a lovely dessert wine to finish. Friendly, interesting staff and a lovely evening - you must eat there. This was the best meal we had while on vacation in San Francisco.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Surprised by Cafe' Elite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

During my recent visit in San Francisco, I stopped one night to have an after-dinner digestif at the bar, which was OK...but I never thought I'd dine there.

A few evenings later, though, a friend picked this very restaurant to invite me out for dinner. I must say that the Southern, New Orleans flavor, perfectly matched the still ongoing Jazz Festival outside on Fillmore.

The food was surprisingly good, spicy with a zest and well prepared, the wine excellent, the service accurate, the staff friendly and accommodating... it turned out to make an unforgettable last evening in one of my favorite cities in the world.

I highly recommend Cafe' Elite... though I'm not sure about the price... I was fortunately invited!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elite Cafe also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Elite Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elite Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.