We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast Spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Squat and Gobble Cafe

Squat and Gobble Cafe
237 Fillmore St, San Francisco, CA 94117-3536 (Hayes Valley)
(415) 487-0551
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #145 of 5,007 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Diner, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Hayes Valley
telluride, colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Enjoyed a late breakfast here while visiting family in San Francisco. The generous portions made cleaning the plate difficult but you really wanted to as everything was so delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    31
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Nutritious and Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I ordered "Prawn & Giant Shanghai Noodles in broth" at Squat and Gobble the other day. It was a huge bowl of Shanghai greens, bamboo shoots, mushrooms, bell pepper, bean sprouts, cabbage, water chestnuts, garlic, ginger, spinach, carrots, lemongrass, coconut oil and home-made noodles! So nutritious and delicious - superior in quality as well as humongous in quantity - I asked for two containers to bring the leftover home and enjoyed to the last drop!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous for Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I fell into this restaurant making our way to the Presidio, as it is away from central San Francisco. I had the french toast, which was fabulous with homemade whipped cream and strawberries. My husband had some kind of omelette with rosemary potatoes, that were wonderful. Presentation was beautiful. It was a clean, nice place for breakfast. Staff was very helpful in pointing us in the right direction for our planned excursion. Will definitely go back here on our next trip to San Francisco.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Crepes!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I had quite an enjoyable "breakfast at lunch" here. You see, I'm not one for breakfast, as I'm usually sleeping through it. So it's usually a quick cereal for me in the "morning" as I'm not a huge fan of eggs.
I love crepes. And Crepevine, I mean Squat and Gobble is good. I'd be hard pressed to tell the difference between a Crepevine crepe and a Squat and Gobble crepe. But in this case, it's a good thing.

I ordered the Italian and when it came, I was starving. I started on the potatoes. Crisp on the outside and tender on the inside seasoned with rosemary. I moved on to the crepe and man was this huge. The chef didn't skimp on the sausage or the cheese. Cheese lovers, this is your calling.

My friend had the Salmon Fettuccine. I'm normally not a big fan of capers but the dish was so creamy and savory, I couldn't resist. However, their garlic bread was under seasoned.

I'd definitely come back to try some sweet crepes.

Generous portions. Quality and Quantity

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Really good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Very good food with reasonable prices and lots of choices. When you walk in, get in line and order. Take a seat, and they will bring out your food when it's ready. Everyone is friendly and helpful, It's been about two months since we were there, and my bad memory won't let me remember what the four of us ordered. But I can tell you, everything was delicious! I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squat and Gobble Cafe also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Squat and Gobble Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Squat and Gobble Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.