We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rough and ready but sooo good!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tommy's Joynt

Tommy's Joynt
1101 Geary Blvd, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Civic Center)
(415) 775-4216
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #241 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Neighborhood: Civic Center
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Rough and ready but sooo good!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

now, it can look a bit rough from the outside but the food here was so nice. I had the Chilli and would have certainly have gone back if we had the time!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    103
    44
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good grub, Geat price, Snobs and nobs stay away.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Touring around SF with my 3 teens a local man recommended Tommys. Terrific place to enjoy a filling ,tasty meal .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great value in an expensive city!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Went here with my three teenagers...everyone found something they liked....everything cooked from scratch, nothing deep fried! Entire meal for four came to under $50!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“NASTY, FILTHY AND WORST EVER”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Thought we would give this place a try since it was on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives....what the HELL was Guy thinking. This place was filthy, the workers rude...and the food garbage. My husband had a sandwich...so fatty couldn't even eat it, my son had the spaghetti w/ meatballs....looked and smelled like dog food, and I ordered the brisket dinner special served with instant mashed potatoes....and a choice of salad opted for macaroni salad, who can mess that up....they did, it was horrible...who puts barbeque sauce on, and then gravy over everything. We sat in the booths, and looked around there was filth and dust inches thick on everything.....BEWARE...there are so many wonderful places....this one should be closed down before someone gets really sick.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good simple food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We went here after seeing it on Diner's, Drive-in's & Dives & we were glad we did. This is good American food for a great price, especially in the city. The atmosphere is fun - dark, nothing fancy, but the food makes up for it. Guy Fieri did not steer us wrong.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy's Joynt also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Tommy's Joynt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tommy's Joynt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.