We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beef in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House

Ruth's Chris Steak House
1601 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Pacific Heights)
(415) 673 - 0557
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #305 of 5,004 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Pacific Heights
Cross street: California
Transit: End of California Line
Binche, Belgium
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best beef in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Clearly Ruth's Chris doesn't fail it's reputation, the beef was excellent. I had the Porterhouse with my wife, very tasty and juicy. We don't get meet like this in Belgium anymore. Everything that goes with the beef is less interesting and average, but we knew that. Waiters were very nice and efficient. A excellent experience. Of note, a very exhaustive Californian wine list but no support from a real specialist. A small regret.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    71
    19
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

This is without doubt one of the best steak houses. I've been to many throughout the US and Ruth's Christ always delivers. Skip a meal so you can try the Cowboy Ribeye, 20 odd ounces of prime beef. Just awesome if you're a steak lover.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Travel all over the country and one consistant place to eat is Ruth's Chris and I am never disappointed. The restaurant is always outstanding. Never go without having the Sweet Potato Casserole as a side dish. You cannot go wrong ordering anything on the menu.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

excellent and relative fast service, good portions and yum,yum
Nothing to dislike about this place. Mainly liked the crispy salads and the perfectly cooked steak

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Tyne & Wear
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced and very poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

My husband and I visited this restaurant and could not believe the poor level of service. When we arrived no one welcomed us, the staff just kept walking past us as if we didn't exist. When we eventually managed to attract the staffs attention we were seated at a poor table right next to the kitchen entrance, we thought the restaurant must be full, but on visiting the restroom we found that there were plenty of empty tables. The food was ok but definitely not worth the money. When we left none of the staff said goodnight or thank you, they were too busy gossiping. Overall a very expensive and disappointing evening. We certainly won't return to this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Chris Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.