We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak For Two” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House

Ruth's Chris Steak House
1601 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Pacific Heights)
(415) 673 - 0557
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #326 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Pacific Heights
Cross street: California
Transit: End of California Line
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Steak For Two”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

You can enjoy a T-bone steak together with your date, Ruth Chris offers a duo size T-bone for two, how romantic it this?

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    72
    19
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“When you want steak...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you are looking for a hip, uber-styled place with little bites of ever-so-trendy food, this isn't the place. If you want a tender steak perfectly cooked, great comfort-style vegetables, good bar drinks, and a good wine list in a relaxed, white table cloth setting, this IS the place. And then there is the bread pudding! Most of us don't eat this way often, but when you do, it needs to be really good, and our most recent visit reminded us of how nice it is to dine at a place with real food, well prepared, in a classic setting. Truly, our steaks were delicious, as were the side dishes. We brought our own wine, and the corkage was reasonable. Service was friendly and professional.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“perfect steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

reading the reviews we were a little hesitant. But the dinner was great. we called at 7pm for a table for 2 at 730pm and this was possible. the people where very friendly and Jonathan was perfect giving us the feeling we were real VIP's. the steak on the hot plate was just perfect. the side dish was big you only need one for two persons. have eaten several steaks in San Francisco over the last week and ths was definitely the best

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, California
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Incredible Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Always a first class dining experience at Ruth's Chris SF - our server Asta was the best! Incredible wine recommendation - delicious Caesar salad - filet was perfect - shoestring fries & Bernaise sauce were delicious. Well worth the cost for a memorable dinner in beautiful SF!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Why was my medium-rare steak well-done? Bad service, bad food, really??”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The waiters were too busy helping other guests to take our order for nearly 30 minutes, even though the restaurant was half empty. When he did finally get around to our table, he was rude and got annoyed when I asked if they cooked their meat with salt (I still don't know), and if they had grain-fed instead of corn-fed(grain-fed is much higher quality and tastes better). Someone who came to put bread on our table knocked my full glass of water into my lap didn't even apologize, and just left without a word. When I asked the waiter if he would move us to another table, since our table was now wet on my side, he said that the other tables were reserved.

When our food finally arrived, my steak was very dry and over-cooked. I had asked for medium-rare, so why was my meat well-done? I had the asparagus (dry), and got the tuna appetizer (way too salty).

I have eaten 10xs better steaks in smaller, cheaper restaurants and been treated better, too. San Francisco is a foodie city, so what's up with this sub-standard restaurant??

I will say that it was very clean, and at least the host was pleasant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Chris Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.