We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place that oozes hip and cool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sightglass Coffee

Sightglass Coffee
270 7th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
415–861–1313
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 4,918 restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Description: Sightglass is an independent, sibling-owned coffee company in San Francisco. To us, a good craftsperson works tirelessly to perfect and deliver excellence. At Sightglass, coffee is our hands-on craft. Because coffee is a seasonal fruit, we source it from origin in tiny, freshly harvested lots.
Restaurant details
Description: Sightglass is an independent, sibling-owned coffee company in San Francisco. To us, a good craftsperson works tirelessly to perfect and deliver excellence. At Sightglass, coffee is our hands-on craft. Because coffee is a seasonal fruit, we source it from origin in tiny, freshly harvested lots.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A place that oozes hip and cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Ultra hip and cool place to have excellent coffee. The moment we entered Sightglass, everything feels so sophisticated and cool. We sat on the upper level and enjoyed watching the barista prepare the coffee and doing the latte art. Definitely a great place to chill and enjoy a great cup of coffee. A must visit for people who love good coffee.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    28
    13
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“World class coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Sophisticated coffee, coffee lovers heaven. Sit near the window to be able to get free wi-fi from nearby hotel. Coffee is to die for. Regrettably ruined with a below average cookie. Stick with the coffee, sight glass is a good advert for San Fran. You will struggle to find a better coffee. Cool interior too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Specialty Coffee equal to Melbourne Australia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Located in the industrial SOMA area on 7th St (between Howard and Folsom), these guys take their coffee very seriously. Super chilled atmosphere in the midst of a 'working' coffee roasting business. We could take our bikes inside and leave them at the back. Very casual clientele, students, creatives meeting...definitely no suits could be spotted. Apparently they do not have WIFI as a point of difference so that people actually talk rather than nose on the screen.

This is a pleasant change and totally agree.

They are opening another outlet in the Mission soon. https://www.sightglasscoffee.com/our-company/locations

Check it out...you will not be disappointed if you are serious about your coffee

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sightglass Coffee Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a proper coffee drinking experience. It shouts out 'I'm different' as soon as you walk in. Quality of coffee is excellent and the aroma from freshly ground beans is tangible

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the cats meow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

okay. when i first stepped into sightglass i was impressed. the experience, which is outstanding, continued from ordering, watching my coffees being made (yes, plural-it was like a kid in a candy store and i had to have two), and taking in the atmosphere. then after picking up my coffee i wondered upstairs and found the single origin bar-OMG i am in foodie heavan-i met lea, who was testing out new roast. so after i finished my eapresso and latte i sampled a few test pulls. needless to say, i got wired. simple put, sightglass is a must, and try the gougere sandwich; delicious

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sightglass Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Sightglass Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sightglass Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.