We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish tacos!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Irish Times

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Irish Times
500 Sacramento Street, San Francisco, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,426 of 4,919 restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Irish
Restaurant details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fish tacos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

From Philadelphia in SF, where can we go Sunday to watch our Eagles play the oh-so despised Dallas Cowboys? The hotel concierge recommended the Irish Times sports bar, and we are so glad we chose that over some snooty lounge. The Stella on draft and the Kim Crawford sauvignon helped us get through the first quarter. And then the fish tacos with the guacamole sauce. Amazing. The best fish tacos we ever had. Go there for dinner just to fill up on this treat. We're not Irish, but Erin go braugh. And, yes, the Eagles beat the 'Boys, and we are in the playoffs. Maybe we will face the 'Niners in the championship game.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    3
    8
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
“terrific bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

great bar to come and relax after work. great location in the financial district and always has the sports games on!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Sports Bar ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

A nice sized Irish pub, good collection of locals and tourists. The Bloody Mary's are pretty thick and so I ordered it with double vodka to water it down, not very spicy but not a bad mix. The buffalo wings are ok, not very spicy, the fries are not worth the calories. The tomato soup was good, but very creamy, and the burgers had a good flavor. Lots of tv's allowing for multiple games and the servers are on the ball and attentive. As far as Irish pubs go, this is a good place to relax and watch the game.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Great Happy Hour Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is one of my weekly go-to bars. The bar is always filled after work. There are good happy hour beer and food deals. Taco Tuesdays do not disappoint. The bartenders and waitresses are all nice and fun. There are lots of TV's, and they always play the American sports game that is on that night - Sometimes football, baseball and hockey are all on at the same time! (I mention this because some Irish bars only play soccer). Great post-work atmosphere for beer, food, and sports.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“You may not be wowed by Irish Times”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Several of us chose to stop at Irish Times for dinner on Monday night. We were looking forward to good pub food and some Monday Night Football.

Irish Times did pretty well on the Monday Night Football front as there are nice TVs posted around the entire bar, but on the food/service end they were a little lacking. Our meals came out of the kitchen warm but not hot and the sides were not memorable. (Based on the other reviews here on Trip Advisor, I should have ordered the Fish and Chips!)

The one area where the bar shines is keeping you all set up with a cold beverage. They had an small, but interesting, list of draught beers (but they made plenty of trips by to find out if you needed another).

Overall, I think Irish Times gets a pass. They were busy but nothing served here was so outstanding that I would pass up other pubs to dine again. If we were talking a happy hour place, however, I think they would probably be an outstanding choice!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irish Times also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Irish Times? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irish Times, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.