We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cafe!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe La Taza

Cafe La Taza
4230 18th Street, San Francisco, CA
415.525.4921
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #79 of 4,858 restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Latin, Café
Restaurant details
Albany, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were looking for a place to have a light lunch. We were very happy with our wraps. Ingredients were fresh and delicious. We liked it so much we went back for breakfast the next day. There are only a few small tables but we didn't have to wait. Give it a try!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    14
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Thai Chicken Salad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Loved the Thai Chicken Salad so much that I went back to have it the next day. Grace, Maria, and Delia are so lovely and care about their customers. I love this cafe :o)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun, energetic environment with delicious, moderately-priced food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I met a friend here for breakfast one day and returned with my husband and son for brunch the next. The service was fast and friendly. The diverse menu had a great selection of items for all meals. The atmosphere was casual and energetic. The coffee was fantastic. We ate out on the 3rd floor patio area, although a coffee shop exists on the first floor. Next time we visit San Francisco, we will definitely return here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“really surprised me...in a good way.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

When we first walked in for breakfast and I saw old looking pastries hanging out in the glass under the register I wasn't really sure about this place. We went up the 3rd floor for sit down service. The coffee was very strong which I like. And the food was very good! I got the classic breakfast burrito but subbed the tortilla for toast. We also all split the blueberry lemon pancakes which we were fighting over as it got down to the last bite. The only thing I didn't like was the portion size, it was so much food! Service was decent. She took our order and then said something about "oh that's a lot to remember" ...well then write it down. But she got it right and the food was good :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Fresh Squeezed OJ and Mimosas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled across this gem searching for a less crowded quality breakfast place in the Castro.

Cafe/Lounge area for coffee patrons on the first two floors. Restaurant seating is up on the third floor - indoor/outdoor porch has excellent views of the Castro and surrounding neighborhood. Relaxed and not crowded.

Latin breakfast menu. We had the fresh squeezed OJ and bottomless mimosa (which also used the fresh squeeze OJ) were Excellent. As other reviews have said, the omlettes and scrambles are very tasty. Well seasoned and nicely sized. A good value for the quality of the food. Minus the bottomless mimosa - $15 a person for a good sized breakfast

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe La Taza also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Cafe La Taza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe La Taza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.