We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, even better beds!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Seaside Inn to your Saves list
Seaside Inn
1750 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location, even better beds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

While parking is tight at Seaside Inn (then again, the same goes for most places in SF), its location and rooms make up for everything else! Located on Lombard, its about a 20minute walk or 5minute drive from Fisherman's Wharf. There are many motels/inns in the area, but I don't believe any of the others will have beds as comfy and solid as the ones in Seaside Inn! They even use soft egyptian sheets! Staying here is also well worth the price given its location and sleep quality :) Microwave included!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    75
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
79
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I originally booked 1 night but decided to stay 3 in the clean, comfortable room at an excellent price.
Obviously recently remodeled, my room was a king with stone sink, HUGE tiled shower, flat panel, wi-fi, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee pot, iron and board, and a real hair dryer. The furniture was stylish and comfortable, featherbed on top of the mattress with nice linens and plenty of pillows. Parking is tight and limited, but it's free and conveniently located in the Marina District ~ so when I got back in the evenings I walked everywhere from there. Ask at the desk about a $15 airport shuttle if you're flying.
Breakfast is Keurig coffee and Otis Spunkmeyer muffins at 7am ~ I did drop the service down to a "very good" because it's pretty light and I needed to be gone by then to miss traffic, but honestly at this location I prefer to take in the abundant local restaurants anyway. The proprietor, Yogi was very friendly and helpful.
The other "very good" on sleep quality was simply because I could hear a little traffic ~ truly didn't bother me in the extremely cozy bed, but a light sleeper might want to use earplugs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We felt fortunate to find this newly renovated inn. Rooms are small, but lovely. Comfy beds, excellent linens. Nice bathrooms. Refrig, microwave, wifi included. Breakfast is coffee, juice and wrapped pastries--just enough to get started, but for a real breakfast walk over to Union Street where there are many shops and cafes.

Location is good for walking to Fisherman's Wharf. We recommend the very interesting National Maritime Historic Park, a part of the US National Park Service. Cable cars and city buses can take you all over the city from this inn. Parking is limited at the inn, so best to park your car and leave it there. If you don't get a space, you will most likely have to park in a nearby paid parking garage.

If prices remain reasonable, this will be our go-to choice for visits to San Francisco.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on top floor at back, away from busy Lombard Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed in San Francisco for two nights, both in this hotel. I picked this because of it's good reviews and relatively low price and it was not disappointing. The front desk lady was really nice and helpful; the rooms were clean and modern. The only downside would be the traffic noise, but it was not that bad. There is unlimited juice, coffee and tea.

Room Tip: Choose a room upstairs to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

What a Great little Motel hidden away in San Francisco. Just walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf where everything happens. only 3 minutes away from the Bay and your first glimpse of Alcatraz Island. Close to the World Famous Cable Cars.
The room was nicely decorated and very spacious with FREE WiFi which is a must these days.
It's not cheap but nowhere is cheap here so price wise not too bad.
We stayed 2 nights and wish we had stayed longer.
Breakfast included but i'm afraid didn't amount to much just muffins and danishes with coffee and juice.
Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Maryland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed overnite in San Francisco for an early morning Napa winery tour. I was nervous because inns & motels can be disappointing & downright scary. I was very pleasantly surprised! The room was very clean & comfortable, looked like it had been recently remodeled. New modern sofa, dark chocolate wood furniture & white bedding. Very contemporary. Small room - but very efficient - felt like a Marriott experience. There was also a microwave & frig. Only one problem: they need bigger, better pillows.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great value for the money, especially for the location. We stayed four nights and we were not disappointed in any way. The rooms are small, but everything is very clean and new. It was perfect for us since we didn't spend a lot of time in the room and we could walk everywhere. We didn't even need to rent a car to get to Ghirardelli Square, Fisherman's Wharf and pier 33 for Alcatraz tour. If you don't like walking a lot though you might want to spend more money and rent a car, but the parking is limited so we just walked or rode the trolley and public transportation. Take a shuttle from the airport to Seaside Inn and you will be set. We also did two tours through Extranomical and they picked us up right in front of the hotel . The best part of Seaside Inn were the beds and bedding! So comfy and cozy! I usually don't sleep well at hotels, but I slept like a baby. Ask for a room further toward the back though if you need quiet to sleep, because the road noise can get a bit obnoxious. but hey, its the heart of San Francisco, so its to be expected. The walls are a bit thin.....and you can hear noisy neighbors, so also keep that in mind =] We would definitely stay at Seaside Inn again!

Room Tip: Top floor toward back to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Inn

Address: 1750 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.