We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasantly surprised!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Inn

Save Saved
You added Seaside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seaside Inn
1750 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Largo, Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very pleasantly surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed overnite in San Francisco for an early morning Napa winery tour. I was nervous because inns & motels can be disappointing & downright scary. I was very pleasantly surprised! The room was very clean & comfortable, looked like it had been recently remodeled. New modern sofa, dark chocolate wood furniture & white bedding. Very contemporary. Small room - but very efficient - felt like a Marriott experience. There was also a microwave & frig. Only one problem: they need bigger, better pillows.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    55
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
58
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murray, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great value for the money, especially for the location. We stayed four nights and we were not disappointed in any way. The rooms are small, but everything is very clean and new. It was perfect for us since we didn't spend a lot of time in the room and we could walk everywhere. We didn't even need to rent a car to get to Ghirardelli Square, Fisherman's Wharf and pier 33 for Alcatraz tour. If you don't like walking a lot though you might want to spend more money and rent a car, but the parking is limited so we just walked or rode the trolley and public transportation. Take a shuttle from the airport to Seaside Inn and you will be set. We also did two tours through Extranomical and they picked us up right in front of the hotel . The best part of Seaside Inn were the beds and bedding! So comfy and cozy! I usually don't sleep well at hotels, but I slept like a baby. Ask for a room further toward the back though if you need quiet to sleep, because the road noise can get a bit obnoxious. but hey, its the heart of San Francisco, so its to be expected. The walls are a bit thin.....and you can hear noisy neighbors, so also keep that in mind =] We would definitely stay at Seaside Inn again!

Room Tip: Top floor toward back to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was a little skeptical at first because I couldn’t find a website to this motel and the phone number was listed under San Francisco Motor Inn. Fortunately, we were very pleasantly surprised. We stayed in a room with one king bed. There was a sofa, desk, dresser, flat screen TV, two nightstands, micro, and refrigerator. You can tell they've just remodeled this motel. Very comfortable and contemporary rooms. I thought there was more than enough room inside. The front desk receptionist was very nice and gave us lots of good information. She sold us bus tickets, reserved a shuttle to the airport, and gave us directions on how to get from point A to B. My husband and I thought the location was great. Everything seemed to be within walking distance, including the trolleys, the crooked street, and the piers. While pastries and coffee are offered every morning, a short walk down the street took us to cafe golo which serves a good breakfast. Plenty of food at the Piers for lunch and dinner. If you're tired of walking, it was a $6 cab ride back to the motel. The only thing I didn’t like was that the walls are a bit thin, but nothing we couldn’t deal with.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the second floor. We had a room on the first floor and could easily hear people walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

On the edge of Cow Hollow, and the Marina district, Seaside Inn has clean nicely decorated motel rooms, with limited first-come-first-served parking. The rooms are very small, and you have to squeeze around the beds to get to the bathroom. There is a tiny space to hang clothes and a compact bathroom. Near to the motel is a petrol station (with a very small shop), a launderette, and a Chinese takeaway. There’s not much else in easy walking distance around. However, there is a good bus line to Fisherman’s wharf and north beach. Bus takes about 10 mins to Fisherman’s wharf, and about 20 mins to North Beach. We are both walkers, BUT it is a fair old walk to Fisherman’s wharf (a 40 minutes stroll). We got taxi’s for our night’s out. Interestingly a taxi driver asked my husband ‘why do you Englishmen take your ladies to stay in such dumps’. I wouldn't say that seaside Inn is a dump, it is clean, newly refurbished with very nice linens and curtains, however for SFO it is cheap – SFO is so expensive.
I probably wouldn't stay here again, it is very clean (but small) and it is fine. In fact if it were nearer to North Beach or Fisherman’s wharf I would stay here again. As it is because of its location, we spent a lot of our holiday walking to and from the motel (which I would rather have spent doing other things). Next time I will stay nearer to a livelier neighbourhood.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

If you are coming to San Francisco and need to have a car, this is a fantastic option because it has free parking and is located in a good neighborhood for accessing all parts of the city.

The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful and it is kept immaculately clean.

The building does not have interesting architecture - it is a traditional 2 story motel - but the rooms have been remodeled and updated, truly making the most of the space and making for a comfortable stay.

Free wifi, in-room refrigerator and microwave, continental breakfast are all nice amenities that show they are trying hard.

Located in the Marina neighborhood, it is pretty quiet but with some good restaurants and shopping nearby. Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as Lombard street is very busy.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I was a bit unsure when booking this hotel a few months ago as it was clearly very new & was not even recognised on trip advisor at the time; a few reviews on the booking website were so complimentary as to be almost unbelievable. I needn't have been concerned as this place has turned out to be a great find and a great base for exploring SF.
Not much to look at on arrival, a typical motel type appearance, it's 2 main strengths are the standard of the rooms and the location.
Rooms are fairly small but well fitted with modern but tasteful furnishings & good use made of the available space. Plenty of available power outputs, microwave, coffee maker and good sized fridge are all very useful. Clothes storage may be limited for an extended stay. Some may be put off by the traffic noise although that became minimal through the night & certainly wasn't a problem for us. The bathroom, though small, was well set out with all the required facilities.
Location is great; 20-30 min walk to Fisherman's Wharf for the touristy stuff but we were best pleased by the proximity to Union Street with a great selection of bars & restaurants and a good atmosphere - highly recommended.
Maybe not the best place if you intend spending a lot of time in the room (limited space) and breakfast somewhat limited but otherwise I would certainly recommend.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I spent 2 nights in San Francisco and was looking for a reasonably priced hotel within walking distance of the touristy stuff. This totally fit the bill.

The hotel appears to have been just newly renovated and everything is wonderful. The rooms was very comfortable and clean. Even had a fridge and microwave. We had everything we needed.

It was in a great location off Lombard Street, within walking distance to Crissy Field with spectacular views of the Golden Gate Bridge to Fisherman's Wharf. We had a rental car, but there are complimentary parking spots (first come first serve) that we took advantage of and did not use the car the whole time because it was so easy to walk every where.

Overall I would recommend anyone staying here and would definitely stay again. I was so happy to stumble across this hotel through a google search!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Inn

Address: 1750 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.