We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sutro Baths

Sutro Baths
Point Lobos, San Francisco, CA (The Richmond)
+1 415-561-4323
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 318 Attractions in San Francisco
Type: Historic Sites, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the westernmost point of Lands End, the Sutro Historic District encompasses Sutro Heights, the Sutro Bath ruins and the historic Cliff House.
Prince George, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We arrived just before Sunset. All I can say is WOW! Such a beautiful place. So beautiful that we came back another afternoon so that we could take in more. There is no charge to enjoy the hiking trails and check out the area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    40
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a free attraction so you aren't spending anything and the views are lovely. Make sure and walk to the back where there is a tunnel under the rocks that takes you to this tiny beach area with some lovely views. Interesting history to think about the 1900s and all the bathing beauties who hung out here....

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nothing more than a fess pool full of litter”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were looking forward to this historical place but when we arrived in there in the fog, we found site in a mess. Used doggie litter bags, discarded underwear , floating bottles and rubbish. At first we were disappointed, but after exploring the ruins we hiked on a lovely coastal path in the direction of the golden bridge. Don't forget to take a sweater, as even in summer this area can be cool and foggy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Interesting piece of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Nice quick trip (or hike the rest of Lands End along with this), beautiful scenery on the beach, and interesting history (suggest reading about it and looking up the drawings before you go).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Overrated ruins”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This place is overrated - it's really nothing more than just a pile of broken cements with some water puddles. The ruins themselves aren't that interesting, only the surroundings are beautiful like the rocky shores and the windswept cypress trees. The ruins seem quite out-of-place; they just don't fit into the rest of the natural scenery close by the site. You can get a better view of the Seal Rocks from other vantage points higher up, such as the nearby Cliff House or Lands' End. Also, one should be careful while hiking there - I almost sprained my ankle on one its many uneven steps (which were made more slippery on a wet, foggy day).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sutro Baths also viewed

 

Been to Sutro Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sutro Baths, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.