We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Skool Cafe

Old Skool Cafe
1429 Mendell St, San Francisco, CA
4158228531
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #376 of 4,921 restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American, Tapas, International, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Oakdale
Transit: T 23, 24, 44, 54
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love this place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have been to OSC on several occassions, most recently in June 2013. This restaurant is amazing! Here are the reasons I love Old Skool:

* the story - every product/service should have a great story and this one does
* the food - REALLY great food and great prices
* the atmosphere - classy
* the entertainment - how many restaurants include live entertainment?
* the price - very reasonable for San Francisco
* the story - did I mention the story! How many places can you eat great food AND help support opportunity for a youth!

OSC is reducing crime and providing hope one meal and one life at a time!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    7
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Oh, What a beautiful concept for a restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I absolutely adore it when people do something for the greater good. I loved that the owner, Teresa, who had previously been a corrections officer, has now given the opportunity to many of these young adults, to create and begin a new chapter in their lives. Without the experience and training that Teresa provides for them, I do not know where these staff would end up. The food was delicious, and graciously served by such nice waiters. They also had a live performance that my partner and I enjoyed listening to. Towards the end of the night, a waiter went up on stage and told us his story of being in his previous condition, and how far along he has now come.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, Amazing Service, Great Concept”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The Old Skool Cafe is an amazing place in many ways. The ambiance is very nice -- charming, cozy and even romantic with a retro style from the early to mid 1900's. The booths, tables and the entire restaurant are nicely appointed. The service is absolutely wonderful - these guys are the nicest servers you will probably ever meet. When we were there, there was live music from a band as well as some live vocals from a talented young lady who was also one of the servers. The food was some authentic home-cooked southern cuisine, and it was quite good. We had gumbo, fried chicken, blackened catfish, calamari, and pork belly ribs (there were 4 of us!).

If you look at the website, you see that Old Skool Cafe is a "youth-run supper club." They are a restaurant that serves great food while helping at-risk youth earn a living and learn valuable life skills. Note that OSC is located in a rugged neighborhood, but I wouldn't be put off by it. It's evident that the local residents support what they the cafe is doing and thus treat visiting diners with respect. If you try out the Old Skool Cafe, I don't think you'll be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Tasty soul food with rhythm and heart!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great new discovery! A Cozy little place that brings you back to the 1940’s. The staff is welcoming and charming and the waiters wear 40’s style suits. The food is simply delightful and authentic. We tried the Jordan’s fried chicken, the gumbo, the blacked catfish and the mac and cheese. As food aficionados, we were not disappointed!

The great thing about this restaurant , besides the food, is that is a "faith-based” program that supports and employs urban youth at risk offering these young adults a second chance. We were truly touched by the effort and the hard work put into this program and by some of the staff's stories. We we’ll definitely come back and continue to support.

The place also has live jazz and dance shows. You will not be disappointed and will leave this place satisfied and inspired. I know we did!
Thank you Old Skool Café for a delicious meal!
Cheers

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Skool Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Old Skool Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Skool Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.