We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Boulange de Sutter

La Boulange de Sutter
222 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Union Square)
Improve this listing
Ranked #413 of 5,102 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Union Square
Hermosa Beach, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Loved the variety at this bakery. Good coffee and better patisseries. Really enjoyed the openness, big windows, and outdoor seating.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    23
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Starbucks owned, but its great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We found about Boulange on a walking tour in North Beach, that it was recently bought by Starbucks. Maybe not authentic French but the latte and cappuccino were great, breads very good,pastries too, great service, reasonable prices, that's why we ate breakfast and lunch at 2 different locations.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presron, England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

a great place for breakfast, went there most days while in the city. good choice of both hot and cold items, great coffee, great pastries, although the staff did struggle to understand my accent, which lead to a bit of order confusion at times!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Really great and quick and easy too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I loved this little café on Sutter Street! I had an egg sandwich on croissant one day and an egg on wheat toast another day. I got avocado on my sandwich which was yummy! I ordered a large coffee for dine in and was very surprised by the size of the coffee. It was the size of a soup bowl! I enjoyed every drop though. I like how they offer real silverware even though it is a place where you order at the counter. They also had "plasticware" that was more green and could compost. If you don't want a huge coffee- they do have a "small" size that was very reasonable. They also have 'to go" cups that are normal sizes. The fruit they serve was very fresh and ample in quantity. The atmosphere was very comfortable and cozy. They had outdoor seating. This is on a street that has a few bus lines so it's convenient if you are waiting for a bus. My partner got a brioche that he said was just amazing. It looked wonderful. This is also family friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

What a great restaurant! Had a iced coffee three days in a row. Great selection of pastries, meals, and drinks. Love the atmosphere. Would definitely go back if visit San Francisco again. You can even order online.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Boulange de Sutter also viewed

 

Been to La Boulange de Sutter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Boulange de Sutter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.