We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Parking Half Truth” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Geary Parkway Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Geary Parkway Motel to your Saves list
Geary Parkway Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4750 Geary Blvd, San Francisco, CA 94118 (The Richmond)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Free Parking Half Truth”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Many reviews mentioning free parking got me to reserve at this hotel. Upon arrival I was shown the sign about first come first serve on the parking. This "fine print" was nowhere to be seen when I reserved the room directly on the hotel's website.

This really pissed me off so I wanted to get that information out there so others will know that parking may be free, if you hit the right time of day, but you can't count on it. And there are no parking garages near by so you have to hope to find a street spot that isn't hindered by street cleaning schedules.

Also, no elevator!

Room Tip: Park on west side of lot so you are out of the sun. No elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Guest Relations Manager at Geary Parkway Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your review and concern for other travelers. Indeed we have a sign at our hotel regarding parking at a first come first serve bases due to limited parking in our lot. While reviewing our hotel website you are correct, we do not state that. We have notified our web developer to include our parking policy on our hotel website for future travelers. We thank you for bringing this our attention and apologize for any inconvenience we may caused during your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    85
    38
    4
    13
See reviews for
59
76
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moab, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Very affordable when compared to other hotels in San Francisco. Great location, close to California Academy of Sciences and major bus route.
Room was small but very comfortable. Hotel was older but nicely maintained and obviously recently renovated.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
The free wireless and parking were the major attractions.
This is not a five star hotel but it is the best dollar value in San Francisco.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Guest Relations Manager at Geary Parkway Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. Our location is one our selling points and it is always great to hear good things being said about our hotel and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We initially booked a four night stay through Travelocity
in San Francisco at Geary Parkway Motel, but a week before
our trip, we found we only needed three nights. When we
called the motel to cancel that last night, proprietor said
he could not change the reservation because Travelocity had
handled the charges on our credit card. Travelocity told
us they couldn't change the credit card charge and told us
to call the Motel. After a couple of more frustrating,
run-around calls, the Geary proprietor told us to just
cancel the whole reservation with Travelocity and call
him back and make the reservation directly with him.
So we did, and in fact it was $10 a night cheaper because
of our AAA discount.

The Geary Parkway Motel is a clean, pleasant place to
stay, just north of Golden Gate Park. The price is low
considering it is right in San Francisco. We especially
appreciated the cheerful, helpful service. We recommended
Geary Parkway Motel to our daughter when she travels there
later this year.

Room Tip: Our room was toward the back and we didn't hear any traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Guest Relations Manager at Geary Parkway Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. We encourage all our guest to book directly through us for the best rate. Thank you for the nice words regarding our hotel and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

They've put some bucks into refurbishing and the beds are high quality and very comfortable. I just want a clean comfortable bed and hot shower and don't care much about amenities since I spend very little time in a hotel room, but there are great amenities here like free wireless, free parking and free coffee. The room is very clean, small but comfortable. Word must be getting out about this place because there were no vacancies the three days we were there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Guest Relations Manager at Geary Parkway Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you your review. We are happy to hear that you found our beds to be comfy and our guest rooms to be very clean and we hope you enjoyed the amenities provided by our hotel. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge, CA
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Nice clean older motel. Very well loved and cared for. Very good location! Good dollar value!

Room Tip: Upstairs away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Guest Relations Manager at Geary Parkway Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your review and kind words regarding our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The service at this hotel was phenomenal!! The hotel manager was very friendly. He helped us navigate the bus system and made suggestions of places to visit in the city. When the light bulb went out in the bathroom and the door was rattling due to the wind, it was fixed within minutes.

The hotel is in a very convient location- walking distance to Golden Gate Park. The bus stop was directly in front of the hotel, which made it easy to go anywhere in the city without a car. (Free parking was provided at the hotel- no parallel parking necessary. )

The room was very clean and quiet at night. There was a microwave and refrigerator available in the room. There was also tea, coffee, and muffins available at the front desk for breakfast.

Overall, I thought this was a great place to stay! It is very reasonably priced, has free parking, clean and quiet rooms, and is in a good location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Guest Relations Manager at Geary Parkway Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are just delighted to hear that you had a great time staying with us and were phenomenally well taken care of by our hotel manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The wheelchair accessible room in which we stayed is great! We've stayed here twice in the last six months, and have been impressed both times. Wish we'd found this place sooner. The room is always neat, clean, and very comfortable. The manager Henry is a very caring person, and goes out of his way to assist us. The hotel location is close to everything we need without the hustle & bustle of the downtown area. The price is right, and the free parking is an added bonus. We're looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Guest Relations Manager at Geary Parkway Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Than you for your review. We are happy to hear you are a returning guest. Thank you for your kinds words regarding Henry, it is good to hear he is doing a marvelous job. See you the next time your back in San Francisco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Geary Parkway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geary Parkway Motel

Address: 4750 Geary Blvd, San Francisco, CA 94118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Geary Parkway Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located to all of San Francisco's major attractions, nearby Golden Gate Park - The Geary Parkway motel offers 20 unique guest rooms, with comfortable beds and a wide range of extra amenities such as In-Room Microwave/Refrigerator, In-Room Iron & Ironing Board In-Room Hairdryer, In-Room Coffee and Satellite Cable/HBO. Enjoy Free complimentary breakfast, Wi-Fi internet access and Free parking. The Geary Parkway Motel AAA approved and a member of the San Francisco Convention and Visitors Bureau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Geary Parkway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geary Parkway Hotel San Francisco
Geary Parkway San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geary Parkway Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.