We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Geary Parkway Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Geary Parkway Motel to your Saves list
Geary Parkway Motel
4750 Geary Blvd, San Francisco, CA 94118 (The Richmond)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Wroclaw
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
276 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Great!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I spend with family three days in this place. Super Motel, clean and nice staff!!! Very good price and location, near to bus stop, park and Golden Gate. Parking for free, WiFi for free and great morning free coffe. I recomended to all!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Guest Relations Manager at Geary Parkway Motel, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Thank your for your kinds words regarding our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    76
    34
    4
    13
See reviews for
57
69
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eureka,CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

For the price and being in the city, I expected a crapped room. Not! Our room was as spacious as any average hotel room you would encounter in the suburbs. I expected outdated and worn decor. Not! Very modern and up to date furnishings, very clean, granite shower walls, modern bath fixtures. Only noticed that the wood furniture was a little scuffed and a little marred. Henry at the front desk called us at home twice before our arrival to make certain of a detail regarding our reservations. He was as cordial, friendly and helpful as you could want. We had no problems parking in the motel lot directly in front of our room. There are perhaps half as many parking spaces as there are rooms, but this is not too bad since many travelers may not have a vehicle in the city anyway. It is reasonably close to nationally recognized medical facilities and physicians and will definitely be the place we stay when traveling to SF for medical care again. The room (close to the front, bottom floor) was noisy when we arrived in the afternoon, but Henry assured us it would quite down by the time we went to bed and it did. Comfortable bed. We were very pleasantly surprised in every way. Just skip the breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for room away from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Guest Relations Manager at Geary Parkway Motel, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Thank you for your review and kind words regarding our guestrooms. It is also great to hear that you were well taken of by Henry. We look for forward to seeing again on your next trip to San Francisco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

My friends and I checked into the Geary Parkway Motel after completing the San Francisco Bay Area 3-Day for the Cure. Although the room was small for 4 women with 2 pieces of luggage apiece, it was a great place to stay. Wonderful bathroom! Comfortable beds. Quiet and a short walk to Golden Gate Park - about 4-5 blocks. Several blocks up Geary is a cute coffee shop for breakfast. Although we cabbed it pretty much everywhere, there is a bus stop on the corner. There is also a couple of car rental locations a few blocks up the road. All in all, this was a great value for San Francisco.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Guest Relations Manager at Geary Parkway Motel, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
It is always great to hear back from guests who enjoyed our guestrooms and location so thank you for your wonderful review. We hope to see you again the next time your back in San Francisco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

I just can't believe why there are people saying good things to this Motel. It's cold in the room and internet doesn't work at some time. Staff are SO rude! In the morning when we checked out, he yelled at us and said the 'F' word just because we knocked on his door when he is SLEEPING!
That is the worst hotel I ever lived in.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Guest Relations Manager at Geary Parkway Motel, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Firstly, thank you for commenting about your stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service and we regret to hear about your experience with our staff. On behalf of the staff and management of the hotel we would like to apologize for any misunderstanding or miscommunication that had occurred during your stay. We are also terribly sorry for the internet issues you had, at the time our internet connection kept going on and off, but the problem is fixed now. We truly hope you that the next time you back in San Francisco you decide to give us another stay so you can experience what others are saying about us. Once again please accept our deepest apologies. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Rooms were very clean and updated. Beds were first class with crisp, ironed sheets. (As good as the downtown Mariott we had just vacated - too many $$$$.) Coffee, Tea, Hot Cocoa and Juice available all day. Light continental breakfast. Lots of lighting. We don't watch much TV when we vacation and always look for good lighting to read by. Parking is at a minimum (but free), but there is plenty of free overnight parking on the street. There is a bus stop right in front of the motel. Takes you right down Geary to the beach. On the other side of Geary the bus takes you right downtown (and all the stops in between.) A long-ish walk to Goldengate Park, or a short walk to 6th and Geary and a bus takes you to the Park. Very easy to get anywhere. Lots of places to eat. A very fun diner, Hamburger Haven, on Clement St, (one street behind motel) has great breakfast and the Clement Street Bar & Grill has great food and a neighborhood atmosphere. Henry, at the front desk, was very helpful, kind and accomodating with any questions for directions that we had. We will definitely choose this place for return trips.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Guest Relations Manager at Geary Parkway Motel, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you found our location to be very convenient. It is also great to hear that you were well taken of by Henry. We look for forward to seeing again on your next trip to San Francisco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, OH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We chose this motel because it is close to where our son and daughter-in-law live but trust me, we had our doubts. From the photo on their web site and the economical rates, we knew it would be "modest" but we wanted to be close to the kids while visiting.

We were very pleasantly surprised. Our room had been recently remodeled and it was clean, comfortable and even nice. A very comfortable bed!

A good rate is no good if it's a bad place but the Geary Parkway Motel made saving money quite nice. We saw other travelers just like ourselves there, and that increases your comfort.

A bus route in front of the motel made it easy to get downtown and other places. And the manager (quite nice) helped us arrange transportation to the airport.

Bottom line: we'll stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room! I'm not sure if they are all. Ours was and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Guest Relations Manager at Geary Parkway Motel, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
We thank you for your review and kind words regarding our guestrooms. We hope to see you again the next time your back in San Francisco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed here and were impressed by the motel. It is a great deal for SF and the location is great too. You can walk to places to eat or easily hop on the bus and head elsewhere. This motel might not have all the bells and whistles that a fancy hotel would have but it had all the necessities. We were pleasantly surprised by how comfortable the bed was. We love our mattress at home so we usually are disappointed when staying at hotels/motels but not this time. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Guest Relations Manager at Geary Parkway Motel, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad to hear you found our location to be convenient and are thrilled to have met your expectations. We hope to see you again the next time you visit San Francisco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Geary Parkway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geary Parkway Motel

Address: 4750 Geary Blvd, San Francisco, CA 94118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#86 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located to all of San Francisco's major attractions, nearby Golden Gate Park - The Geary Parkway motel offers 20 unique guest rooms, with comfortable beds and a wide range of extra amenities such as In-Room Microwave/Refrigerator, In-Room Iron & Ironing Board In-Room Hairdryer, In-Room Coffee and Satellite Cable/HBO. Enjoy Free complimentary breakfast, Wi-Fi internet access and Free parking. The Geary Parkway Motel AAA approved and a member of the San Francisco Convention and Visitors Bureau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Geary Parkway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geary Parkway Hotel San Francisco
Geary Parkway San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geary Parkway Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.