We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and tidy with knowledgable and polite staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Metro Hotel
Save
You added Metro Hotel to your Saves list
319 Divisadero Street, San Francisco, CA 94117 (Haight-Ashbury)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Preston
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Clean and tidy with knowledgable and polite staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Booked this room as it was near friends i was visiting. It was clean and tidy with a decent sized shower. I only used it at night as i was out most of the day. The staff on reception were polite. The room i booked said it was above a restaurant and had a chance of noise but i didn't hear a thing. It's a 15 minute journey by transport to downtown or a decent 50 minute walk but cabs and buses are a plenty. From the airport i got a lift but i used a taxi on the return taking around 20 minutes at 6am and the cost was $50. Like i say i only used it as a base but i will definately use it the next time i travel to the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    140
    29
    11
    6
See reviews for
42
145
47
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here in May of 2013. The rooms were small, but very clean. The location was convenient and the people at the front desk were great and very helpful. The only downside to the location was that there weren't a ton of restaurant options within walking distance, but that has nothing to do with the hotel itself.

The price was right and the hotel was great. If we return to San Francisco, we will definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Nice rooms, very helpful staff, nice neighborhood but far away (by walking) from everything. We found bus 71 very helpful as it took us downtown one way, and to Golden Gate park the other. BART stations are NOT close to this hotel. The neighborhood is a bit pretentious, especially at night. The hotel is right next to a restaurant (Ragazza) that you should avoid. The bed was very soft, and we are used to harder but I slept well. There is no elevator in the hotel.

Room Tip: There is no elevator in this hotel, so try to get a room close to ground floor. It was a struggle t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Metro Hotel. My family and I were in San Francisco in May to visit relatives. We were looking for something that was located in the 'Heart" of San Francisco. We wanted to be close to where we could experince the true; real spirit of the city. Some one suggested Metro Hotel...and let me say we could not have been more pleased. We were able to eat and some of the best local restaurants...thanks to the suggestions of the staff...not to mention the staff going out of their way to basically give us an agenda for visiting some of the well known tourist attractions and some of the city less famous but still amazing hidden gems.
I would definately stay at Metro Hotel again. The rooms were very clean and well kept.the staff was so very friendly and accomdating. I dont believe there was anything lacking.I have, and will continue to suggest to my family and friends...if you are going to San Francisco...the Metro Hotel is the place to stay if you want to experince the true spirit of the city and the people who live there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My family and I visited SF back in May and chose the Metro Hotel after being referred by another family member. So glad we did! It made our first SF experience even better. The week we decided to visit was also the Bay to Breakers race right down the road from the hotel. They had booked up fast but Matt was able to fit us in for the dates we wanted, the only catch was we had to switch rooms in the middle of our stay, which was no problem at all! we simply packed up our stuff, left it on the beds and their staff moved everything to our new room by the time we returned that day!! the rooms were small, clean, and adorable. The beds were comfortable. The showers small but they did their job of getting us clean! The weather was nice so were able to open the windows and people watch the Bay to Breakers. We weren't really in our rooms long enough to find anything to complain about. The hotel is within walking distance of so many great stores and restaurants. we were able to walk to pretty much every meal we ate that week. Matt and Shana were so incredibly friendly and made our trip so easy by recommending places to visit. Shana even made dinner reservations for us, provided us with a list of good wineries for our day spent in wine country, and even checked us into our flights and left our boarding passes in our room on the last day of our trip. I was blown away by the quality of service provided by the Metro Hotel! I will definitely stay again and will recommend ANYONE visiting SF to stay there as well.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

For my first visit to San Francisco for my birthday I definitely chose the right place! Even during booking the staff was very helpful. I was told the only room left during my stay was upstairs with a small window. I was a little worried but the location seemed to good to be true so I went for it.
The room was a perfect size for one person. The hotel is VERY clean and centrally located. Everyone was extremely attentive and knowledgable. Shana and Matt stand out the most for me.
I was super happy I chose this hotel and will only stay here if I can when I visit SF again.

They helped make this one of my best birthday's ever!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I recently booked a week's stay at this hotel. On my request, I asked for a 1st Floor room. When I received my reminder of my reservation I was surprised to see I was on the second floor of a walk up. I responded that when I checked on my room and asked if it was on the first floor I was told yes. Also in the confirmation they mentioned you would need to be a sound sleeper for this room because the restaurant is below and they start a dough machine in the morning. . I therefore sent an email back stating my surprise and telling them that I am not a sound sleeper and I wished someone had mentioned these things to me when I called.
My response from Matt

Hi Sandra,
When most people refer to the next floor up from the ground floor they refer to it as the first floor, at least this is what I have experienced working in a hotel for the last 5 years.
I’m sorry that this is not ideal for you. Please let us know if you would like to cancel and look for other accomodations.
Thanks!
Matt
And after 5 years he does not know how to spell accommodations. Also, I was not put on the first floor but the second floor according to my confirmation. We took his advice and cancelled our reservation. I guess they do not need a week long guest there. Since my son lives around the corner he will not recommend them to anyone.
I have to say that when I called to cancel and told the person answering the phone what had occurred she was very apologetic for the email. Sadly, that did not help me for this trip.

Room Tip: Keep in mind there are 25 steps to the first floor of rooms and 40 to the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MetroHotelSDF, General Manager at Metro Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Good Morning Sandra,

This is Shana from the Metro Hotel San Francisco. I wanted to reach out to you regarding your cancelled reservation. We are terribly sorry that our accommodations were not the right fit for you as we are conveniently located close to your family member’s home. While we have been in business for 30-years we are constantly trying to improve and manage guest’s expectations. Clearly in these circumstances we came up short as the online booking descriptions had not been updated to reflect the noise from the restaurant and indicating we do not have an elevator as all the rooms are up at least one flight of stairs (22-steps) which you now know.

I apologize for the disappointment and frustration we have caused as you plan for your upcoming trip over the holidays it was never our intention to complicate or disrupt your plans. However, we do realize and acknowledge our responsibility in doing a better job of providing accurate descriptions so, guests are not disappointed upon arrival.

Unfortunately, we realize that we will not be your hotel of choice when you come to San Francisco. I am happy to recommend other places that may be better suited for you needs in the neighborhood. The Stanyan Park Hotel (415) 751-1000 is located at the edge of Golden Gate Park and is a historical building. I searched your dates of travel and they have a room with 2-twin beds interior room at the rate of $175 + 15% tax = $201.25 per night. The 71-Haight bus will take you from the hotel to our neighborhood.

In Japan town which is close by you can try the Hotel Kabuki (415) 922-3200 . The Hotel Kabuki has 1-Kabuki King Room available for $165.25 per night it includes a Japanese style soaking tub and LCD TV in 195 square foot room and the 22-Filmore bus will get you to our neighborhood.

Thank you for your feedback it is valuable to us. We hope you enjoy the holidays with your family in San Francisco. If you have any questions or would like to speak with me you can reach me on my mobile at 415-XXX-XXXX. Safe travels!

Cheers,
Shana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel

Address: 319 Divisadero Street, San Francisco, CA 94117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Haight-Ashbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metro Hotel is the perfect option from which to explore the city. It's central location near the Haight Ashbury and Castro neighborhoods is perfect. Our no-frills rooms are extremely clean and budget friendly. This is one of the best values you'll find in the city. Choose from 24 unique rooms all with updated bathrooms. Live like a local and access some of the best places in the city. We are also a short walk to Golden Gate Park and all of it's great things to explore. Learn why some call The Metro Hotel "the city's best kept secret." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.