We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and great surroundings made our stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Metro Hotel
Save Saved
You added Metro Hotel to your Saves list
319 Divisadero Street, San Francisco, CA 94117 (The Haight)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great staff and great surroundings made our stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Metro hotel has a little strange layout of some of its rooms, but in a good way. It's not the average "module" build standard hotel. It got soul! Our party lived there for 2 days and had in total 3 different rooms. All the beds wasn't that comfortable but it was ok. The staff was great and helped us with adidtional rooms with very short notice. It's a nice "soft" neighborhood with restaurants and bars. Felt safe going out in the evening. You don't have BART nearby but there is buses for communication to Market street or other more central locations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    128
    28
    10
    6
See reviews for
38
124
42
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I spent quite some time looking on Trip Advisor for 3 nights accommodation in this lovely city. At first I looked around Fisherman's Wharf - far too expensive. This place got good reviews and was reasonably priced for a city. Room only no breakfast again but would recommend it to anyone. To get here from airport do not take a taxi it'll cost around $70 we were told. We caught the train to Powell then the 21 or 6 bus to Hays which stops at junction with Divisadero Street. $8.50 each on the train then $2 each on the bus. It is 150 yards from there. (Tickets can be used on other buses too within 2 hours interchangeable with trams too. It is $2 for 1 stop or 20 stops). To get to Fisherman's Wharf walk up 2 blocks to bus stop and catch 71 to Ferry Building then tram to whichever pier you want. Check with Hotel on Street name. Journey takes 30 minutes or so.

Now the hotel. 24 hour reception. All receptionists very helpful. There is a communal microwave and fridge downstairs behind reception that you can use. We also used the safe although none in the room itself.
We requested room 107 as someone on here said it was quiet and it was. Room is small but very clean. Bathroom a reasonable size and very clean. No complaints at all.

Room Tip: 107 has a slightly larger bathroom I was told. Not much room on left side of bed but enough. This ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent 4 nights here in September and thought it was great. The value is excellent, the staff was extremely helpful and the location is really good. It's a little ways away from the piers/wharf but right in the height/castro/mission area and really close to golden gate park (not the bridge). San Francisco is such a compact city that being in the middle of it, like Metro is. means that you're just 3 miles (5km) from anywhere.
We found that biking was the way to go from this hotel since the wiggle (bike route that avoids the big hills) is just a block away. However, if you're planning on biking from here make sure you're fit and comfortable biking in traffic since there are hills and lots of cars. In three days of biking we felt like we saw so much of the city and had a really great experience.
The rooms are very small but comfortable. There's no fridge in the room but the staff is happy to put things in the communal fridge with your name/room number on it.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 108 and 111 during our trip. Room 108 is a little noisy in the evening as it is ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for about 4 nights. It is a great area that's really quiet so there was not any street noise to worry about. The room was clean and looked recently updated, and provided us with three beds for a great price! The staff was friendly, and very helpful when it came to food recommendations and information about attractions. We were walking distance from some great eateries and little bars!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at The Metro for 4 nights. We have visited SF a few times but never in the Haight-Ashbury District. The garden patio in the back was a really nice place to relax. The room was a little small but very clean. They gave us some great eating recommendations around the area. I must say Shana was delightful. I would always look forward to talking to her, if she was at the front desk. I felt right at home. We loved everything about this hotel and will be staying here everytime we come to town, for a 49er game.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Metro hotel for 2 nights during September. Rooms were basic but clean and quiet. The location, however, is fab. Minutes away from Alamo Square and great nightlife and restaurants. I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed it. Our room is facing Divisadero, and we don't have any problems with the noise. But that's just us. The great thing about this place, the rooms are clean and comfy. No a/c but there is a ceiling fan. I suggest you bring your own toiletries. Though the location is not on the city center, the bus stops are just across the street. We even walked back from Haight-Ashbury district to hotel! Staffs are amazing. They helped us to get around, they really know SF. They even help us to get a cab very early in the morning! If I visit SF again, will definitely stay here again. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel

Address: 319 Divisadero Street, San Francisco, CA 94117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Haight
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is centrally located and is geographically in the center of San Francisco near the Haight Ashbury and Castro neighborhoods. Come visit us in the world’s most diverse & exciting city and explore our amazing cultural tapestry. We boast 24-comfortable, clean, well-maintained and budget-friendly rooms ranging from small doubles to 2 queens & 1 double all with private updated bathrooms. These rooms are an exceptional value which makes traveling on any budget a reality. Come and immerse yourself in our neighborhood and live like a local. The Metro Hotel was rated in CitySearch as a “Best Value” hotel and has been featured in National Geographic Traveler Magazine. Most importantly our warm, welcoming & considerate staff will make a lasting impression ensuring that your visit to The Metro will become your new home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;