We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"No Frills" NoPa Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Metro Hotel
Save
You added Metro Hotel to your Saves list
319 Divisadero Street, San Francisco, CA 94117 (Haight-Ashbury)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Monterey
Level Contributor
169 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“"No Frills" NoPa Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here one night, on the second floor, in room 114. Like the title says, it is a no frills room. There is just the basics. You have a bed, a table, a chair, a flat screen tv on the wall, really no other room decorations. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The room looks over the garden/patio. It was very quiet and there was virtually no street noise. There was noise from the restaurant however. The noise from the restaurant actually woke me up on Wednesday morning at 7:00 am. It is okay because I wanted to be up early but could be a problem if one wanted to sleep in. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The neighborhood is just fine. I have seen more "homeless" and "panhandlers" in Union Square and Nob Hill. This neighborhood is primarily younger (20s - 30s) I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    150
    32
    12
    6
See reviews for
49
158
50
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at the Metro Hotel in October and will definitely be back! The hotel is very affordable and it was very clean and just right for us. We stayed in in one of the 200 rooms (I forgot the number) but it was facing the back garden patio area at the end of the hallway on the left. It was not noisy at all. Yes, the room is small but it was fine for my husband and I. The staff were friendly, helpful and nice. This is the best bang for your buck in SF. Easy access to buses and the restaurant next door was very busy but also very good. We will be back!

Room Tip: 200 rooms, near the back patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our three nights spent at this hotel is without any complaints; which suprised us because of some of the reviews we had read such as small showers but we both fit in the shower (at the same time), and the noise wasn't nearly as bad as we had expected; therefore no complaints. The staff is wonderful, very friendly and helpful; they even printed our airline boarding passes for us! When we entered the lobby after being out all day we were greeted as though we were family, such a warm feeling. We were in one of the rooms facing Divisadero Street but we didn't have any problem sleeping; maybe we slept good because the bed was very inviting and comfortable. The room was very clean; the high ceiling and large windows give it a European feel. Public transportation is close by which is very convenient since we had a 3 day Muni pass. We felt very safe in this area even at night walking from the bus stop to our room. Our experience at the Metro Hotel was a very positive one and we will return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We are 2 adults and a 3 year old. We stayed in #107. It is on the north side away from the restaurant and not facing the street, The room has 1 bed smaller than a queen size. The room is small To give my girlfriend and a 3 year old room I slept on the floor. On the window side only 18 inches to spare so I slep at the foot of the bed that has 23 inches of room. The door side had just under 3 feet so that is small one small table by the bed no room for a chair. Bathroom has space but the shower is small if you weighed 350 lb or more could be a problem. They do not give you soap except a squirt bottle at the sink. Still it was clean and not noisy in this room. So if you want a great rate and are not in your room a lot it is perfect. The restaurant is very busy because they do serve great pizza. Close to Haight Asbury and Golden Gate Park . East of town. Yes parking is a hassle. Our dog slept in the car. The street has meters and street cleaning thur, fri, sat and another day from 6 am to 8 am. I parked close 1 nite but 3 blocks away 2nd nite. Parking lot northwest of there by a great little store. Safe location. Staff is friendly.

Room Tip: stay to the north side and off the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We only stayed two nights - were there the night the Giants won the World Series. Great fun. Room was large and bright - on the front of the hotel on Divisidero Street - front desk gave us ear plugs and even with the celebrations we slept really well. Great bed. Clean room. Very convenient location. Love Vinyl Cafe just down the block - breakfast and wine bar later in the day. Very friendly staff and even the other guests were nice. And with other reviews I agree with lots of hot water and good wifi and very useful area information from front desk. Great prices as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ackley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed there for several days and we loved it. It was very clean and the maid service was great. It's not for those who want to spend the day in their room but who would want to in SF? Rooms are small and utilitarian but everything worked and we felt safe there. We love the location in this lively neighborhood. It's not as quiet a we might have liked but it never kept us awake. It has a lovely back yard sactuary...nothing fancy but earthy and with a natural feel. I practiced yoga there in the mornings in solitude and I also took a good yoga class one morning at the studio next door. I recommend that studio. All this and a good value as well.

Room Tip: A room toward the rear looking out on the backyard patio is advised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Found this hotel on trip advisor and can understand why reveiws are so good, because it is so good. Really helpful staff, clean rooms, comfortable with loads of hot water, good wifi and useful location to get down town or find a nice cafe for breakfast in Haight.
we went back for the return night trip and enjoyed it a second time. Bonus is that its also very good value and theres free street parking just round back of hotel, once bags dropped off right outside. Also attached to a thriving and popular wine bar where food is good and great atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Haight-Ashbury
Stanyan Park Hotel
Stanyan Park Hotel
#140 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Carl Hotel
#171 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#83 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hayes Valley
Inn at the Opera
Inn at the Opera
#48 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#87 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,785 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 235 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel

Address: 319 Divisadero Street, San Francisco, CA 94117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Haight-Ashbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metro Hotel is the perfect option from which to explore the city. It's central location near the Haight Ashbury and Castro neighborhoods is perfect. Our no-frills rooms are extremely clean and budget friendly. This is one of the best values you'll find in the city. Choose from 24 unique rooms all with updated bathrooms. Live like a local and access some of the best places in the city. We are also a short walk to Golden Gate Park and all of it's great things to explore. Learn why some call The Metro Hotel "the city's best kept secret." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.