We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Metro hotel details” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Metro Hotel
Save
You added Metro Hotel to your Saves list
319 Divisadero Street, San Francisco, CA 94117 (The Haight)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
california
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Metro hotel details”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We are 2 adults and a 3 year old. We stayed in #107. It is on the north side away from the restaurant and not facing the street, The room has 1 bed smaller than a queen size. The room is small To give my girlfriend and a 3 year old room I slept on the floor. On the window side only 18 inches to spare so I slep at the foot of the bed that has 23 inches of room. The door side had just under 3 feet so that is small one small table by the bed no room for a chair. Bathroom has space but the shower is small if you weighed 350 lb or more could be a problem. They do not give you soap except a squirt bottle at the sink. Still it was clean and not noisy in this room. So if you want a great rate and are not in your room a lot it is perfect. The restaurant is very busy because they do serve great pizza. Close to Haight Asbury and Golden Gate Park . East of town. Yes parking is a hassle. Our dog slept in the car. The street has meters and street cleaning thur, fri, sat and another day from 6 am to 8 am. I parked close 1 nite but 3 blocks away 2nd nite. Parking lot northwest of there by a great little store. Safe location. Staff is friendly.

Room Tip: stay to the north side and off the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    132
    29
    11
    6
See reviews for
39
133
43
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We only stayed two nights - were there the night the Giants won the World Series. Great fun. Room was large and bright - on the front of the hotel on Divisidero Street - front desk gave us ear plugs and even with the celebrations we slept really well. Great bed. Clean room. Very convenient location. Love Vinyl Cafe just down the block - breakfast and wine bar later in the day. Very friendly staff and even the other guests were nice. And with other reviews I agree with lots of hot water and good wifi and very useful area information from front desk. Great prices as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ackley
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed there for several days and we loved it. It was very clean and the maid service was great. It's not for those who want to spend the day in their room but who would want to in SF? Rooms are small and utilitarian but everything worked and we felt safe there. We love the location in this lively neighborhood. It's not as quiet a we might have liked but it never kept us awake. It has a lovely back yard sactuary...nothing fancy but earthy and with a natural feel. I practiced yoga there in the mornings in solitude and I also took a good yoga class one morning at the studio next door. I recommend that studio. All this and a good value as well.

Room Tip: A room toward the rear looking out on the backyard patio is advised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Found this hotel on trip advisor and can understand why reveiws are so good, because it is so good. Really helpful staff, clean rooms, comfortable with loads of hot water, good wifi and useful location to get down town or find a nice cafe for breakfast in Haight.
we went back for the return night trip and enjoyed it a second time. Bonus is that its also very good value and theres free street parking just round back of hotel, once bags dropped off right outside. Also attached to a thriving and popular wine bar where food is good and great atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here 1 night in September 2012 on a private trip to San Francisco. Had a small but adequate room on the first floor. Rooms were clean, however bed was a bit on the small side for 2 people - however it was sufficiently OK. Location of the hotel is reasonable, depending on where you need to be in SF. However area around the hotel was really good and we felt very safe. Staff was excellent, absolutely lovely and helpful. Patio on the back of hotel is very nice when the weather is good. Free wifi and good night's sleep and a very affordable price. Would definitely consider the Metro hotel again when in SF.

Room Tip: Backside of hotel preferable to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Staying at The Metro Hotel made our first trip to San Francisco even more amazing that we could of ever imagined!! What a wonderful surprise this hotel was, and very thankful we chose The Metro.

The Metro Hotel is located in a very safe neighborhood, and we felt very comfortable walking around the neighborhood any time of the day or the night. The public transportation stop is only a few minute walk away, which was another huge bonus!! Perfect and very easy for us to go to any area of the city we chose to visit.

The staff are the kindest, most helpful, and friendliest people you are ever going to meet! There is a great little outdoor area at the rear of the hotel that is beautiful to enjoy your morning coffee, a snack, or evening wine. The rooms are kept spotless. The unbelievable, very reasonable price, is absolutely amazing!

Do yourself a favor and stay at The Metro Hotel! We definitely will when we visit San Francisco again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nome
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed at the Metro Hotel for four nights while taking part in the Hardly Strictly Bluegrass Festival. Great location (2.5 mile walk through Haight to Hellman Hollow in Golden Gate Park) for the Fest and easy to catch public transport if you need to get about. The room was on the second floor overlooking Divisadero Street, but the outside noise wasn't bothersome; however, if you are a light sleeper and don't like a lot of light in your room (from the wonderful large windows in the room), then you may look for a room in the back of the hotel.

Staff were excellent and made everything easy with lots of good advice and extra service. I'm already booked for next year.

Neighborhood is fine and lots of people are always about. The hotel with a bay view I am in near the airport due to an early flight can't compare to the charm and care I felt at the Metro Hotel.

Room Tip: Book a room in the middle or rear of the hotel if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel

Address: 319 Divisadero Street, San Francisco, CA 94117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Haight
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is centrally located and is geographically in the center of San Francisco near the Haight Ashbury and Castro neighborhoods. Come visit us in the world’s most diverse & exciting city and explore our amazing cultural tapestry. We boast 24-comfortable, clean, well-maintained and budget-friendly rooms ranging from small doubles to 2 queens & 1 double all with private updated bathrooms. These rooms are an exceptional value which makes traveling on any budget a reality. Come and immerse yourself in our neighborhood and live like a local. The Metro Hotel was rated in CitySearch as a “Best Value” hotel and has been featured in National Geographic Traveler Magazine. Most importantly our warm, welcoming & considerate staff will make a lasting impression ensuring that your visit to The Metro will become your new home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.