We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Metro Hotel
Save
You added Metro Hotel to your Saves list
319 Divisadero Street, San Francisco, CA 94117 (The Haight)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We just spent 6 nights at the Metro Hotel after attending a convention downtown and were quite pleased with the hotel. It was clean, comfortable and centrally located. The service was excellent and it was quite affordable. We had room 109 which was 2 queens and the layout was perfect as we each had our own little room and tv and were able to shut the door and have our own space when we needed to. The hotel could use new carpet but that is pretty much my only observation. The price was right and the hotel staff could not have been more helpful.

Room Tip: Room 109 is in the back so it was pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    132
    29
    11
    6
See reviews for
39
133
43
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tucson
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed 3 nights my granddaughter, my daughter and the Kev. we had a double room (109) GREAT!!! clean nice bthroom own private door to the large patio alot of flowers. and quiet. I cannt say enough of the staff, let our granddaughter keep her ice cream in the freezer. Very friendly and cheerful. Got there early they held our luggage. We had a medical issue and had to go to the hospital, once again they held our luggage till we made arrangements. Decent restaurants in the area plenty of markets. Didnt bother with a car just took the busses. THX again!!!

Room Tip: get a room off the patio DIvis can be a busy St
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here for one night last month. The room was small, no-frills, but very clean. There was a small TV with cable, the towels were organic cotton, and we could tell they were eco-conscious. The best part about the hotel was their back patio- a beautiful place to rest and hang out, although we weren't able to use it since our day was packed with other activities. There was some noise above us in the late night and early evening coming from travelers lugging their stuff up the stairs (no elevator), but nothing my ear plugs couldn't fix. Also, bring your own shampoo, etc. as the kind they have is in one of those dispensers attached to the shower wall. They did provide hand soap and cups though. There is also a small continental breakfast and they had tangerines all the time in the lobby. Overall a great experience, great price, great location, and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was changed upon arrival...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Great place, great location, very friendly and helpful staff. It can get a bit noisy in my room as the wall shared that of the restaurant next door, but not enough for me to be bothersome, but it may to others.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

We've stayed at the Metro three times now. Our son and family live a couple of blocks away so it's a very convenient place when we visit. We LOVE it and the neighbourhood! My brother stayed there last December on my recommendation and was on a first-name basis with the staff by the time he left. He also loved it. We feel right at home each time we visit. The front desk staff is exceptional as were the cleaning staff. Leave a nice tip!

We arrived early, as another writer also did, and had the same service of bags being delivered to the room. If you're looking to be pampered, perhaps this is not the place for you. But - if you want a clean room in a convenient location with a very comfortable bed, a bathroom with shower, lots of plastic hangers in the closet, a TV, a good sized highboy and storage room in both bed-side tables PLUS want a very reasonable rate, this is for you. Another writer mentioned the new restaurant right next door. It's excellent. Try to get there before 7 PM. We've discovered a number of great little coffee shops in the area where you can get an inexpensive breakfast or morning coffee. Our son loves The Grind on Haight. A new one to us is the Oasis about 4 blocks north on Divisidero - easy walking distance. A most delightful young woman welcomed us on our first visit and remembered us on our second. It doesn't take much to ensure customer satisfaction. The coffee was fabulous and the omelettes were superb. The front desk staff also booked our shuttle to the airport at a reduced rate plus they'll print your boarding pass for you.

Oh, and don't forget the lovely patio behind the hotel.

Room Tip: The quiet rooms are inside or facing the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish Bay
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

The Metro is inexpensive (we paid $125), clean, convenient to points west in San Francisco, and has a courteous, friendly staff. However, amenities you might take for granted aren't available here, such as: an elevator, little bottles of shampoo and bars of soap, a bedside table, a chair for reading after dark and, especially, a parking arrangement. You find your own parking spot on neighborhood streets -- that was easy one night we were there, annoyingly tiresome on the other. If you're prepared for those handicaps, it's a good cheap choice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

Pro's:
Excellent value. This hotel is a great choice for the traveller on a budget.
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Good location close to Haight/Ashbury and public transportation.
Older building has a lot of character.
Free on-street parking.

Cons:
Small rooms.
Bed was not very comfortable.
Older building lacks all but the most basic amenities.
Parking is difficult to find at certain times of the day.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel

Address: 319 Divisadero Street, San Francisco, CA 94117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Haight
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is centrally located and is geographically in the center of San Francisco near the Haight Ashbury and Castro neighborhoods. Come visit us in the world’s most diverse & exciting city and explore our amazing cultural tapestry. We boast 24-comfortable, clean, well-maintained and budget-friendly rooms ranging from small doubles to 2 queens & 1 double all with private updated bathrooms. These rooms are an exceptional value which makes traveling on any budget a reality. Come and immerse yourself in our neighborhood and live like a local. The Metro Hotel was rated in CitySearch as a “Best Value” hotel and has been featured in National Geographic Traveler Magazine. Most importantly our warm, welcoming & considerate staff will make a lasting impression ensuring that your visit to The Metro will become your new home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.