We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cruisin' The Castro Walking Tours

Cruisin' The Castro Walking Tours
Tours meet at Harvey Milk Plaza, Rainbow Flag Pole, San Francisco, CA 94114 (Castro)
+1 415-255-1821
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$30*
and up
Ranked #23 of 394 Activities in San Francisco
Activities: Walking, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "Cruisin' The Castro Walking Tours is one of San Francisco's premier tour company, celebrating 25 years of walking with pride! Voted a top city tour and awarded the "Certificate of Excellence", 2011, 2012, 2013 & 2014 by TripAdvisor! This easy, informative and empowering walking tour explores San Francisco's infamous past which created the world's most diversified community, the Castro. Learn about Lesbian, Gay, Bi-sexual, & Transgender history from the Gold Rush to civil rights leader, Harvey Milk to the upcoming and very exciting, Rainbow Honor Walk!"
2 reviews
“Fantastic tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We saw a postcard for Cruisin' The Castro & booked online. One of the best things we did during our 6 days in the city.

We took the tour with Kathy in the morning. A lovely time to see the Castro, all is quiet before 12pm!

We started at Harvey Milk Plaza. The pace of the tour is relaxed with plenty of time for questions, discussion & laughter :)

Kathy is such a warm & genuine person. The tour is packed with interesting stories & locations. Interesting times in the UK, with gay marriage about to become a reality. But still so much inequality across the US, astounding.

All the best for the continued success of this fantastic tour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    9
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
“LOve the tour!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was my third time taking this tour. I love taking it because I always learn something new. I live in the city and like learning all about it. It's a very interesting and informative tour. Kathy is a great guide with a lot of knowledge on the history of Castro. She's super nice and fun. I highly recommend this tour for everybody whether out of towners or people living in the city, for children or adults, gay or straight. And if I have the chance, I'll definitely take it again =)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great recommendation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We met Kathy as organised by the large flag, and our incredible host took us on the most fascinating, and eye opening couple of hours. We were very lucky to bump into Allan Baird who stopped and chatted to us briefly in the street. Allan campaigned alongside Harvey Milk to ban Coors from San Francisco, and who in turn hired gay and lesbian truck drivers... A real treat to hear some stories first hand. I know this won't happen on every tour, but for us it gave it a real human edge.....Regardless, you won't be disappointed by Kathy, and he wonderful tour.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“walking the castro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our tour started in the morning, Kathy greeted us under the giant rainbow flag & gave a bit of a talk on the local area & history before heading off. She told us about Harvey Milk, the AIDS blanket, the giant wall mural & lots of other points of interest that you would walk right past if you didn't do the tour.
It's a great way to get your bearings in the neighbourhood, it was educational & entertaining. Kathy is a fun person who made you feel welcome straight away.
We would highly recommend cruising the Castro with Kathy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Never too late to learn and understand history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

It was great touring with Kathy, guide and owner of the Cruisin' the Castro Walking Tours.

I visit with family in San Francisco frequently and look for things to do by myself around the city when they are at work, learning about one neighborhood at a time. Visiting Castro with a tour guide was fabulous and an unforgettable learning experience. I plan to take this tour again with family and to do more exploring around Castro, its restaurants and attractions.

Kathy was fun, energetic and down to earth, with a no nonsense attitude about life, people and the neighborhood she loves. Way to go Kathy! I hope to visit again.
Olivia

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cruisin' The Castro Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Cruisin' The Castro Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cruisin' The Castro Walking Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.