We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, relaxing and memorable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast
600 Presidio Ave., San Francisco, CA 94115   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Columbia Falls, Montana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming, relaxing and memorable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The Monte Cristo B&B is a delight. The Laural Height's location is very quiet and surprisingly central to many of the San Francisco's attractions. The City Pass or just a bus pass allows you to travel around the city easily without having to park a rental car.
Breakfast each morning is at your leisure. There is a buffet with fresh fruit,baked goods, granola, cereal, juices,yoguart and coffee. Terri will provide specialties from the kitchen upon request.
We enjoyed the Victorian charm with modern comfort. The bathroom in room number 1 was recently totally remodeled. The windows are all sound proof. Traffic noise was not a problem.
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    19
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
34
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We chose the Monte Cristo because it was relatively close to our daughter who lives in San Francisco. We found it to be exceptionally clean and charming. Jack was always there to help with bus directions, good restaurants, and even change. He made sure everything was just right. the breakfasts were great (kudos to Terry) with friendly, knowledgeable staff. Although it is in a quieter section of the city, public transportation was readily available and across the street.

We stayed in Room 1 which is a suite on street level. We did not find it noisy (except for the clown celebrating the Giats World Series win). You might have to adjust the temperature settings. we were there when it was a bit warmer than usual for SF at this time of the year.

We will definitely return again and again!

Transportation Tip: Get the app on your smart phone for bus schedules and directions. This is not like staying downtown. An uptown (out from SF) and a downtown bus stops across the street, and it helps reduce the wait for it outside.

Room Tip: I would choose the street side; it has more light. The was very little noise at night because of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hasbrouck heights
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We chose the Monte Cristo on the advice of our daughter who lives in SanFrancisco. We found it to be exceptionally clean and charming with a great breakfast and friendly, knowledgeable staff. It is in a quieter section of the city with public transportation readily available and within walking distance of some superb restaurants and shops. The owner Jack offered very good advice about the area. We will definitely return soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Crazy Small Room and found it large enough to meet our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at MC for four nights having travelled up the coast from San Diego. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of this accommodation; the room we had looked as though it had been recently revamped and was tastefully and thoughtfully done. Ensuite was modern and high end spec.
The location although not central is quiet and only a few minutes bus ride to the downtown area and most places are within walkable distance.
By far the best part of this place are the staff and its very warm and inviting ambience. Jack, the proprietor, was extremely helpful and accommodating from carrying my very heavy case to my room on arrival to booking our taxi to the airport. Terry, who provides breakfast including homemade cookies and cakes is charming and welcoming and is a real asset to this place.
We would certainly recommend the MC for anyone wanting accom which is both reasonably priced and has charm and character.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Terry prepares the breakfasts and keeps the Monte Cristo humming along. I thought at first she was the inn keeper. She was warm and receptive and had many interesting stories to tell of her time in San Francisco.

The house was a very cool old San Fran house that I am sure had many tales to tell about it's history.

It was well priced and delivered great value. Comfortable beds, great breakfasts and helpful folks are de rigueur.

We will make the Monte our base in San Fran going forward. Full recommendation to all I know.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent to nights in this b&b in August booking almost last minute. It is in a quiet residential area in San Francisco, you have to take a bus to go downtown but that's pretty close and also fast. I feel like recommending this place because the room was lovely, spacious enough and with a partial view of downtown (if you can find a day without the mist), breakfast was delicious (above all the toasted sugar coated bread) and there are complimentary cookies, tea and coffee all day long and it is pretty easy to find free on street parking in front of the b&b. There was only one thing I didn't like very much which is my luggage being moved around the room by the cleaning lady, don't really like when they move your stuff in hotel rooms, above all because there was no reason to move it. It may sound a bit gross but we were sunburned from Las Vegas and we were loosing some skin. On day 2 the skin was still on the carpet, my luggage was moved and obviously it was not done in order to vacuum clean the carpet. However, overall it was a nice experience and the owners were always friendly, chatty and helpful so I may also consider to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at the Monte Cristo for a long weekend. It is an older hotel / B&B, but well maintained. Our room was furnished with antiques, with the exception of the matress, which was new and comfortable. We slept very well. Despite having a room that faced the street, it was quiet, in large measure because the busses that pass by outside are electric and offer only a hum instead of a roar and they pull away from the light.
A generaous breakfast was included in the price. There were a variety of cereals, fruits, beverages, etc. You can also get eggs prepared to order, with sides of potatoes and the usual breakfast meats. The staff is very helpful with questions about the area, how to get around etc.

We found the location to be very convenient to many of the sights we were interested in seeing.

All in all, we'd recommend the Monte Cristo and will stay there again when next we visit San Francisco (we go there about once a year).

Room Tip: If you're worried about street noise, ask for a room on the back. In our case, our room faced t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast

Address: 600 Presidio Ave., San Francisco, CA 94115
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If the walls of the Monte Cristo could talk, what stories they could tell, for this remarkable building has been a part of San Francisco since 1875. When the great fire swept the city after the 1906 earthquake, homes were put to the torch on Van Ness Avenue to create a firebreak, and the 'Saloon' not only survived, it served as a refuge for the newly post-quake homeless. This European-style B&B is convenient to the entire city and is at the junction of three great neighborhoods, Presidio Heights, Pacific Heights, and Laurel Heights. It is in one of the cleanest neighborhoods in San Francisco with abundant street parking. It is only two blocks to the elegantly restored Victorian shops, Zagat-rated restaurants and antique stores on Sacramento Street. It's within walking distance to shopping on Union Street and Fillmore Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Cristo b&b
Monte Cristo Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Cristo Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.