We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quaint.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Park Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Park Motel
Save
You added Ocean Park Motel to your Saves list
2690 46th Ave, San Francisco, CA 94116   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Butte, Montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean and quaint.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed here in 2008 while traveling with friends, and this time we were traveling with our daughter. We enjoyed the OPM so much the first time, with its convenient access to the MUNI (L train) system and close proximity to the beach, we decided to stay here again. Mark and his staff take pride in the history of the motel and do a tremendous job keeping the grounds well-maintained. Given the fact the motel was the first one in the S.F. area in 1937 the room sizes reflect that era, so don't expect lots of space around the beds and large bathrooms like many 'suite' hotels offer. You get the basic amenities, but they're offered nicely -- one of the most comfortable mattresses I've ever slept on, I might add.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    86
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
90
70
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here for a week and chose Ocean Park because we had been here before and knew what to expect. I like the quaint decor and I appreciate the history of the place. But it's time for some upgrades. Heat is tough to regulate, room was very tiny. We wanted so save on our expenses so we did not get a larger room with kitchen etc, which I regretted. It is peaceful in the neighborhood, and we had no problems with L Train noise - hardly heard it. We spent most of our time with family nearby but stopped a few times again at Java Beach Cafe, which is open early morning til 8 pm daily. A short walk from the motel. It is less expensive than many SF hotels, and if you do not have a car, the L train is across the street, and buses run nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger rooms with kitchen, for more comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is a quaint little place near the ocean and across the street from the zoo. Don't let the price scare you cuz others are waaaaayyyy more pricey. It's quiet, easy to get to, clean and close to Cliff House. Since you shouldn't be in your room a lot anyway, this will work out great. I recommend it!

Room Tip: We were in #24 with 2 kids and the room had 2 separate bedrooms so it worked out well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

If you need a motel in Southwestern San Francisco near the Zoo, the Ocean Park is excellent. Established in 1936 and the first motel in San Francisco, the Ocean Park was built in the Art Deco style to resemble the great ocean cruise liners are the 1930s. It is beautiful and the owners have made it a nice place to stay with excellent service. My single room was okay for one, though it would have been a tight squeeze for two. (Accomodation in the 1930s was smaller than at present.) But the family units are quite large and our family will be returning in a month. Prices are comparable or a bit less than other motels in the area, but the Ocean Park also has atmosphere, a Jacuzzi and very nice gardens. A very good choice to those seeking accomodation in the area.

Room Tip: They are all pretty good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We loved staying here this spring and it was amazing! The owners were so helpful, gave us great tips and were very hospitable. There was cute everywhere we looked, such a refreshing place. We will definitely come back here, and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Family road trip from Texas this place worked perfect. was a little far out but once you get the muni system down no problems. Owners were great. I would walk a few blocks every morning to the local store/deli and visit and pick up a few supplies. had a great stay and would reccommend it. we are a family of 7 and we really liked it. Must add, of course we left some stuff and it was mailed to us in just a few days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Ended up at this hotel on a family trip to SF because everything was booked due to a conference. So glad. Called and spoke to nice man who recommended a room that had two bedrooms. Very affordable for SF with free parking, TV, coffee, fridge, Wi-Fi. They even have a little play set for the kids in the yard area. It's steps to Ocean Beach, the SF Zoo, Java Beach Cafe for breakfast. While my sister and niece were with me we used our car, but when they left, I hopped on the L train which is right outside the motel. It was a pleasant 40 minute ride to get to Union Square.

If you love Art Deco, you'll love this place. It's amazingly well preserved as you can see in the pictures. It's great. I've even thought of going back. It was a nice quiet stay on the beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Francisco
Hampton Inn Daly City
#1 of 5 in Daly City
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Alpine Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Daly City
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Travelers Inn
#7 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunset
Days Inn San Francisco at the Beach
Days Inn San Francisco at the Be...
#134 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Sunset
Oceanview Motel
Oceanview Motel
#187 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Sunset
Great Highway Motor Inn
Great Highway Motor Inn
#165 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Motel

Address: 2690 46th Ave, San Francisco, CA 94116
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Francisco's first motel is an award-winning Art Deco gem where guests enjoy our secluded gardens after a whirl of downtown attractions. Family friendly rates in a variety of rooms, some with full kitchens. Dogs are welcome and enjoy Ocean Beach and nearby Fort Funston. Entirely non-smoking, with free parking, local calls, and internet. Twenty minutes' drive to airport or downtown, with downtown streetcar at door. Near UCSF, SFSU, Golden Gate Park; opposite beach/zoo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Francisco
Ocean Park San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Park Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.