We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still inviting, but can use upgrades” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Park Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Park Motel
Save Saved
You added Ocean Park Motel to your Saves list
2690 46th Ave, San Francisco, CA 94116 (Sunset)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
San Diego
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Still inviting, but can use upgrades”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here for a week and chose Ocean Park because we had been here before and knew what to expect. I like the quaint decor and I appreciate the history of the place. But it's time for some upgrades. Heat is tough to regulate, room was very tiny. We wanted so save on our expenses so we did not get a larger room with kitchen etc, which I regretted. It is peaceful in the neighborhood, and we had no problems with L Train noise - hardly heard it. We spent most of our time with family nearby but stopped a few times again at Java Beach Cafe, which is open early morning til 8 pm daily. A short walk from the motel. It is less expensive than many SF hotels, and if you do not have a car, the L train is across the street, and buses run nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger rooms with kitchen, for more comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    72
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
75
59
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is a quaint little place near the ocean and across the street from the zoo. Don't let the price scare you cuz others are waaaaayyyy more pricey. It's quiet, easy to get to, clean and close to Cliff House. Since you shouldn't be in your room a lot anyway, this will work out great. I recommend it!

Room Tip: We were in #24 with 2 kids and the room had 2 separate bedrooms so it worked out well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

If you need a motel in Southwestern San Francisco near the Zoo, the Ocean Park is excellent. Established in 1936 and the first motel in San Francisco, the Ocean Park was built in the Art Deco style to resemble the great ocean cruise liners are the 1930s. It is beautiful and the owners have made it a nice place to stay with excellent service. My single room was okay for one, though it would have been a tight squeeze for two. (Accomodation in the 1930s was smaller than at present.) But the family units are quite large and our family will be returning in a month. Prices are comparable or a bit less than other motels in the area, but the Ocean Park also has atmosphere, a Jacuzzi and very nice gardens. A very good choice to those seeking accomodation in the area.

Room Tip: They are all pretty good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We loved staying here this spring and it was amazing! The owners were so helpful, gave us great tips and were very hospitable. There was cute everywhere we looked, such a refreshing place. We will definitely come back here, and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Family road trip from Texas this place worked perfect. was a little far out but once you get the muni system down no problems. Owners were great. I would walk a few blocks every morning to the local store/deli and visit and pick up a few supplies. had a great stay and would reccommend it. we are a family of 7 and we really liked it. Must add, of course we left some stuff and it was mailed to us in just a few days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Ended up at this hotel on a family trip to SF because everything was booked due to a conference. So glad. Called and spoke to nice man who recommended a room that had two bedrooms. Very affordable for SF with free parking, TV, coffee, fridge, Wi-Fi. They even have a little play set for the kids in the yard area. It's steps to Ocean Beach, the SF Zoo, Java Beach Cafe for breakfast. While my sister and niece were with me we used our car, but when they left, I hopped on the L train which is right outside the motel. It was a pleasant 40 minute ride to get to Union Square.

If you love Art Deco, you'll love this place. It's amazingly well preserved as you can see in the pictures. It's great. I've even thought of going back. It was a nice quiet stay on the beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This is a very interesting place that some people will love and some people will hate. It's a retro motel in a really funky part of San Francisco. It is 2 blocks from the Pacific and you feel like you are in another world. We only stayed for one night. I had wanted a room with one bed and when I called they only had a room with 2 beds, which was offered to us at a discount. When we arrived a smaller room, at a lower price, had opened up. The room was very small - just a bed, a dresser, a chair and a small bathroom. As a place to sleep one night it was fine. For a longer period of time, I would suggest a larger room. The decor was dated, but the room was clean and the bed comfortable. The outside was very well kept up, with plenty of parking - and if you are without a car, there is the muni right outside the hotel (and yes, it is noisy!).

My advice is to read all the reviews and you will know if it's your kind of place or not!

Room Tip: If staying more than one night, I would ask for one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Motel

Address: 2690 46th Ave, San Francisco, CA 94116
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Sunset
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Francisco's first motel is an award-winning Art Deco gem where guests enjoy our secluded garden Jacuzzi after a whirl of downtown attractions. Family friendly rates in a variety of rooms, some with full kitchens. Dogs are welcome and enjoy Ocean Beach and nearby Fort Funston. Entirely non-smoking, with free parking, local calls, and internet. Twenty minutes' drive to airport or downtown, with downtown streetcar at door. Near UCSF, SFSU, Golden Gate Park; opposite beach/zoo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Francisco
Ocean Park San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Park Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.