We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly and close for Fort Funston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Park Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Park Motel
Save
You added Ocean Park Motel to your Saves list
2690 46th Ave, San Francisco, CA 94116 (Sunset)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Dog friendly and close for Fort Funston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We can to SF for a "dog" vacation. The hotel allows pets and is really close to Fort Funston (an off leash dog beach park). Not the nicest hotel, but it was clean and priced well. Public transit runs right past the motel and can take you into downtown SF.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    74
    16
    9
    3
See reviews for
79
62
22
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

the location of this quaint cute motel can not be beat. The beach is 1 block away and great coffee shops and a breakfast diner are close too. It was easy to access- ride the Muni system -but there are parking places off street too which was great. Might not be near exotic shopping but it was quiet, clean and we felt very safe in the neighborhood. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed in late February and had a great time. Overall, this is a cute vintage (in a good way!) motel with great staff. It's a little off the beaten path but is pleasant and a great value.

Location: This motel is in a quiet neighborhood but is near the zoo and a beach. We accessed those things and the attractions in Golden Gate Park (Japanese tea garden, CA Academy of Sciences) easily.

Facilities: The motel is adorably vintage. The compromise with that is that the room and bathroom sizes are on the small side and our bathroom had no tub. However, it met our expectations of being basic and clean. There's a hot tub which we didn't use, and a backyard-sized playground which was nice for kids. There is a streetcar station nearby which caused occasional noise, but this was offset by being in a quiet neighborhood- there wasn't much noise otherwise.

Staff: Consistently kind and helpful, both on the phone and in person. They include a useful and detailed list of nearby restaurants (where you can walk, who will deliver), attractions, transportation etc.

Overall, the Art Deco style is charming and it was a comfortable stay. For the price, we were happy to stay here in a place with cute character than in a comparable generic low-cost motel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

we stayed for five nights in October, 2012 in a room with kitchen. So comfortable, so great to have a kitchen, a great value and a wonderful place to come "home" to at the end of a day of sightseeing! The kids loved the hot tub, and the location provided easy access to travel in all directions, especially to the ocean and coastal drives. Wonderfully hospitable, amazing value. Highly recommended by kids, parents, and grandma!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

First of all, if you're looking for a hotel that puts you right in the middle of Chinatown or Fisherman's Wharf, this is not the place.

That said, the Ocean Park Motel is much cooler than all those other places and has better value.
I think a double room was around $100 and yes SF is that expensive. We loved the fact this motel was in a more residential area instead of the touristy places. And you can easily get in the city using public transportation. If you have a car, you can leave it at the hotel free of charge.

I loved the art deco design of the motel, the rooms were cute and very clean, the owner is the friendliest guy and gives great tips. We arrived without reservations the first night, had to stay our second night in a pretty bad motel on Lombard Street because they were fully booked, but came back to the Ocean Park for our third night in SF. It's two blocks from the ocean and yes this is a pretty grey and misty area of SF but that did not bother us. Use the list of restaurant tips the owner gives you, the Thai restaurant (a couple blocks away) was amazing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

What is not to like about a masterpiece of Steamboat Deco architecture that is:
-2 blocks from the ocean
-On the Muni (L)-Taraval streetcar line
-On the #18-Forty-Sixth Ave & and 23-Sloat bus lines
-2 blocks from the Zoo
-Nestled amongst the quiet Parkside District
I included references to public transit because San Francisco has one of the absolute best systems in the country. Parking in the City By The Bay is difficult and expensive, so unless you HAVE to bring a car, you're better off taking the bus and trains.
The Ocean Park Motel is far enough from the frenzy of downtown and the bustling neighborhoods to be quiet, but close enough so that you can get there quickly. Your room will be comfortable, clean, and quiet, whether it has one or two beds. Kitchenettes are available for a slightly higher rate. This will be quickly offset by pruident travelers who don't want to pay for restaurant meals. Furthermore, seafood lovers will save a ton of money by going a few short blocks to Sunset Super grocery at 40th Ave & Vicente Street, where fresh Dungeness crab sells for less that $5 per pound (compared to $18 per pound at the Fisherman's Wharf).
At the end of your day, you will enjoy lounging in the motel's hot tub, then settle in for a restful night in your cozy room.
Getting to SFO airport is simple, but allow yourself about 40 minutes to get there, to account for traffic and allow a bit of breathing space. Depending on which route you take, downtown is between 20-30 minutes. The Golden Gate Bridge is a short drive up 19th Ave (15-20 minutes). Off-street parking at the Ocean Park Motel is free.
In summary, you will not be disappointed here; a perfect complement to one of the world's most beautiful cities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were on a road trip from BC to Yosemite, and stopped at this little motel in San Francisco. I had booked ahead of time so I knew what we were getting into. Cute little motel with a 1970's feel to it. Upon arrival, the man working there was so friendly, and gave us tons of maps to the city & surrounding area. We were surprised with a "free upgrade" to a 2-bedroom room with a kitchen, which was awesome! I just loved the interior decor & quaint little courtyard out front. Walking distance to the beach, zoo, and incredible breakfast just down the street! The bathroom was a bit small, so I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone who has high standards or expectations - it was great for what it was :)

Room Tip: if possible, avoid the right side - along the street - random commotion sometimes, but it seemed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Motel

Address: 2690 46th Ave, San Francisco, CA 94116
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Sunset
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Francisco's first motel is an award-winning Art Deco gem where guests enjoy our secluded garden Jacuzzi after a whirl of downtown attractions. Family friendly rates in a variety of rooms, some with full kitchens. Dogs are welcome and enjoy Ocean Beach and nearby Fort Funston. Entirely non-smoking, with free parking, local calls, and internet. Twenty minutes' drive to airport or downtown, with downtown streetcar at door. Near UCSF, SFSU, Golden Gate Park; opposite beach/zoo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Francisco
Ocean Park San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Park Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.