We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Park Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Park Motel
Save
You added Ocean Park Motel to your Saves list
2690 46th Ave, San Francisco, CA 94116   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Get away with my daughter over long weekend was just right. Close to hiking, transport to city! We had a kitchen! Little noisy with L right outside but that made it crazy easy to get around. Lovely time. Staff super nice and kind

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    85
    19
    10
    4
See reviews for
89
69
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Next to the ocean !! Surfing .. next to the zoo .. away from all the noises and not far from the city ..Just loved the place .. The place was warm and comfortable .. the gardens were clean and ample parking space ..

Room Tip: there is a 2 room unit - if you have a family of 4 its more affordable as the unit is a price for on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast USA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This place has a great location, exceptional value, was clean, not as noisy as some report, the way America once was. These were not perfect mattress and pillow accommodations but at the same time they were flawless. We had two bedrooms with a kitchen and that too was very nicely appointed. I was one million percent satisfied, to exaggerate but you know what I mean.

Room Tip: be clear about what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Oh, what a nice place. I love the city of San francisco but stay out in outer Sunset is really relaxing, The motel is outta the past but you know that from other reviews, Lets see if I can tell you something new. To me what stood out was the attention to detail. I had the room that everyone else was complaining about. The "L" train which is your best friend, it hauls your butt back to the city for 2 bucks, and it located on the corner. I have lived in citys all my adult life so urban noises, I have become accustomed to. Life in the city is great, but takes an adjustment. The kitchen is not a kitchen "et" it a frig'n kitchen. A four burner gas stove with oven. 4 slot toaster large Frig. A set of everything for 4, wine openers, cooking utensils. I made my famous Spaghetti sauce. The heat is great. They have a nite lite in the john which points on the commode like a spot like. (nice touch at 4 in the morning). They also has a beautiful garden in the back, and I never saw anyone sitting on the bench. This place is perfect for relaxing and unwinding from your life, up at 5:30 every morning, walk to the beach, two blocks away start a brisk walk, maybe you will see one or two early risers on the beach. After that head to Johns ocean cafe, not the best but good food. Or maybe just a coursant or a muffin and coffee at the the java beach. Again not the best coffee, but the coursant is great. The L line takes you up to some really ok places to eat. I know san francisco pretty good. This time I never left the sunset dist. thanks to Ocean Park Motel

Room Tip: Get a room with a kitchen, the court yard rooms are nice but not very private. Learn the muni system...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Pros: close to ocean and walking trails, close to zoo, muni stop across street, very clean,
Free onsite parking
Cons: In "fog belt", older property, so fewer plugs, small bathroom, less soundproofing.
Muni is noisy (ear plugs are provided if you need them; we didn't), ask for a room
In the back away from the street

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back, away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I was able to make a reservation with little notice and the owner stayed up till late in the evening for us to arrive and was very helpful and friendly, even upgrading our room. It was perfect as a romantic getaway, a little gem set by the sea and away from the hustle and bustle of the main city. It felt like we were transported back to art deco days and added to the atmosphere. We'd happily come here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Very pretty little motel, and $150 for a room with a full kitchen isn't a bad deal in SF. However, the two most important things for us are a good mattress and decent water pressure. Mattress seemed both very firm, and lumpy--neither of us slept well all night. (We do a lot of hotel travel, and have rarely slept so poorly due to the mattress being uncomfortable.) And the shower pressure was extremely weak--hand-held shower, with not enough pressure to actually spray, just sort of dribbled.

Apart from these issues, it's a great-looking place, with nice folks at the front desk, and we had no problems with street noise (our room was at the back of the property, so ask for that if street noise is an issue for you). We'd have liked to return, but that bed was a deal-killer.

Room Tip: Back of hotel is much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Francisco
Hampton Inn Daly City
#1 of 5 in Daly City
4.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Alpine Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Daly City
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Travelers Inn
#7 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunset
Days Inn San Francisco at the Beach
Days Inn San Francisco at the Be...
#136 of 234 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Sunset
Oceanview Motel
Oceanview Motel
#187 of 234 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Sunset
Great Highway Motor Inn
Great Highway Motor Inn
#163 of 234 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Motel

Address: 2690 46th Ave, San Francisco, CA 94116
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Francisco's first motel is an award-winning Art Deco gem where guests enjoy our secluded gardens after a whirl of downtown attractions. Family friendly rates in a variety of rooms, some with full kitchens. Dogs are welcome and enjoy Ocean Beach and nearby Fort Funston. Entirely non-smoking, with free parking, local calls, and internet. Twenty minutes' drive to airport or downtown, with downtown streetcar at door. Near UCSF, SFSU, Golden Gate Park; opposite beach/zoo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Francisco
Ocean Park San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Park Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.