We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and peaceful location ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostelling International San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hostelling International San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Hostelling International San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fort Mason, Building 240, San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina)   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cozy and peaceful location ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I has a rental car for a couple of days in San Fran and this place includes parking which is hard to come by. We stayed a total of five nights and were very satisfied with our stay. We were on our last leg of our road trip so it was nice to have something mellow and not like a party hostel. I noticed most guest were senior citizens and some families which is fine since we only spent time at the hostel at night an wanted quiet evenings to ourselves. Since the nightly rate is real cheap ( we booked the 22 person shared dorm room) it was a great deal and central enough we could catch the public transit to all the major attractions. It's in walking distance of fishermans wharf and Lombard street which has great little food places and wine bars. I did have a hard time sleeping the first couple nights with that many people coming in as out of the room at odd hours. I left the window open to air the place out because it started smelling like feet if it wasn't opened during the day. Our 'roommates' were all pretty considerate in keeping their area clean. Other than the loud snorer I felt comfortable. If you are a light sleeper I highly recommend getting a private room or if you have a large group it might be worth it. We dormed in room 1 and it was in the main building with the cafe, kitchen, laundry room, and movie theatre so it was all very convenient for us. Though it is older building the Facilties were clean and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Just some tips for those staying awhile you can replace the bed sheets at anytime and sometimes blankets since the wash once a week. For girls - the rent out hair dryers and people donate hygienic stuff so u might want to ask if they have something you may need. It's little tips like that make this place easy to coupe with the heavy traffic. The people tend to travel in groups and keep to themselves. so it's not a "social" atmosphere but it works if you have a friend or group with you. Breakfast is ok but don't expect to live off one fruit and waffles/ bagels every day it gets old.

Security is ok. You need a key card in the evenings to get into the hostel. And each room has it's own swipe card. There are lockers under your bunk bed and outside in the hallway you can use, don't forget to bring your own lock

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    106
    42
    20
    14
See reviews for
30
36
74
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosario, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Not enough electricity outlets in the rooms. Only one big light, no individual light, so everybody goes to sleep at the same time. Breakfast is only coffee, bagels and waffles. If you want fruit, yogurt or cereal, they have it beautifully displayed but they will charge you for that. Internet does not work. They charge for water!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed 6 nights at this place first 3 as part of a tour group and then another 3 independently.

The building and its setting is charming and close to Fisherman's Wharf and public transport. WiFi is good but only works in public spaces. Service is friendly and helpful and the on-premises restaurant cooks nice and inexpensive salads, sandwiches and soups.

The breakfast is ok but you'll leave hungry unless you buy extra food (provided).

My only complaint is the really bad and swampy mattresses that are not comfortable at all and therefore should be substituted.

And oh yes my last night at HIFW I had to change rooms. I was assigned an upper bunk although I had requested a lower since I don't like uppen bunks. When I objected I was told room was fully booked. Nevertheless there was two lower bunks that noone used that night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the hostel for 2 nights. The place is OK, a bit old and some of the furniture could use replacing, but not overall it's not too bad. The worst thing were the beds (old mattresses, you can feel the springs, and the noise they make every time someone turns on their beds can make it hard to sleep); and the bathrooms (could use a bit of cleaning).

Common areas were OK, and they arrange a lot of activities, like the movie night with free pizza (nice one).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Top Contributor
358 reviews 358 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at this hostel for 7 nights and found the location to be great, just a few minutes walk from Ghirardelli square and Fishermans Wharf.

If you walk out the back you get a great view of the Golden Gate bridge, Alcatraz and the bay from up on the hill.

We had a private room down in the basement and the rooms were clean, comfortable, spacious and quiet, we had a good quality of sleep whilst here.

The staff were friendly and helpful and it was also a great addition that you got a Bagel/Waffle, piece of fruit, Juice and a tea or coffee included each morning if you go upstairs into the café.

We would have no hesitations at all in staying here again so if your looking for somewhere well located but quieter in the evenings away from the hussle and bussle then this is the place as for the price the location, service and views are unmatchable.

Tip:

If you don't feel like walking down to Fishermans Wharf you can go out the front entrance of the fort and get bus number 47 which departs from the corner of North Point and Vaness Avenue, this takes you right up to Pier 41 which is the end of the line, it only costs $2.00 per person and takes about 10 minutes or less.

Room Tip: If your booking a private room ask for room 20 as this has the best view of the Golden Gate Bridge t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

A tranquil, inspiring location, if you want a place to chill out this is a very affordable option with beautiful views, a great chill out lounge and sunny cafe. The staff are pretty friendly the only suggestion I have is that they kinda need to renovate the bathroom facilities. It is also a little bit out of the way from the main area of fisherman's wharf, chinatown/dowtown etc but i guess thats why its so tranquil.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in total and had a very good experience. This hostel has a very nice location and a very good kitchen, small cinema and super friendly staff. The breakfast was nice too and the rooms and lockers are ok, however some mattresses could use relacement as you feel the springs inside. The showers are ok but they could be a bit more private.

Room Tip: Do the free Chinatown walking tour that starts at the other HI hostel in SF, it's amazing. On...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostelling International San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: Fort Mason, Building 240, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 47 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a National Park overlooking the Bay at San Francisco's first and best hostel! Both shared and private rooms available, cafe serving three meals/day plus free continental breakfast, free parking, free WiFi, DSL Internet lounge, fully equipped guest kitchen, game room, free linens and towels, daily housekeeping, keycard security, free/low-cost daily activities and tours, and no curfews, chores, or lockouts. In a beautiful park setting near North Beach, Pier 39, and cable cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hostelling International San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelling International San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.