We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Surf Motel to your Saves list
Surf Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2265 Lombard St., San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #202 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Small rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Cheapest motel we could find with free parking but rooms are the smallest we have ever seen. There are plenty of good places to eat nearby and you can walk to the marina and fisherman's wharf pretty easily. There are busses nearby too that will take you straight into the downtown and china town.
No fridge or microwave in the rooms.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Surf motel. We do offer a great location and clean and comfortable rooms for our guests. As you were able to utilize we have so many wonderful venues within walking distance and public transportation too. We appreciate you choosing our motel and invite you to come back and stay with us the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    24
    36
    25
    41
See reviews for
35
31
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasig, Rizal, Philippines
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I somehow have a little bit of mixed emotions when I stayed here. First was the check-in process, the front desk clerk didn't want to accommodate 5 of us and we were willing to pay extra. We ended up on a bigger room with a kitchenette. Getting all of our luggage to the 2nd floor was a little bit of a stress since the elevator they have was a little bit malfunctioning. Pressing the 2nd floor gets you to third floor which was ridiculous. So we needed someone to press the button at the 2nd floor just to get our bags there. Upon arriving inside the room, i wouldn't say that it was very clean. The edges of the floor was a bit dirty and dusty. It looks like they haven't serviced that room for a long time. A/C unit was broken so we called the front desk to have it fixed. We had a little bit if a misunderstanding. He thought that I didn't know how to operate the A/C so he told me he would go check. Unfortunately I was waiting all night and he didn't show up. Next morning I called again to check on the A/C unit and thank goodness, someone from engineering showed up and had it fixed.
We had no other problems except the A/C unit. Breakfast was good. The location is very nice. I find Lombard St. to be safe. Stayed here for 4 nights and the location was really safe. Also convenient if you don't have a car since there are bus stops nearby if you want to go to Golden Gate Bridge or to Fisherman's Wharf. There are also good restaurants nearby so food wasn't really a problem. WiFi is horrible. Seriously, it was quite a massive problem for us since we were tourists. Good thing ihop restaurant was just beside and we could connect our devices there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Surf motel. We always love to hear from our guests! You are so right when you talk about our location, as it is one of the best around since we are within walking distance of great venues that surround us. We pride ourselves on clean and comfortable rooms so to hear that you had issues is a concern for us. Please know we take your comments very seriously and they will be sent to our general manager and our owner as well. I expect that these issues will be addressed immediately. We know you have lots of choices when looking for sleeping accommodations, so we thank you for choosing Surf motel. The next time you are in our area please give us another opportunity to provide a clean and comfortable room for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Pleasantly surprised by the surf motel - the reviews make it sound like a dump but it's really quite comfortable and the parking and breakfast are a real bonus. Wifi was quite slow but wasn't a massive problem for us. We had a double room which was a comfortable size and the others we were visiting with got one of the suites which was a great size and looked in good condition. No mould or damp or anything and clean sheets all round! Only issue we had was a language barrier with one of the receptionists who tried to charge for an extra room which we didn't need but the manager sorted it out the next morning so no complaints there. We would definitely stay there again :)

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably quieter away from the road. Don't be afraid to ask to move rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Surf motel. We love hearing glowing reports of how our property looks to our guests and we appreciate the fact you also included your opinion of what other guests had wrote about their stay!! We do always want to provide a clean and comfortable room for our guests and provide the parking as "icing on the cake". It is lovely to not have to look for a parking spot and we have such great venues all around us within walking distance. Again thank you for taking your time to let us know how your stay was and we sure look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Doing a 10 day road trip through California. Stayed here day 5, was the worst place we ever stayed throughout the whole trip. No TV remote, but staff brought a spare to the room, toilet is extremely loud flushing, shower is nice, location is okay, exterior of building very aged, no fridge or any kitchen accessories anywhere in the room, place has a convenient ice machine. Bed was good size and fairly comfortable. Room was a good size. I think it's the cheapest place to stay in SanFrancisco city. So it's okay if you are on a budget.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Surf motel. Our location is amazing as we have lots of different venues within walking distance for our guests. Also we offer clean and comfortable rooms for a reasonable rate and have the beach very close so our guests don't have to drive and look for a parking spot. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastvale, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

unless you like screaming homeless crazy people outside your motel. the mattress felt like a boxspring , sex stained blankets,spent over 85 bucks for a sleepless nigh.breakfast was good , white guy at desk was very nice and helpful,asian guy was an idiot. Please hire better maids ,they must be blind.they need to update the beds ASAP

Room Tip: there are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you taking the time to review your stay with us at Surf motel. Your comments are taken seriously and will be forwarded to our General Manager and Owner. Please accept our apology for your many issues you dealt with while staying with us. It is our goal to provide clean and comfortable rooms for a reasonable rate for our guests. We are in the process of refurbishing our property and thank you for making us aware of the bed and blanket situation. Again, please accept our deepest regret your stay was tainted. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide a clean and comfortable room for you and your family the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I rated this hotel a 1 because -10 wasn't an option.
We chose this motel as a last resort late at night when every other place we went to was full.
Upon entering the room we were greeted with the smell of an old, mildewy basement. The room felt moist and cold. When we closed the door I noticed that the lock was broken as if someone had attempted to kick the door in.
The bathroom was the worst part of the room. The roughness of the towels would have been tolerable had they not been stained and worn out. There was a hole in the bathroom wall that looked like someone punched it. The toilet paper holder was ripped off the wall so the roll of toilet paper (and the broken pieces of the toilet paper holder), were just sitting on the toilet tank. The shower curtain bar was bent in the middle, like someone tried to hang off it. The floors were filthy and there was mold in the shower. I think they go with dim lighting to prevent you from seeing just how bad it is in there and I shudder to think what I didn't see.
The shower itself had no water pressure. It was like showering in a mist, which might have been alright in a nice shower, but you want to get out of that one as quickly as possible so using mist to get shampoo out of your hair is obviously not ideal.
The rock that they try to pass off as a bed left us sore and unrested in the morning.
I notice in some of the replies a representative from the motel claims that cleanliness and comfort is a priority of this motel, this is clearly not true, as all the reviews say essentially the same thing and nothing has changed regardless of the complaints and bad reviews. I also didn't see any renovations going on, unless you count holes punched in walls and broken toilet paper holders as renovations, you guys have a long way to go.
The only good thing about this motel was that it helped me stick to my diet because just thinking about it made me lose my appetite. I would NOT recommend this motel to my worst enemy, let alone any of my friends or family and I most certainly would never, ever stay there again, not even if I was paid to.

Room Tip: My tip is...find somewhere else to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Surf motel. It is a priority for us, as I have stated before, to offer clean and comfortable rooms for our guests and to hear of your recounting of the many issues you found in your room will not be taken lightly I can assure you. I will be passing your comments on to our owner and General Manager for immediate action. Please accept my apology for your stay in a room that had so many issues. We are in the process of renovating our rooms and clearly you did not receive one of them. This is written to you with our heartfelt apology as it is not our desire for any of our guests to be put in a room with the issues you have told us about.Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your concerns so that we can make corrective action so other guests are not put in the same dilemma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

stayed here for 2 nights. hotel room was worn out. front door looked liked it had been kicked. bathroom wasnt great and bed was average, its ok for the price and would do if stuck for one night. its location was handy and guy at front desk was very helpful. decent breakfast for free.
overall it was safe and quiet so was happy overall

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Surf motel. We appreciate our guests comments especially if there are needs or issues to deal with as you are so important to us! Our priority is providing clean and comfortable rooms for our guests. Our location is amazing offering so many venues for our guests enjoyment as well. We are in the process of refurbishing our motel so we would love to have you give us another opportunity to provide your motel accommodations the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Address: 2265 Lombard St., San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.