We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a BUDGET place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Surf Motel to your Saves list
Surf Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2265 Lombard St., San Francisco, CA 94123 (Marina District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“It is a BUDGET place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The motel does have a good location but it is on a noisy, busy, 6 lane street. And it is cheap by SF standards. The kindest word to describe it would be Spartan and it does have parking. For a quick overnight, it might work for you but a longer stay is probably not a good idea. My room had a very strange aC/Heat unit that would heat for 15 minutes, then cool for 15 minutes, and repeat all night long. The cooling part was no fun at all.

Room Tip: Look for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us at Surf motel. We pride ourselves on offering clean and comfortable rooms for a reasonable rate. With our free parking it really is a bonus not having to look for parking when wanting to go see the ocean. Our location is one of the best so that it is easy to go to different venues around us. We take our guests response seriously and are very sorry you had issues with your heater in your room. Our front desk should have had it taken care of or moved you to another room. Again please accept our apology and thank you for staying with us. We will be doing a huge renovation of our property and would love to have you come back and see all of our new improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    26
    36
    26
    42
See reviews for
36
32
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

we stayed here during the hardly strictly bluegrass festival.
it was not really bad or anything. but seemed really overpriced for the accommodations.
our room was musty smelling.
the location was good for the wharf, but not the park-
i would stay here again if i had to, but only if there was no other option.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Surf motel. We are generally very well located for the venues in our area, the ocean being one of them. We are sorry we were not as well located by the park for the festival. We offer clean and comfortable rooms at a reasonable rate and are extremely sorry that you had a "musty odor" in your room. Thank you for telling us so we can immediately address the issue. Surf motel is being refurbished in some of our areas so this should not be a continuing problem. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

There receptionist yelled at me. They did not have the room we booked. There idea of an upgrade from a king sized bed was two full sized beds. They have an expired elevator permit. The room had flies everywhere and smelled bad. And to top it off, they charged us twice.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Surf motel. We provide clean and comfortable rooms for a reasonable rate, however if there is an issue we can fix it when we are told about it. Our guest relations counter person should always treat our guests with respect and we are very sorry to hear that is not the case here. Also with the "odor" you found in the room thank you for telling us and we want you to know all of the issues you brought up will be addressed in the correct departments. Please accept our apology for your inconvenience and remember we take our guests comments very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carcassonne, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I just spend a few nights in this hotel which is very well located.
But my room had bad smell, wifi not working correctly, ridiculous breakfast and extremely noisy !
I paid over 1200 $ for 6 nights !!
Just get away from there unless you pay 75 $ or less a night !

Room Tip: Impossible to get an acceptable room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Surf motel. As you stated we are extremely well located to be able to enjoy all the venues around us and still be close when it is time to relax in your room. We certainly apologize about the "odor" you had in your room. When we have guest comments we take them very seriously and want you to know these issues you bring up will be immediately addressed. It is our priority to provide clean and comfortable rooms at a reasonable rate. Again please accept our apology for your inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Took a chance with this hotel, looking at the comments..some good and some bad, couldnt beat the price and the location was great. actually walked to the wharf and it wasn't to bad of walk. plenty of places to grab a bite to eat within a block. the room was cute and clean to my surprise and i would st

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of your stay at our Surf motel. We do strive to offer clean and comfortable rooms with a great customer service and we appreciate you noticing. Location is so important when choosing a motel especially when traveling with your family and you pointed out that is is an easy walk to the Wharf. We look forward to you staying with us again when in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We spent just one night there and we didn't plan to be there actually. But the hotel was nice for what we needed. Good staff and free wifi upstairs. But the connection wasn't so good because I had to be standing close to the door to go online.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Surf motel. We always appreciate compliments on our property as well as "needs help" comments. We strive to provide clean and comfortable rooms for our guests and free WI-FI is always a huge plus for our guests. Good staff is almost as good as anything we could provide for our guests and we thank you for noticing and commenting on it. We look forward to you staying with us again when you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

First off, the positive. Location is fabulous. Was able to take the bus just 2 blocks away to downtown. Free parking. Best breakfast in town is across the street at Home Plate. Go there !
The negative. Small rooms, not very clean, breakfast was a wrapped pastry at the front desk, coffee is made in your room. The worst thing is I booked a room on priceline. The hotel refused to give me 2 beds even though priceline says most hotels will do that if they have it available. Rude man at front desk refused to help us even though priceline even called them and asked. Priceline was amazed the hotel wouldn't help us. After I angrily lost my battle, the front desk then called us offering the extra bed for $20 more a night. Angered me more they had it available but wouldn't give it to us. My kids ended up sleeping on the floor. They were so rude. I travel all the time and I've never been treated this badly.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at Surf motel. We were pleased that you agree with us that our location is wonderful. As for the rude service you received, please accept our deepest apologies as we do not ever want our guests treated as you were treated. We pride ourselves on clean and comfortable rooms with great customer service as we honor the fact you chose to stay with us. This attitude will be addressed i can assure you.
Whenever you find your self in the Bay area please give us a chance to show you we really do care and offer the best customer service around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Address: 2265 Lombard St., San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.