We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   10 Hallam Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Formerly Globe Hostel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very good value for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

We stayed in this hotel 4days during our vaccation in May 2010 and were surprised by the good value of this hotel. Even if this rather a budget hotel this place was much more better than many other more expensive hotels we have stayed in during the last 3month in the US. The location is great near to Market St with plenty of bars, restaurants etc. nearby. We had a newly renovated standard room on the 4th floor with a king size bed and space enough to put all our stuff in there to feel still comfortable. Of course this is not a 5star hotel so don't expect any charming rooms with fancy decoration, but for the price it's really a great value. The staff was very helpfull and friendly and gave us some very good tips about where to go/eat/shop etc. As some other reviews said there are some homeless people in the neighborhood but nothing to be afraid of, we always felt save when walking home at night. It's just like in any other big city.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    29
    18
    19
    22
See reviews for
13
31
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yosemite National Park
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

We stayed on Feb 2nd, and had a great time. To be honest, this is a budget hotel, so don't expect much. However, we've stayed at a worse hotel near fisherman's warf, and it cost us three times as much.

Given all the reviews, I was nervous about what we would find. It appears that they are in the process of a remodel. They appear to be doing it in stages. We had a "suite" and the bathrooms looked very nice. The hotel is old, so sound travels well - recommend staying on the top floor. We also stayed mid-week, so the bars were not much of an issue. They don't tell you two things about the outside noise - you are right next to folsom st (a busy street), and you are above not only a bar, but a gay club as well. If you go on Friday-Sunday, I would expect A LOT OF NOISE.

The room was clean, although the shower curtain was well worn and needed to be replaced. We left a maintenance slip at the front desk before we left (we didn't need to use the shower as they had a tub also - which was very clean).

The staff was very nice, and check-in was a breeze. For parking there is complementary valet, but the lot is a distance away, so be prepared to function without your car. Looks like the drivers walk back to the lot, so we made sure to tip the driver before he left.

We were staying to see a play at the Orpheum Theatre. It felt safe to walk at 11:30pm at night. You are only a 5-10 min walk from the theatre - and there are a couple of nice restaurants along the way. You may run across homeless and drunks, but this is typical of your average big city.

A final note - use google street view to get an idea of the local landscape before you go - it was VERY HELPFUL!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

The staff was friendly enough - until we said something about checking out because we have family in the area. Then the desk clerk was pretty snotty.
Our room wasn't very clean to start with. Hair in the sheets (yuck!) etc.... We were there for 4 days and the only time the brought us fresh towels was after I threw the very used ones on the floor..... then they only gave us 1 towel, 1 hand towel and one bath mat.
The bathtub was very moldy - and it looked as if they hadn't even tried to get rid of the mold.
There is a bar right below the hotel - incredibly loud music and people outside on the street yelling until well after 2 am.
1 Plus the bed was actually pretty comfertable.
If you are just looking for a place to lay your head - don't mind if it isn't all that clean - this is the place for you. I myself prefer my linens, bath etc.. to be clean.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

in a word....AVOID.

I am staying here for 5 nights paying almost 800 bucks for a king spa suite. Well day on after a 17 hour flight i look at the depressing reception hoping things are better upstairs well i was wrong. Given my room card, not told where to go, where the lift is or where the room is. Get to my room, its hot stuffy and smells funky, check the bathroom, no spa bath as advertised. Crappy TV, no wireless internet even though it was advertised and i asked the guy on the desk and he said it worked. SO i go down to see why the Internet wasn't working and was told it is and the guy shrugged his shoulder, then i ask about the bath and he said 'yeah so what do you want me to do' . Tired as I go back to my room, play with computer still no Internet, go down and tell the guy that i will be looking for another hotel.

Left for about 3 hours come back and the guy says he has to apologise and offers me the room above, he says it has a bath, still no Internet. It does have a better TV, he also says he can call in a technician for the Internet but they wont be here tilll Monday. I accept, there is a big conference in town, no rooms available, (i booked this room ages ago).

Anyway get to new room, 30 mins later the cable TV turns off, the guy downstairs said it has been playing up, they are waiting for the repair guy. The bath doesn't have spa, its just a little bath. Pillows are terrible, no air con. Very noisy from road and nightclub downstairs.

Coffee machine in room has cups that are two big to go in, so first time i used it boiling coffee everywhere. The kitchenette doesn't have any plates or cutlery. The halls look like something out of the shining. The young ladies who clean the rooms are friendly, the desk guy not very helpful. The tea and coffee station doesn't get refreshed daily. Also found blood on the bedspread.

The room is a good size though and the bed was OK, but did have to remake it each day cos the cover over the mattress is always creased. Oh yeah, one night got in at 4am and the door downstairs was open, noone on the desk, so anyone can get in and to the door to your room without a challenge. How safe is that!!!!

Please note I am easily pleased, don't stay in posh hotels and don't feel value should equal crap.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

My friend and I took a cross country trip, staying in 4 hotels from 4 cities. This was the hotel we stayed at in San Francisco. We did not have high expectations for any of the hotels we stayed at, given their low rates, but this hotel was the worst hotel I've ever stayed. The neighborhood made us a little uncomfortable. During our three nights stay there, we saw homeless people and drunks. Even the bus driver who dropped us off at the last stop offered to drop us off a little closer to the hotel because he was worried that us two ladies were traveling alone.

Some of the staff at the Front Desk are nicer than others. The guy that checked us in wasn't very friendly, but the guy that checked us out was more cordial. And as for the room, our window was facing the side of the next building, so we got little sunlight. The room was so small we barely had room to unpack our luggage (we had only 1 luggage each). The worst was the stained linens and pillows. One of our pillows was so stained we couldn't even look at it and hid it in one of the drawers. Both of our comforters had blotches of brown stains on them. They really need to bleach them, or better yet, replace them with new ones!

However, there were two things I did like. The complimentary juice and coffee offered in the mornings were refreshing, but they place the same muffins out day after day until they're all gone. We also liked that there was a huge supermarket a couple of blocks away that reminded me of a smaller Whole Foods.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

This is a value/budget(2 star) facility. Knowing this in advance will let you have reasonable expectations. The neighborhood is not the best-it's somewhat run down with numerous homeless people on the streets (in all 5 days we were there we were not bothered/harassed by the homeles @ all). if you're from a big city or have vacationed in a big city, you will not feel unsafe. It's about a 10 minute walk from the Civic Center BART station located on Market and 8th(also the location of numerous public transportation routes as well). The hotel rooms are basic, clean, and a bit cramped. The Wi-Fi access/speed is great, the television programming needs improvement since there are very few channels available. The breakfast provided consists of muffins, coffee, and juice. Most restaurants are about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. If you're looking for a no frills, budget hotel, you'll be satisifed. However, if you are accustomed to 3-5 star facilities this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

This hotel is great if you don't mind other people's pubic hairs in your shower, the stench of mold and mildew throughout the room, the nightly noise of the downstairs bar 'till 4 AM, or the fact that the maid service only involves the making of the bed. Don't expect the room to be vacuumed or surfaces of any sort to be wiped down during your stay. Also, there are stains on the bedding and the furniture - which don't leave much room for the imagination. It is close to some decent restaurants and the Bart - but you might be better off joining one of the many homeless people in the street for the night.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA

Address: 10 Hallam Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (Formerly Globe Hostel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - SoMa is newly renovated summer of 2007 with 33 rooms and suites. A boutique style hotel, located off famous Folsom Street in a small, quaint alley Hallam Place, when you enter you feel you are in a charming small European town, yet still in SoMa/Downtown San Francisco. Most rooms with city skyline views. We are a 100% smoke-free hotel, public areas and lobby are all non-smoking and the designated smoking area is outside 50 ft right of the lobby entrance door. Valet parking ONLY. Free daily breakfast (muffin, coffee, and Juice). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Soma Hotel San Francisco
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites-Soma
Americas Best Value Inn Soma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-SOMA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.