We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super fun & convenient!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco to your Saves list
Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   494 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach / Telegraph Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Asuncion, Paraguay
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Super fun & convenient!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Green Tortoise over the holiday weekend. I loved it! I stayed in a 4 person female dorm, which was great. Beds were comfy & I took a previous traveler's recommendation by bringing my own pillow case. The bathrooms were clean & tidy. I wore flip flops in the shower, personal preference. Breakfast is ok, bagels, fruit & oatmeal. The kitchen is open to guests, so you can cook your own meals if you preferred. Lots of social activities are offered, which are always fun. I arrived on a Friday just in time for Beer Olympics, met new friends & fellow travelers from around the world. Green Tortoise is walking distance to Chinatown, Little Italy & even Fisherman's Wharf. Lots of walking but it's worth it!

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenTortoise, Guest Relations Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Great review! We are fun, clean and social. Our breakfast is really great, bagels and all the spreads, organic oatmeal, fresh fruit, cook your own eggs and tea and coffee 24/7. Pretty good start to the day! Bathrooms are cleaned daily and we have shower mats for inside and outside the bathroom. Beds are comfy and bedding is all duvets. We hope to see you again soon, maybe you'll try one of our sleeper coach adventures. Keep in touch with all the latest on our Facebook page. Cheers, GT Mgt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    156
    42
    18
    23
See reviews for
14
93
164
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed here for 3 night.
I got there by a cab and the price from the airport pays the view of the city.

there are a lot of restaurants and sight in walking distance (like the piers, lombard street, filbert steps, union sqaure is a lil farther)

it was clean, you had single showers which I honestly loved.

okay it was pretty loud at night but hey - book a hostel in thecity center with bars around, thats what you get so dont complain and pack up oropacks.

also the community is amazing, cooking together, day and weekendtrips to e.g. yosemite.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenTortoise, Front Office Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
The Green Tortoise no doubt is located in the perfect location to be able to visit all the great spots that San Francisco has to offer - the edge of China Town, nestled in the vibrance of North Beach's Little Italy, walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square...we're so glad you found us!
We sell earplugs for light sleepers, padlocks for lockers, laundry detergent, rent towels but linens are free, daily breakfast is free, dinners three times a week are free! Come visit us again so we can provide lift off to a great San Francisco adventure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Great people! Great free food! Beautiful chef! A hostel that was totally easy to fall in love with and easy to feel at home. Love the huge common room too!! The big booth seats led to lots of fun nights and a handful of new life/travel friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenTortoise, Guest Relations Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Melissa, thanks so much for the fantastic review. We are definitely good at providing a great environment that encourages a fun community. Guests love our Ballroom that plays host to our weekly free dinners and other events. Hope to see you again soon. Don't forget to book direct! Cheers, GT Mgt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

This is probably my favourite hostel ever!

First it has great facilities: big kitchen / dining room, free wi fi, lots of storage space in the rooms etc etc.

The location is also great. There are a few strip clubs around but really nothing to worry about. Pretty much everything in San Fran is accessible by foot if you don't mind a bit of a walk.

But the best thing about this hostel is the atmosphere and the people that stay there . It's one of the most social hostels I've stayed at, full of great people sharing their travel stories over beers in the ballroom. I'll always have fond memories.

You can't beat the atmosphere of the green tortoise. The only place to stay in San Fran.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenTortoise, Guest Relations Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
So great to have you stay with us and appreciate the atmosphere of our authentic backpackers hostel and all that San Francisco has to offer. We hope to see you again soon. Don't forget to like us on Facebook. Best GT Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Not being a regular hostel-dweller, I was quite uncertain as to what to expect from the Green Tortoise, other than the fact that we would probably feel far too old to be wandering its corridors. We were travelling with the Tortoise to Burning Man, and it made sense to spend the night before and the night after on site, rather than trudge across town with our heavy bags of burner gear. Far from feeling like an aged fish out of water, we arrived in reception at the top of the stairs into an excited atmosphere of Burner anticipation and very efficiently checked in and shown the hostel ropes. Admittedly your average burner is a quirky type, but the Tortoise's patrons came in all shapes and sizes and we were very quickly part of the scene. Whilst not the most salubrious accommodation we've enjoyed, luxury is not what we came for. We enjoyed the privacy of a private room for two, which was clean and comfortable and conveniently located across the hall from the bathroom, which was also immaculate with plenty of hot water. Clean towels were available in exchange for a small deposit and there was a good hair dryer in the room. We were able to leave our spare bags in a secure locker. Breakfast was plentiful and the kitchen was open for communal use. Wi fi throughout and plenty of plug points in the huge communal dining room were a nice surprised.

The Green Tortoise is in a grand old building in a convenient part of town, albeit amongst the strip clubs, with a choice of good restaurants across the cost spectrum just around the corner. Unless you're infirm or just really lazy, Fishermans Wharf is within walking distance, as are several other areas of interest. Be warned that, if you arrive in a car or a cab with loads of luggage (like bags of burner gear, for instance) there is nowhere to park and offload and reception is one steep flight of stairs up.

I loved my brief stay at the Tortoise and if I'm lucky enough to get to Burning Man again I wouldn't stay anywhere else in San Francisco. Great vibe, great character and very good people. Excellent value for money. Made the posh hotel chains seem a bit stiff and sterile afterwards...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenTortoise, Guest Relations Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Mandy,
One couldn't have said it better!! Thanks for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again along with many of the other Burners that stay here in late August each year. It has become quite the community and meeting point prior to and post the Burningman trip. Our travel company takes people out there each year on a 5 and 7 day trip. Check us out on Facebook. Cheers GT Mgt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We arrived at the Green Tortoise late at night to see the hostel we had chosen was slap bang in the middle of the stripper district! Being two girls we were a little shocked at first and wondered if we had made the right choice! We had!
The place was harmless and actually quite safe. The tortoise is extremely secure and staff are excellent.
Rooms are comfy and if all you want is a room to keep your things and a bed at night so you can explore, then this is perfect.
Breakfast is provided. It's great.
The stairs leading up to the hostel are a killer but worth the hike, even with a suitcase.
Location is fantastic and your a walk away from anything.
We stayed in a private room with a bunk bed and was fine. The room had a little sink in it but wasn't too far from a bathroom. I liked that the bathrooms were separate from
each other. A great stay at the tortoise. I'd recommend it to friends.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenTortoise, Front Office Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Definitely tell your friends we'd love to have them visit and you too again if your travels bring you to San Francisco. The hills here are victorious for sure but we're glad we're in a great location so close to so many fabulous SF sites! We're glad you had a good time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Love, love, loved the Green tortoise. Clean, cheap, central. Bagels, fruit and cereal for breakfast - dinner is free 3 times a week. Kitchen is easily accessible too. Its built into a really cool old house/building - so I felt like I was staying somewhere historical. A five minute walk to the pier. No shortage of places to go out to eat - its in between little Italy and Chinatown - only a ten minute walk to shopping if that's your thing! I had an absolute blast. The staff were excellent!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenTortoise, Guest Relations Manager at Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thanks for the great review and kind words. We always aim to provide value for money with all the free things we have to offer. Free breakfast daily and Free dinner 3x a week. Lots of activities and easy walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf and Alcatraz. We are located in historic North Beach, also know for Beat generation history. Looking forward to your next visit! Cheers, GT Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco

Address: 494 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Tortoise Hostel San Francisco, CA. Is a full service, fun, comfortable, and welcoming hostel. Located in the North Beach area (Little Italy), famous for entertainment, bars, bookstores, and Beat Generation history. The hostel is close to Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, famous bars and restaurants & public transportation that can take you all over the Bay Area. We are a SOCIAL hostel, so come & be included in our events held nightly in and outside the hostel. Lots of Freebies, breakfast daily, dinner 3 x a week, wifi, sauna, massage chair and lots more! Please NOTE *No elevators, *All shared bathrooms (but private use)*Average age 22-30 & next to an *Adult entertainment & club area that can be noisy on weekends & in peak season.** WE ARE BEST SUITED TO BACKPACKERS IN SEARCH OF COMMUNITY, OUR HOSTEL DOES NOT PROVIDE "HOTEL STYLE" ROOM SERVICE TO MAINTAIN VALUE FOR MONEY) Room types available from us are mixed (CO-ED), female, standard private (one Queen bed), twin bunk private, triple (double bed below, single above) & quad bunk style (2 double (full) sized bunk beds). Group inquires welcome. We are also famous for our "hostel on wheels" customized sleeper coach adventures that offer private charters & tours to many exciting destinations seasonally - Alaska, Canyons of the West, Cross Country - East and West bound, California Coastal Crawler, Yosemite, Death Valley, Baja, as well as Burningman and the Oregon Country Fair. Please contact us directly for more information. We look forward to making your San Francisco experience a memorable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.