We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of hte best Hostels that I have stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco to your Saves list
Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco
494 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133-4515   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of hte best Hostels that I have stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The green tortoise hostel in deninately one of the best hostels that I have stayed in .

I finished up one the Green Tortoise road trips and I had previously hear that this place was a good hostel.

As with all hostels you are sharing rooms with other people. For me the bed were comfortable which you dont ofter get in hostels. I was staying in a dorm room with five others. If you are looking for a private room there are some available aswell. I would have no quams about going here with my girl friend as this is the kind of place that you will meet loads of like minded travelers.

The people who work in here are pretty helpful. They will help you get organised for any trip that you want and even suggest some places. They really found us a good deal for some bike hire. I cannot remember the name of the company they suggested but they were great value.

The hostel has a great lounge room which has fooz ball table and guitars dotted around the room for any Ben harper wanna be's.

The hostel organise some food trips to some resturants in the local area. All in all this is a cracking hostel and it is well worth the visit :-)

If you want to do the hostel a little favour, dont book through hostelworld as they take a very large cut. Email them directly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    134
    37
    17
    21
See reviews for
14
80
133
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hostel is large and has plenty of rooms. We visited in a busy period in SF coinciding with a large conference. Consequently there were lots of people looking for places to stay and I found the hostel staff to be very accommodating. The facilities are good here with a big lounge area to meet up with people and eat. Breakfast is served here and it's good. Bagels, fruit, drinks and plenty of eggs to cook your own. The kitchen is well equipped and they have a chef that looks after things and cooks dinners 3 times a week. We had 2 of these and they were amazing...and free! We helped the chef cook on one of these days and he's such a nice guy and pretty talented in the kitchen too. Definitely recommend the dinners! Wifi was available in most parts of the hostel along with free terminals for accessing the internet. They have a tour desk, although we didn't use it, lots of people did whilst we were there. We had an 8 bed dorm which was big enough and had large lockers under each bunk bed for your large and small bags. This kept the floor space free and made the room feel bigger. Plug sockets and personal lights on each bunk too which is always good for charging your phone at night for example. The only downside I felt was that there weren't enough toilets and showers for the number of people staying there. On our floor we had 4 toilet/showers so in the morning there was a queue outside each one. The fact that the toilet and shower are together means you get larger queues too because some people just want to nip to the toilet but have to wait for someone who's showering. That's a minor thing though and it certainly wouldn't stop me staying there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Location: perfect! We stayed four night, never used a taxi or bus to get to all the SF highlights. Private room is small but if you want more space go to the common room which is called the ballroom, its huge. Never had to wait to take a shower, everything clean. Great value for money!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hostel really encompasses the feeling you get when you explore this unique and exciting city, there is great attention to detail, there are many activities to take part in put on by the friendly hostel workers and then there is a good hill to walk up to reach it.

The rooms were clean and tidy. There were many private, clean bathrooms available, some bigger than others. There is free breakfast everyday and free dinner on monday, wednesday and friday in the big dinning area, where there is also a well equipped communal kitchen.

The only issue I saw, but I may be wrong, but it appears there is no air conditioning or fans, so if it is summer there is potential for the rooms to get pretty warm.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms appear to be situated in a pretty good spot in terms of quietness. But there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Having free dinner three nights a week was awesome and so were the huge lockers under your bed (don't forget your padlock), however the staff were the most unhelpful and unfriendly I have experienced, the put a bit of a taint on my staff. I did have some good room mates though although most of the people in this hostel were couples or groups so it was hard to make friends. Also, the corner it is close to is not the best place to be at night in San Francisco.

Room Tip: In warmer months choose a room that has a window onto the street as you have more chance of a breeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

The diversity of the people is what makes this an amazing place. The free dinner was good and I was lucky enough to be there when a musical trio busted out the guitars and hand drum.

Minor hiccups were the front desk clerks talked with each other while I stood there to check in. The chef was rude about using the kitchen, but all cooking utensils were there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franz josef
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

the staff were excellent. great value, loads of free stuff and a great location. beds were really comfortable. they had a huge common area with instruments to play. free breakfast, dinners, organized events. i will deff be staying here again when i return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco

Address: 494 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94133-4515
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Tortoise San Francisco hostel, USA is a full service, fun, comfortable, and welcoming hostel. Located in the North Beach area (Little Italy), famous for entertainment, bookstores, and Beat Generation history. The hostel is close to Chinatown, Fisherman’s Wharf, famous bars and restaurants & public transportation that can take you all over the Bay Area. We are a PARTY hostel, so come & be included in our social events held nightly. Lots of Freebies, breakfast daily, dinner 3 x a week, wifi, sauna, massage chair and lots more! Please note *No elevators, *Shared bathrooms *Average age 22-30 & next to an *Adult entertainment area. We are also famous for our "hostel on wheels" sleeper coach adventures that offer tours to many exciting destinations seasonally - Alaska, Canyons of the West, California Coastal Crawler, Yosemite, Death Valley, Cross country trips, Baja, as well as Burningman and the Oregon Country Fair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Tortoise Hostel - San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.