We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bug bites!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tropica

Hotel Tropica
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tropica to your Saves list
Hotel Tropica
663 Valencia Street, San Francisco, CA 94110   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #222 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bug bites!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Checking in at 5pm our room was still dirty from the previous renter. We were switched to a new room but had to wait in the hallway for 15 minutes while it was cleaned. The room was tiny to the point where you have to turn sideways to pass the other person. Small tv with the 80s. The entire place smells of spicy Indian food and the room seems dingy and unclean. The worst part of our stay was both waking with 30+ bug bites all over! Ewww! Never again! The location is great but definitely not worth it!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    3
    7
    18
See reviews for
5
8
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I paid 80$ for a room without WiFi in it, with no TV remote control, only the bath worked but no the shower,the door of the bathroom was impossible to close and on top of these the room was extremely cold that I had to ask an extra blanket during the night. Never again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Not a bad room, basic but does a job, was ridiculously overpriced for the weekend we stayed here, no internet in room, no breakfast and staff were so rude (When they eventually came out of the back room). They gave us no information about surrounding areas and things to do in San Francisco.
-waste of money!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I live in San Francisco and stayed here for a few nights in July 2013. Internet rates were ~$130/night, but I was able to get a (smallish) room with private bath for $80+ tax by asking directly through the hotel.

Hotels can be pretty expensive in SF, average rate for a decent place is usually close to $200/night. I used to recommend the Elements Hotel to a certain brand of visitor (just need the basics, spend a lot of time out, location is key), but Elements is no more, having been converted to veteran housing. So, Tropica it is now, which is slightly nicer and a little more expensive.

My room was clean and modern. At the back of the hotel, with great natural light. Bathroom seems brand new. Comes with mini fridge and microwave. Does not seem to be daily maid service. Free WiFi, which is spotty at the back of the hotel (they also have a dedicated PC for guest use at the check in window).

If you like to go out to eat, bar hop,
listen to live music, shop for trendy clothes, location here is ideal - it is literally surrounded by restaurants, with some of the most heralded - Locanda, Mission Chinese, Foreign Cinema, Bar Tartine, Range - all within easy walking distance. Too many bars, of all types, to mention - from Mexican bars with mariachis to some of SF's most creative cocktails. And live music within a short walk - the new Chapel, the old Elbo Room, which has had Sunday late night reggae dance parties for over 10 years, and one of my favorites, Amnesia, a quirky little romantic place with excellent, lesser heard music, from Balkan and Gypsy jazz to bluegrass, punk karaoke, folksy singer/songwriters, etc.

Hotel is less than 2 blocks from 16th/Mission BART, which goes straight to SFO. Also close to Dolores Park and Castro.

Tropica is not for everyone. I give it 3.5 stars overall. But if you want more than a hostel, and can live without full service, and being right in the action is important, this is a very good bargain.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caesa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

First of all, i would like to say that the people working in the hotel were extremely nice.
about the room : the room we stayed in had two double bads, for four people.
the room was too small, uncomfortable, without a clothet or any drawers to place our clothes, no table near the beds. there were'nt any mirrors in the room besides the small one in the bathroom that hangs to high over the sink. the lightning in the room was very weak and did not allow us to read at the evening.
in the bathroom : there were no drawers, table or even a shelve to place our toiletries.
but as we said, the people were very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Tropica June 2013. We wanted this location as it was near family, but I was worried after reading some of the reviews.

The reservation was made over the phone and when we arrived the lady behind the counter said they didn't have our reservation and no one by the name of the person my husband spoke with worked there. But we were patient and sure enough our reservation was found.

He had reserved a room with 2 twin beds and a bathroom. We got one double bed, but didn't want to try to change. The bathroom was clean. The bedding seemed clean. The room was clean, albeit small, but that was fine.

The room was hot at night as some other reviewers mentioned. We had the window open all the way - which is no big deal in the city as there are little to zero bugs - and that too was fine. The bed had both a foot board and a head board. We're both tall, so I would have liked no foot board.

Be aware that there are no elevators. The "office" is up one flight of stairs and our room was up another flight of stairs.

I would stay there again as the location is great for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

While the price was right in a busy section of SFRAN--the Mission----I would not count it as a regular hotel visit. The room was adequate with private bath. Refrigerator in room did not work. Had a hard time getting fresh towels. No room phone and no control of room heat--had to ask manager. One lamp did not work and though reported it was never fixed. Since we were visiting our son about 4 blocks away and spent most of the 5 days of daylight out of the room, the situation was manageable--would not stay there again. Nightly rate was $115--small TV no guide. Our room faced the street, and at 2am when the bars closed there was always much comotion outside for about 45 minutes.

Room Tip: Look at the room before taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tropica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropica

Address: 663 Valencia Street, San Francisco, CA 94110
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mix in some vintage Hawaii and throw in a dash of modern San Francisco, with a touch of Las Vegas and the results equal, San Francisco's newest hotel The Hotel Tropica. Colourful and bright mosaics, Hawaiian fabrics, Chinese bamboo, palm trees and beautiful vintage art adorn the hotel, making for a most unique experience.The hotel consists of 40 guestrooms featuring single and double beds, refrigerators and microwaves in each room, cable TV+ HBO, private bathrooms with full tubs and showers, FREE high speed internet access in every room, and electronic locks. There are 3 rooms with bay windows overlooking Valencia Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tropica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tropica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.