We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for no frills & great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grove Inn Bed and Breakfast

Grove Inn Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grove Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Grove Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
890 Grove Street, San Francisco, CA 94117   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Phoenix, AZ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great choice for no frills & great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Grove Inn is in a great part of San Francisco and for a fabulous price. Don't expect turndown service and modern decor. This place is charming and nice enough. Stayed three nights and it was very quiet, comfortable beds. The rooms are larger than what you'll get in a swank downtown hotel anyhow. Then you have the benefit of being in a neighborhood versus downtown with all the noise. If you only come to SF to shop, then by all means, stay in Union Square. If you come for culture, food, and sight seeing, stay here! It's near several great neighborhoods: Hayes Valley, The Mission, Castro, Noe Valley, Alamo Square with it's beautiful views and painted ladies is just a block away! The owners are very nice and easy to work with. Seriously, don't think, just book this place if it's available.

Room Tip: Double bed rooms are slightly larger than queens. The beds more comfortable as well (extra down padd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My first stay at the charming Grove Inn was in 1990. I have been back, year after year. Other parts of this wonderful city may be more obvious choices for visitors, but this neighbourhood is so delightful.
Formulaic hotels may offer a lower price than being here: but what price, a unique experience in an historic building (originally a Gold Rush boarding house 1865)?

I simply wouldn't even think of staying anywhere other than the Grove Inn.
Klaus, the inn-keeper, is utterly charming. The accommodation is immaculately clean. Breakfast is provided. Fast wifi is complimentary - and: importantly for some of us, who need to work whilst away from home: it is a *secure* site, rather than being "public" wifi. And the wifi is in the bedrooms, rather than just being in a lobby area.

Staying in the Grove Inn is a huge pleasure and also feels like a privilege, to inhabit this wonderful building, even temporarily.

Room Tip: ALL the rooms are charming, and the location of the Inn means that it is peaceful wherever you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I think some of the other reviewers have done an excellent job listing the positives of the Grove Inn: it's located in a nice neighborhood, you can easily walk to Alamo Square and also the Panhandle section of Golden Gate Park, transportation is a breeze, Klaus (the owner) is friendly and informative, the beds are comfy and the rooms are clean, the price is a bargain. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

We have stayed at the Grove Inn a half dozen times. The location is perfect for us. Buses and/or the Muni stops are very convenient to the inn. No matter what your destination, the de Young and Golden Gate Park or the Ferry building and China Town each is easily accessible. Our host, Klaus Zimmerman, has a fantastic knowledge of the city and is always ready to help in locating restaurants, music, a local farmer's market, and with good directions.The Alamo Square Sea Food Grill, just across the street, is a must. Our room at the Grove has always been clean & comfortable, the morning coffee is fresh and bold, and there is always an Examiner and New York Times to read.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

I was travelling with a friend all around california and our last stop was in San Francisco. Grove Inn is a calm, clean and lovely place. If you really wanna feel what is a life near the painted houses, you should stay there. Klaus, the lovely host, is very kind, and such a good cultural live book of culture, amazing conversations. I stayed only 3 days there and it was like was living home. The room is cute and every day you have an amazing buttered croissant on the breakfast. If you wanna noise, nightclubs and see movement, grove inn is not the place. But if you wanna feel the city, stay calm and feeling like home in a hotel, you really must stay there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

My partner and I were referred to the Grove Inn by friends getting married in San Francisco. They live there, and know the lay of the land. We wanted to stay close to the wedding venues, and the Grove Inn fit the bill. It is comfortable, clean, fine location, and we were very warmly received. I was suspicious of the late arrival procedure, but the night manager was there to greet us, despite our arrival nearly three hours later than planned. The room was ready and comfortable, although the bathroom was small even by San Francisco standards. We were not there to linger and bathe, so this did not present a problem. The offer of modest breakfast was a welcomed surprise in a domestic hotel, and the coffee was hot, fresh and delicious -- more than what we needed to start the day. We had no issues with the locks, nor noise (internal or street), and were greeted warmly every time we came and went. The value was outstanding, easily half the price we had paid only one year prior at branded high rise hotel -- that didn't know us by name nor offer us coffee. If you want something fussy, please go and find it, there are lots of good options in San Francisco. If you want comfort and care, please call (better than email or Internet) the Grove Inn next time you plan to visit the City by the Bay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

I've been staying at the Grove Inn for 20 years! and simply wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. The touristy parts of downtown San Francisco hold no appeal to me: and what's special about the Grove, is that it is so unlike the characterless hotels where you really have no sense of their being any different from their replicas in other cities around the world.

The comfortable rooms, furnished in keeping with the building's long history (it's nearly 150 years old), have supremely comfortable beds - and free wi-fi access. Breakfast is included: a convivial occasion, as guests share communal tables and really "connect".

The Innkeeper, Klaus, is truly delightful; very knowledgeable about the city, and he presides over the Inn with a very special style.

"Bed and breakfast" in my home country of England, means somewhere cheaper than a hotel, often rather basic. In the US, it means somewhere really rather special - and the Grove is an outstanding example. Maybe you can stay at a characterless modern building for less money: but choosing the Grove will give you a memorable experience. Being in a residential neighbourhood, rather than downtown, means it's much more peaceful. The frequent bus service is reliable, and downtown is within easy walking distance, anyway: or, if you head in a different direction, the quirky delights of Haight Ashbury (populated by people who must be the children of the "flower power" people of the 60s, but the "vibe" seems so much the same.....) are nearby.
Stay in formulaic hotels if you must - but you'll miss a real treat, if you don't go to the Grove Inn!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grove Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 890 Grove Street, San Francisco, CA 94117
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Grove Inn b&b
Grove Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grove Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.