We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #49 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dixon, California
1 review
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great hotel right in the middle of the city. Very quiet at night. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to be near Union Square. Just two blocks up from all of the shopping in the square. The rooms were also very nice.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    249
    74
    19
    8
See reviews for
101
185
20
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were pleasantly surprised with the Adagio hotel. Just a few blocks away from the center of downtown, Union Square, this was the perfect location for us urbanites. I was worried that there would be excessive street noise because it is right on Geary street, but our room was very quiet and peaceful.

As of mid December 2014, they were in the process of an exterior remodel, but it did not affect any of the operations on our visit. There is also a nice bar and restaurant adjacent to the lobby, should you need an aperitif before your nights on the town.

The vibe is more adult rather than family oriented. And, although the Adagio is affiliated with Marriott, it still feels more boutique compared to the other large properties in the vicinity.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location is very good, close to Union Square, but far enough away to not be too crazy. Check in was fine with a short wait, staff cordial and the room was very clean. The room was a good size, for San Francisco. I travel lots and when I think of a boutique hotel, I hope for some surprises, something that I might not find in a chain hotel. Though the hotel is in an old building, the decor inside is not unique. We could have been in any other Marriott hotel (or Hilton or Raddison). Three times we decided to have some coffee or tea in the lobby and each time, the pot was dry. I asked for a taxi and was guided to a town car, which I was told was the same cost. We were heading across town and it cost 65% more than the cab ride back to the hotel. I also have a pet peeve about wifi, it should be included in the rooms as part of room price. We only got one wash cloth. So, we were comfortable and it was a pretty good value, but I will continue my search for a true boutique hotel in San Francisco.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I travel on business to San Francisco a few times a year and have been staying at Hotel Adagio for a couple of years. It can be very expensive to stay in downtown SF and this hotel is one of the best values.

It is part of Marriott's "Autograph Collection" of hotels whatever that means, but I like it! Hotel Adagio is located not far from Union Square, but is it not over looking the "square". That is one of the things I like about the location, not overrun with tourists, but a short walk/cab to anything you need. If you are looking for a hotel with a "grand" lobby, large bar area or something on a large scale, Hotel Adagio is not that. This hotel has an urban style and is very comfortable. After traveling all week, I had dinner at the bar and appreciated the small plate menu options. After eating out all week the last thing I wanted was another large meal. I had breakfast twice and dinner once during this stay and everything was excellent and served with a smile. Every employee I encountered greeted me with a "hello" and genuine desire to make my stay the best it could be.

The rooms are clean and spacious enough with a sitting area with sofa and coffee table and desk for work time.

I have always made every attempt to stay at Hotel Adagio on my visits to San Francisco and recommend you give a try.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you Brian for taking the time to write a review and for the great recommendation. I am so pleased that you "get us". We try and blend a historic building with a more urban and sophisticated interior and deliver a service experience that connects the two. Sounds like you were able to take in the entire Adagio-experience with Mortimer's and we love that! Cannot wait for your next visit and we hope to hear more about your San Francisco adventures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We actually stayed here last November (2013) but it was a great hotel and I wanted to give it a good review. We were there for just a brief stay in San Fransisco before going to wine country. The location was very central to getting around the city. The hotel itself had an attentive staff, rooms were pleasant and clean, and it seemed well-insulated with not too much street noise. We would stay here again and recommend it to others. The price was also reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much murdy for taking the time to share your kind words. I am so happy to hear that our staff was able to take care of any and all requests. While we do try and blend a historic building with a sophisticated interior, it is the staff that really creates the experience. Thank yo again for the review and we sincerely hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night with friends. The property is located within anything you could want downtown. The property is a finely appointed boutique hotel. Every person on the staff went out of their way to make sure we had an excellent stay.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really enjoyed my stay at Hotel Adagio. Eric Waldron the Concierge was exceptional. He coordinated both dinner and a show with almost no notice. He was able to get us into an exclusive SF restaurant that normally requires several months notice.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank You Josh for taking the time to share your experiences. I am delighted to hear that Eric was able to take care of you. He is an exceptional Concierge and I am so happy that he is here at the Hotel Adagio. We really appreciate your comments and cannot wait for you to return to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Address: 550 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Adagio features a fresh design that bridges its Spanish Colonial Revival architectural roots to a clean and contemporary design aesthetic. In the heart of San Francisco's theater, dining and shopping districts, the Adagio is the perfect destination for exploring whether you're visiting on business or pleasure. Uniquely San Franciscan and clearly Californian, the new Hotel Adagio offers a pace and atmosphere that is luxuriant and aromatic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio San Francisco
Hotel Adagio San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.