We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #48 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“July 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Valet parking was a bit pricey. If you want to stay here you really do not need a car. Save the $50 a day! Otherwise our stay was very nice. Large room, small bathroom... free coffee and tea in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    138
    52
    10
    6
See reviews for
66
111
12
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Utah
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was there with my twins, age 20, on our annual "Dad Trip". Both of our rooms were great.

Breakfast in the Green Room was a disappointment. My twins were served 10 minutes before my food came. When it did finally come it was missing the potato cake and jam. The waitress must have been new. Not knowing what came with what order. The food was good though.

My "in-room" coffee was not restocked the second day. When I tried to call guest services, the line was on fast busy every time I called.

I was also disappointed that there was only free internet in the lobby.

The bar was excellent and happy hour was great.

I hate to focus on the negative but that's where improvements can be made.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

If you are expecting a hotel close to Union Square this is not it despite being advertised as such. Others across the road also make the same claim, As a first time visitor to San Francisco I did not feel comfortable walking from here the few blocks to Union square after dark. Loads of beggars about outside, and the hotel shuts it's doors in the evening, this is not inviting and there must be a reason for it. Once inside the bar area was excellent and served a good selection of meals. Upstairs the rooms are ok but clearly dated although an attempt to freshen them up has been made with new colours. Marriott is usually my favourite chain, but this autograph hotel felt very ordinary. Overall it was OK, but considering the price the rooms should be better.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Pros:

-Fantastic Staff - everyone was very nice and helpful - better than most hotels!
-Location is great - don't wonder off to the Tenderloin area of town a few blocks away, very shady
-Affordable, but the weekend I was there Major brands were the same price and have stayed at some that are much nicer.

Cons:
-Rooms are not the biggest in the city as advertised
-Breakfast was good, but seemed like a new restaurant type issues with food coming out staggered and not flowing right.
-Our A/C unit was having issues and the floor was very wet.
-They did not have enough cleaning staff, on Sunday they turned checked out rooms first and our room was not cleaned until 4 (even with us being out since 8) - not what is expected in a quality hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I am a former resident of San Francisco and have always been used to staying at the classic hotels (St. Francis, Clift, Fairmont, Sir Francis Drake). The Adagio was a nice adaptation of one of the older San Francisco buildings to a modern small hotel. Reception was friendly and breakfast was great (included because we are Marriott Gold level members). Only complaint is the extremely high ($49) overnight parking fee, but that is typical for San Francisco. I would not hesitate to recommend the Adagio for those who want a modern hotel in downtown SF.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stay here when I'm in San Francisco for work and everyone is always so accommodating and friendly. I tend to order room service a lot and the guy that works in the evening is simply the nicest guy ever! Was just there last week and will be staying there again this week.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I booked two nights here before we headed up to Napa. Arrived late the first night and they were out of rooms. Moved us to another hotel - nice Marriott property - but I hate moving hotels. Would have preferred to stay there two nights, but they were sold out. Moved back over to Adagio the next day and ran into the GM, Michael. Things turned around after that. Upgraded our room, paid for our first night and went out of his way to make dinner reservations for us at La Mar (great spot). Service was great and this little boutique hotel is quite posh. Bartender was very helpful and friendly. Great location and really enjoyed our one night here and kudos to the above and beyond service from the GM to make turn a rough start into a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Address: 550 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Adagio recently reopened after a 6-month renovation. Hotel Adagio features a fresh design that bridges its Spanish Colonial Revival architectural roots to a clean and contemporary design aesthetic. In the heart of San Francisco's theater, dining and shopping districts, the Adagio is the perfect destination for exploring whether you're visiting on business or pleasure. Uniquely San Franciscan and clearly Californian, the new Hotel Adagio offers a pace and atmosphere that is luxuriant and aromatic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio San Francisco
Hotel Adagio San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.