We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights for business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #49 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“2 nights for business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Really felt the service was top notch and the complimentary Platinum Elite breakfast at the onsite restaurant was terrific (recommend the omelette with carmelized onion and arugula; possibly the best omelette I've ever had).

Faucet in the bathroom was so loose that it felt like it was going to pull out of the countertop of the vanity.


Separate issue was the guests in the room next to me who were smoking in the room. it came right through the walls and was stifling. I left the room and went for a walk outside while I asked the bellman to address the issue (there was a line at reception; there are only two stations so it can back up quickly at the front desk). I came back from my walk and the bellman assured me that he had spoken to the guests and that they would stop smoking. Fortunately there was a ceiling fan in my room which I used to circulate the air, but it still gave me a headache which I awoke with the next day. There should be stiffer actions when guests are caught violating the 'no smoking' policy in guest rooms. The hallway smelled like a bar.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Terry C,
We at the Hotel Adagio would first and foremost love to thank you for your loyalty to Marriott brand properties. Top notch service is our goal at all Autograph Collection properties and our entire staff was thrilled to hear the kind words from your review.

Our chef’s strive to provide the freshest seasonal menu day in and day out for all of our guests. We would also like to extend our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced from any violation of our non smoking policy by your neighboring guests. We assure you that the Hotel Adagio is a 100% smoke free and does not tolerate any smoking on property. A very stiff cleaning fee is applied to any guest suspected of smoking in the guest rooms.

Your valued feedback on in house maintenance issues is much appreciated and very well received as we continue to upgrade every facet (faucet) of the hotel. :)

We look forward to your continued patronage and exceeding your expectations time and time again.

Warm Regards,
Michael Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    249
    74
    19
    8
See reviews for
101
185
20
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amerikaner im Schweiz
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

A nice breath of fresh air just off Union Square. Small rooms, minuscule bathrooms, all nicely furnished and outfitted. Cigar box small elevators. Nonetheless, quaint, comfortable, with a friendly staff. Valet $49 in and out parking per day can be blunted by using the adjacent garage yourself. Worth a stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Abbadiani-
Thanks for the 5-star review! We love to hear that your stay was a fantastic one!

Warm Regards,
Michael Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The experience at the Adagio was great from the minute we drove up! Mose was right there to take our bags, help us with parking and then gave us directions to several places we wanted to visit ,as well as provided us with all the hotel info we would need. The hotel was located close to everything and our room was very nice and roomy. The only con for me was the in room keurig coffee, not my favorite. Fresh brood coffee is available next to the lobby , however.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear DebbiL2014-
Thanks for the 5-star review! We love to hear that our staff is “Wow-ing” our guests from the moment of arrival!

Drive up for another great stay soon!

Warm Regards,
Michael Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I used to stay in this hotel when it was the Shannon Court. The new owners have done a great job upgrading the property all around. Spacious, comfortable rooms, friendly helpful staff, convenient location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Stan B – Thanks for the 4-stars!
So glad that the “Blast from the past” was a great one and you enjoyed the updated look.

See you again soon!

Michael Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay! The hotel was very clean and chic and being a Silver Elite member, we felt right at home with Angela at the front desk. She was very sweet and spoke to us about the city and neighboring activities and things to do and see. Sam was also very attentive in opening the door and greeting us!
The only negative thing was the construction that was being taken place in the lobby, but we didn't think too much of it.

Our first Autograph Collection was a fantastic one at Hotel Adagio!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Drew A – Thanks for the 5-stars!
Very glad that our staff was friendly and attentive! Sorry about the tiles in the lobby - - we had to replace a few tiles – due to a settling building.

We look forward to you returning!

Warm Regards,
Michael Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Hello,

I recently spent a few nights at your hotel. There were very many positive aspects that I enjoyed. The property is very nice, contemporary, convenient location, my room was very nice and in general, everything was great.

The purpose of this note is to tell you about my dining experience, which was less than desirable. On Sunday morning, as I approached the sign which says, “please wait to be sited’ the couple close to the sign said, “go ahead and sit yourself otherwise you will never get sited”. I sat myself at the deuce, near the entrance to the kitchen. The gentleman next to me stated “I hope you have lots of time, as the service here is horrible”. A few tables away there was a four top, who were in the City for a wedding. After numerous times attempting to get someone’s attention they gave up on the waiter. The young guy went out to the lobby and got his mother a cup of coffee as it was very apparent they weren’t going to get one out of the wait staff. At one point a gentleman from another table left the room and a few minutes later he returned. Someone (presumably the Front Desk manager), approached the table and a conversation about bad service proceeded. There were a few other less notable occurrences of bad service, during my breakfast.

The second morning for breakfast, the room was less crowded, so I thought to myself, presumably service will be better. No such luck. After sitting my-self again, it was 10 minutes before anyone even acknowledge me. A gentleman sat himself at the table next to me. After waiting approximately 15 minutes, he asked the waitress if he could order breakfast. The waitress responded by saying “Absolutely, right away”. This is where it gets really bad, she then just walked away without saying anything else i.e. I will get your waiter, let me drop off this pot of coffee and be right back, something should have been said.

She then went and had a conversation with the other waitress and they discussed who was responsible for the table, within ear shot of me and the other guest. After they finished their conversation, they both disappeared into the kitchen. The guest and I looked at each other and just laughed. Without going into further bad service that I witness, let me just say it took me an hour and 15 minutes to get breakfast. Thank goodness I had plenty of time both mornings.

The actual meals were very good, which was one very positive note. The dishes were unique and different and both of

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear CarlBecker –
Thank you for the review, we love hearing what we can improve upon for future guests. We have very recently gone through a transition and have made improvements going forward with our breakfast area.

If you’re back in the area again, we’d definitely love to ‘Wow’ you with our breakfast service, please contact me or Patricia Calvert (Front Office Manager) at the hotel directly at 415-775-5000 when you’re back in town again.

Warm Regards,
Michael Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed between Christmas and New Years. I love the Marriott Autographs!! (Prague and the Algonquin in NY). Perfect size hotel close enough to Union Square but far enough away to stay out of the hubbub. The breakfast area was a little small but it was a busy time. The price was pretty good compared to the larger hotels closer to USQ. We loved the bar (Mortimers) and was a great place to kick back after the long treks up and down the hills. All the staff was great and especially the servers in the bar. They gave great suggestions for places to try and we're very interested in the places we visited. Not to far away was Mikkellers, the best beer in town and some good eats.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adagio_Mgr, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
CSF79849504 – thanks for the 4-star and all the lovely things you had to say about us! We loving hearing about what you loved!

Come back again very soon = the Crab Hash is waiting for you in the Green Room for breakfast!

Warm Regards,
Michael Pace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Address: 550 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Adagio features a fresh design that bridges its Spanish Colonial Revival architectural roots to a clean and contemporary design aesthetic. In the heart of San Francisco's theater, dining and shopping districts, the Adagio is the perfect destination for exploring whether you're visiting on business or pleasure. Uniquely San Franciscan and clearly Californian, the new Hotel Adagio offers a pace and atmosphere that is luxuriant and aromatic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Amex, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio San Francisco
Hotel Adagio San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.