We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #46 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Foresthill, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We took a few days to enjoy the sights and sounds of San Francisco during the holidays and stayed at the Hotel Adagio. It was located 2.5 blocks from Union Square...just far enough away to avoid all the hustle and bustle that would make it a noisy place!

The staff was extremely attentive, the room very comfortable albeit a little noisy with the doors being opened and closed by neighbors nearby. It is an older hotel that underwent a major renovation about a year ago.

I highly recommend this place and we'd definitely come back again.

We got a "smoking deal" on Priceline!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Vanessa K,

It is very encouraging to receive your great review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Hotel Adagio. We aim to always provide excellent service at all times along with comfortable and unique accommodations. Your wonderful feedback has been shared with our staff, as they work tirelessly to make every guest feel special. Thank you for your high recommendation. We can't wait to have you back!

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    286
    85
    23
    10
See reviews for
115
210
22
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at Hotel Adagio this weekend! The staff was lovely, the hotel is conveniently located to Union Square shops, restaurants and sights (as well as the Powell BART station) and my room was large and comfortable. I had drinks in the bar, and room service for breakfast, both of which were great. There really isn't anything I would have changed about my trip; just perfect!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We are ecstatic that you had a perfect stay at Hotel Adagio! Thank you very much for providing us and other travelers with your valued insight on our comfortable accommodations, amenities and service. Our staff is committed to delivering the best San Francisco experience our exciting city has to offer and your positive reinforcement is our greatest reward! We hope your travels bring you back to California in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The Staff was extremely helpful from check in to checkout. Hotel is centrally located within walking distance to many restaurants/bars. Hotel has a great old yet modern feel to it. I highly recommend staying at this property. Please note, for those frequent business Marriott travelers there is no Executive Lounge.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Manny G,

Thank you for sharing with other TripAdvisor travelers how extremely helpful our staff is from check in to check out. Our staff greatly appreciates your high recommendation of our San Franciso hotel and looks forward to earning another 5 star rating on your next stay with us!

Best Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Hotel rates for parking can be expensive, but may be avoided by parking at street meters and using pay by phone app. Must read parking signs!!! I spent less than $15 in parking fees within two blocks radius from hotel Fri-Sun vs $50/day using hotel valet service.

Room Tip: Stock up on the Tazo tea, complimentary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
It's great to learn of your 'awesome-comfortable' stay at Hotel Adagio. Thank you for choosing to stay at our San Francisco hotel. We hope to serve you again!

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed in the hotel and brought our Black Lab. The hotel brought up a comfy bed for her as well, so much appreciated by us.

The Adagio is located close to Union Square and has a sleek decor when you enter, hardly looks like a lobby. We only stayed for one night because we were there on business but would certainly revisit for a holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We are honored by your perfect ratings across the board! Thank you for your excellent feedback. Our passion for serving our guests and delivering the best San Francisco experience truly sets us apart from the rest. We certainly do our very best to please everyone and appreciate your recognition of our efforts. Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent business visit. We, too, hope that you will return to enjoy a leisure stay with us.

Kindly,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My husband and I chose this hotel bc we like Marriott hotels overall. The location of this hotel was great as it was very central, and just a couple of blocks away from Market Street which leads everywhere.

Pros - attractive lobby, friendly/professional staff, lovely modern room and very comfortable bed. We didn't have much of a view, but there were plenty of windows so we had good light, and it was very quiet a night. From this location, you can easily walk to Chinatown, Ferry Market, or take the trolley to Fisherman's Wharf, or bus to Golden Gate Park. Free Starbucks in the lobby - around the corner from the elevator bank, excellent breakfast at the restaurant located on lobby level. Bathrooms included quality toiletries too!

Great shopping and restaurants in Chinatown and if you like Korean food - check out Coco Bangs right in the neighborhood, the Slanted Door at the Ferry Market was deliciously awesome but pricey.

We took a cab from the airport and it cost approximately $50. On the return, the front desk recommended a limo service, it was so much better and cost the same! That's the way to go...next time we return we'll have the same service pick us up from the airport. Call Royal Limousine Services and ask for Arfan - great guy - 415.756.1340 or email royal.sflimo@gmail.com

Cons - The bathrooms need renovation. The vanity area was nice, but the tub, window, toilet, door, were sparse at best. It lacked style and luster. The room itself is lovely, but not the bathroom.

Lastly, the neighborhood is a bit gritty. It's not dangerous, but it's not Fifth Avenue. Tons of panhandlers every few steps and some are rather aggressive - not dangerous - just aggressive, and the neighborhood is chocked full of them as are the buses, trolleys, parks, etc.

Would we return? Most definitely.

Room Tip: Ask for the 7th floor or higher, facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for staying at Hotel Adagio, CQ_NewYork. We are pleased to hear you had a great experience and found our staff to be helpful and accommodating to all of your needs. We appreciate your time in sharing the extensive details of your stay with our friends in the Trip Advisor community. Your suggestions have not gone unnoticed. We are constantly evaluating opportunities that will improve the guest experience. Again, thank you for your review. We hope we have earned the privilege of being your San Francisco hotel of choice. Our staff looks forward to serving you again.

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Hi stayed here on a corporate trip and really loved it, would stay again a couple blocks off Union Square on Geary Street. Stayed on 4th floor , room 400 , great room on the corner very spacious, good bed and and bathroom with heaps of space. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. I didn't eat here but it is suppose to be good and there are great bars with 2-3 blocks try Lefty Odoulls and S which is over the road . They have a pretty well equipped gym on the 2nd floor with all the basics in terms of machines and dumbbells .

Room Tip: The corners suites are good (quiet and largest) so low numbers on each of the floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
We are pleased that you loved Hotel Adagio, ZenStone! Your wonderful compliments on our friendly staff, spacious accommodations and incredible location are greatly appreciated. Other travelers will certainly find the details and tips in your review very helpful. Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your business and hope you will return to see us on your next trip to San Francisco.

Kindly,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Address: 550 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Adagio features a fresh design that bridges its Spanish Colonial Revival architectural roots to a clean and contemporary design aesthetic. In the heart of San Francisco's theater, dining and shopping districts, the Adagio is the perfect destination for exploring whether you're visiting on business or pleasure. Uniquely San Franciscan and clearly Californian, the new Hotel Adagio offers a pace and atmosphere that is luxuriant and aromatic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio San Francisco
Hotel Adagio San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.