We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“adagio hotel san francisco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #50 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“adagio hotel san francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

awesome! good sized rooms with superb furnishings. Really appreciated 24 hour coffe/tea in lobby. The only slight disadvantage was the restaurant wasn't open for dinner but instead availabilty was in the small and rather noisy bar. However there are so many eating places around it wasn't a biggie.

Room Tip: were on the 12th floor and there was no noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dar brooklyn022,

Thank you very much for writing about how much you enjoyed an awesome experience at Hotel Adagio! Our breakfast room, The Green Room, is only open from Monday - Friday 6:30 am - 9:30am and Saturday & Sunday 7:30 am - 10:30 am. We apologize for any inconvenience this caused you. As you mentioned, our area is certainly filled with a wide variety of dining options, and we hope you enjoyed your choices. Again, thank you. We appreciate your business and your review.

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    165
    57
    12
    6
See reviews for
80
126
13
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Our stay at the Adagio was very nice. The staff were very courteous and helpful. Both bartenders were excellent and took pride in their specialty drinks. You could say the same for the staff working breakfast. My wife had the French toast and even if you are not staying at the hotel, you may want to venture over for the French toast. Room was nice and clean. Saw several other reviews complaining about the vagrants and begging. Unfortunately, you will experience them at any of the hotels downtown. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
It's so wonderful to receive great feedback from our valued guests. Thank you, r_a_b_63, for giving all of us at Hotel Adagio the opportunity to be a part of your recent visit to San Francisco. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our new cocktail lounge, The Mortimer. Our mixologists certainly do take great pride in crafting the perfect cocktail for each of our guests. You are absolutely, correct; San Francisco does have a homeless population. We appreciate your comments to other travelers in regard to this. Thank you for taking the time to give us your kind remarks and 5 star rating! It's great that you will definitely stay with us again!!

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here with my wife for our 10th anniversary. We liked the hotel a lot. Huge rooms. Clean and quiet. The one thing that I agree with the other reviewers on is the neighborhood. The street itself is managable, but if you go a couple of streets perpendicular to the street it's on, you quickly find yourself in "Walking dead" land. I.e. Vagrants, bums and mutants walking around everywhere. But honestly, this is not specific to the hotel's area. It is a San Francisco problem. We never felt unsafe. We liked the area because it was close to everything.

Room Tip: We had a corner room which was awesome because there's more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Simonadamien,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your 10th Anniversary at Hotel Adagio! It is always exciting for us to be a part of such special occasions. We appreciate you taking the time to point out to other travelers that you and your wife felt safe at Hotel Adagio. You are absolutely correct; there is a homeless population in San Francisco, which is certainly not specific to our hotel. It's wonderful to learn of your comfort and hear that you had a great San Francisco experience while staying with us. We will look forward serving you again! Happy Anniversary!

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Nice hotel with good facilities and large bedroom.

The area around the hotel is flooded with vagrants day and night. They harass, beg and generally make the environment dirty and unpleasant. You really need to look where you are stepping.

Would not stay on Geary Street again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear mandmandw,

We are pleased that you found Hotel Adagio to be a nice hotel with spacious accommodations and good facilities, however, we regret that your overall impression of our famous Geary Street left you unimpressed. There is a homeless population in San Francisco, and we are sorry to hear that this influenced your experience. Please know that our hotel and direct area surrounding our hotel is certainly safe. Our prime location near Union Square and many other attractions allows our guests the convenience of walking to visit so many exciting sites our city has to offer. Thank you for your time in giving us and others your thoughts and opinions. We are hopeful that you will change your mind and return to our hotel.

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anytown USA
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Let's start with the good: sheets were nice, everything was clean when I checked in. Staff at the front desk were very friendly and accommodating. Newly re-decorating I think and I loved the color scheme. Noise level was good until last morning (see below). There are no ice machines so you have to call down to the front desk whenever you need ice and while that might seem like a negative, they are VERY fast bringing it up to you.

Now the bad: when I arrived, engineering was in my room fixint the toilet paper holder--which was fine becaue he was very nice and apologetic, he finished quickly and left--just unexpected. Initially the phone in my room worked, and then stopped working the first afternoon. When I reported it, they had someone up quickly to look at it and a vendor in the following day to complete the repair prior to my returning from meetings. My shower the first night could not be called hot, "warm" at best! When I called the front desk to find out the story, she proceeded to tell me how to work the shower (which I'd already figured out!) and did come up to feel the water herself. She felt it wasn't as hot as she'd like either and said she'd speak to the engineering staff. The next night, my shower was wonderful--so hot I had to turn it down. The housekeeping services leave a bit to be desired, small things like the box under my soap was left there and not thrown away, my bathroom sink was still slightly dirty and something i'd left on the dresser intentionally had been thrown away but other things that are usually straightened were not. My last morning there I was awoken at 4:50 AM by loud thuds that I thought were coming from another room, but turned out to be the hotel staff throwing items into the trash bins below in preparation for the garbage truck. Very unpleasant!!!!! Not how or when I wanted to start my day.

While the staff did everything they could to respond to the issues, I shouldn't have had them in the first place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for your insight, AnnBest67. We appreciate all of your compliments and suggestions. Please accept our apologies for the unforeseen details described in your review. It was our pleasure to immediately respond to these mishaps to ensure your comfort. Thank you for also bringing the trash incident to our attention, as we have followed up to inquire why this occurred at that hour of the morning. Again, we are extremely sorry that we failed to deliver the flawless experience that you deserve and hope to have another opportunity to gain your confidence in us. Thank you for taking the time to complete the TripAdvisor review.

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Absolutely horrible. I booked thinking the pictures represented the hotel. The pictures do NO represent the room. The elevators are ancient. The neighborhood horrible. Amy Fox is terrible about saying one thing and then telling you you need it in writing later. In the 1000 a night suite there is no tub and the safe doesn't even work.

Go elsewhere!

SCARY neighborhood!

Miserable Marriott customer who is a gold member!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Adagio is a very nice small property in the heart of San Fran. It is centrally located: a short walk to Union Sq. and a long walk to the wharf, although the many homeless people nearby the hotel detract to its location--but this is true of any San Fran hotel in the heart of downtown. As a Plat member I got an 'upgraded' to a higher floor, supposedly bigger room. The room view was nice, and even though the hotel is on a busy street, I don't have any complaints as far as outside noise, it was rather surprisingly quiet (14th floor). The room is nicely appointed, although the bathroom was a bit standard and small. The food from the hotel was excellent. Both breakfast and dinner were far better than I expected.
As far as service, the front desk was helpful giving ideas for activities, but fell a bit short actually booking reservations, etc. The staff at the breakfast area, while very attentive, seemed a bit unorganized.

Room Tip: Trry to get a high-corner floor for a good view without much noise.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Address: 550 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Adagio features a fresh design that bridges its Spanish Colonial Revival architectural roots to a clean and contemporary design aesthetic. In the heart of San Francisco's theater, dining and shopping districts, the Adagio is the perfect destination for exploring whether you're visiting on business or pleasure. Uniquely San Franciscan and clearly Californian, the new Hotel Adagio offers a pace and atmosphere that is luxuriant and aromatic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio San Francisco
Hotel Adagio San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.