We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but old,noisy building” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #47 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but old,noisy building”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very nice and the hotel room was great but there were a lot of noises once you got in the room. At 4 am I could hear someone above our room going to the bathroom and a lot of noise going through the pipes. I'm not sure if it was just our room but it appeared as if then didn't put in enough insulation when they remodeled. Unfortunately we won't be returning.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear dosh777,

Please accept our sincere apology. It is extremely disappointing for us to learn that your stay was disrupted by noise, and we regret not having the opportunity to make things right while you were still our guest. We would greatly appreciate it if you could possibly contact our hotel to provide us with further details on the location of your room, etc. so that we may immediately follow up on the details described in your review. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We certainly hope that you will change your mind and return to Hotel Adagio, as it would certainly be a pleasure to deliver the enjoyable overall stay that you deserve.

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    264
    78
    20
    9
See reviews for
108
194
21
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as a family of three in June 2013 in order to "do" San Francisco. Being near Union Square it's a good location for transport and there are a good number of diners nearby as well as convenience stores.

The room we had was a decent size and very nicely decorated. The hotel staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. There's 24 hour free tea and coffee in the lobby and Wifi throughout.

We had a great time in San Francisco and the Hotel Adagio played a good a big part in that. No hesitation in recommending this great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you very much, MMILLEN! You high 5 star review and high recommendation mean the world to our entire staff! It was our sincere pleasure to be a part of your family's visit to San Francisco. We appreciate you taking the time to share how much you enjoyed Hotel Adagio and all that we have to offer. We hope that you and your family decide to plan a trip back to the states very soon! Again, thank you.

Best,
MIchael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

These must be the largest rooms in downtown SF. It's a nice, modern, boutique hotel, and you can get reasonable rates for downtown. Great bar and restaurant next to lobby. The location is convenient to Union Square businesses and restaurants, though also very "convenient" to the Tenderloin area, but you can avoid that easily.

Would stay here again next time I'm in the area.

Room Tip: Parking is valet only (around $50/night), but there's a lot next door for $25/night if you'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear lawrencemon,

Yes, indeed, we do have spacious, modern rooms and we are pleased that you were so comfortable! Thank you for mentioning our reasonable rates. Taking into consideration that we are a newly remodeled hotel and our close proximity to all of the San Francisco excitement, our rates are definitely competitive. It's great to know that you would stay with us again on your next visit to our area. We can't wait to have you back! Thank you very much for your review.

Kindest Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

I spent 10 nights here on a business trip.

The room was clean, the staff friendly and food solid.

Definitely a solid boutique hotel.

The only real caveat is its on the border of the tenderloin (which can be a little sketchy).

I would have also preferred some weights in the gym but no biggie.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent 10 night stay with us, Ryan M. We are very happy to receive your excellent remarks on our accommodations, service and food. Your suggestions are also appreciated and very important to us, as our guests' feedback is reviewed and discussed in management meetings on a regular basis. We are honored to be named your solid boutique hotel in San Francisco and look forward to your next arrival.

Best Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at the adagio this past weekend and we couldn't have picked a better place. The location was convenient to everything and the service was top notch. There are tons of restaurants to eat at and it's in Union Square so there were endless shops, high end and low end. We have an awesome stay. Thanks!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear mik03,

We are quite thrilled that you couldn't have picked a better place than Hotel Adagio! Your compliment is certainly appreciated. It is also wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our top notch service and incredible San Francisco location. Thank you for completing the review and sharing details about your awesome experience. We do hope you and your family will be back for more soon!

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights, 9/27 and 9/28/2013. This is a very clean, comfortable small hotel near Union Square. The staff is quite helpful. There is free Wi-Fi and 24/7 coffee and tea in the lobby(behind check-in counter and elevators). I had a corner room facing Geary Street; it was not too noisy Friday night, but quite noisy with auto and pedestrian traffic on Saturday night into the wee hours; there is an Asian restaurant immediately next door and the Hotel California just next to this restaurant which adds to the noise. The hotel location is on the western fringe of Union Square; venturing further west or south into the Tenderloin did not look safe to me after dark.

Room Tip: If you get a room not facing Geary Street, there would likely be no problem for a weekend stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you, Pam F, for the high rating and review of your 2 night stay at Hotel Adagio. We apologize for any noise disturbance that occurred. It certainly would have been our pleasure to relocate you into another room on Saturday night. Please know that we are always at your service, no matter what time of day or night. We are here to ensure that your entire experience with us is comfortable and memorable. We hope you will return on your next business trip to San Francisco. Thank you for completing the review.

Best Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Although did it did not meet my expectation for a Marriott Signature series hotel, the Adagio is a very nice place. The hotel staff are over the top friendly and the facility is quite nice. I was upgraded to a very pleasant corner room on a high floor. Everything about the my stay was pleasant. So.... I extended my stay by a day....

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Bill13131313,

Although, we are pleased that you enjoyed a pleasant stay and decided to extend it by a day, it is still disappointing that we did not reach our mark of exceeding your expectations. All of your wonderful compliments are appreciated; however, if there are any further details or suggestions that you would like to discuss, please do not hesitate to call me directly at Hotel Adagio. We hope that we have earned your loyalty and will have the opportunity to serve you again. Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete the TripAdvisor review.

Best Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Address: 550 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Adagio features a fresh design that bridges its Spanish Colonial Revival architectural roots to a clean and contemporary design aesthetic. In the heart of San Francisco's theater, dining and shopping districts, the Adagio is the perfect destination for exploring whether you're visiting on business or pleasure. Uniquely San Franciscan and clearly Californian, the new Hotel Adagio offers a pace and atmosphere that is luxuriant and aromatic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Amex, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio San Francisco
Hotel Adagio San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.