We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #46 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Williamston, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great location. Rooms on small side but clean. Air conditioning. Coffee available downstairs near lobby stayed on 9th floor view of city. Price ok for location. Within walking distance to most places of interest

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear theresa_meetzelpn,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Adagio. We are pleased that you took advantage of our incredible location which is, as you mentioned, within walking distance to so many San Francisco attractions. Your high rating and review gives us hope that we have earned your guest loyalty.

Best Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    195
    67
    16
    6
See reviews for
92
148
16
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Had to book on short notice during VERY busy weekend in San Francisco, and this newly renovated Autograph Collection property was superb from beginning to end. Rooms are big, beautifully decorated, and very quiet. Bar and common areas really stylish without being pretentious, and staff first rate: Roshanda and Angela at the front desk handled stressful weekend gracefully, Sam at the bell desk super helpful, and we had a small group visiting, and Amy in sales was such a pro in helping with all our requests. First rate, great San Francisco hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear boraroma,

It was our sincere pleasure to provide you with a superb experience from beginning to end! Your review has been shared with our staff and your time in giving a special mention to several of our team members is greatly appreciated. We believe in serving with passion and excellence, and our guests' comfort and enjoyment are top priorities. Thank you for recommending our first rate San Francisco hotel. We can't wait to welcome you back to Hotel Adagio!

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We enjoyed a night stay at Hotel Adagio for sigtseeing before we headed onto Napa Valley. The atmosphere is wonderful, decor is lovely, service is superb, rooms are spacious and comfortable, etc. I can go on and on. This is just top-notch, we will definately stay here again the next visit. The entire staff is very kind and helpful, you can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
We couldn't agree with you more, Erika504; other travelers can't go wrong with Hotel Adagio! It is extremely rewarding for our staff to receive your compliments on our superb service and comfortable accommodations. We are thrilled you enjoyed a top-notch experience and that you will definitely stay with us again. Thank you for choosing to share your 5 star experience with us and other TripAdvisor travelers.

Kindest Regards,
MIchael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were doing a tour of the West Coast, and this was our first stop. Welcomed into a lovely hotel, however arriving at 9 o'clock after almost a day of travelling, we were pretty tired and we were told that we only had a room booked for 1 king size bed? Luckily, the staff sorted it out and although we had a sofa bed and a mattress the first night, the next 2 nights we were in a lovely room with 2 queen sized beds. Liked that the hotel offered complimentary Starbucks coffee and tea and the staff were very friendly. Great location on Geary St, some lovely resteraunts nearby. Would reccomend Lori's Diner just down the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a high up room to get a good view of SF.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for including us in your tour of the West Coast, Sally S! We apologize that upon your arrival we did not have a room available that fit your preferences. Your fair assessment based on the following 2 nights of your stay is greatly appreciated. It is also very nice to receive your input on our complimentary Starbucks coffee and tea. We understand how providing special complimentary amenities and outstanding customer service truly separates us from the other properties in our area. We hope your future travel plans to the U.S. bring you and your family back to see us!

Best Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed in the Adagio for the first 3 nights of our USA coast to coast adventure. We loved it. Very central for Union Square and easy for access to other parts of the city. Friendly, helpful staff on reception and also in the bar who told us about the fires in Yosemite our next stop on the trip. The most comfortable hotel bed we have ever slept in and great pillows too!! We were on the 5th floor facing the street, no complaints about the room it was spacious and very clean. Try the little diner over the road too - cheap as chips and tasty!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear samgreen18,

Thank you for making us a part of your USA coast to coast adventure! What a thrill it was for us to hear that our rooms have the most comfortable hotel bed you've ever slept in, along with great pillows! We are very happy that you loved Hotel Adagio and all that separates us from the others in our area; fabulous service, rooms and location. We hope that the rest of your USA visit went just as well and we will look forward to seeing you on your next adventure!

Kindest Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel is in a wonderful location and it provided easy access to the rest of the city. Wonderful staff and clean rooms made this an easy trip. I enjoyed the grabbing a drink in the nice hotel restaurant and the fact that all my local friends were familiar with the location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear David J,

Thank you for your review and for providing insightful details on what a Hotel Adagio experience is all about. We are very pleased to hear that our wonderful staff, clean accommodations and fantastic location made it an easy visit for you. We appreciate your business and hope we have earned your guest loyalty.

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This was a last minute booking and honest opinion best hotel in town. They're an Autograph Collection and they make you feel right at home. It was a unique experience. Lobby and room was spotless. Service was immaculate and location of hotel was great! Two blocks away from union square and main attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We are ecstatic to be named the best hotel in San Francisco! It is genuinely our pleasure to make you feel right at home while staying at our unique hotel. Your review has been shared with our staff, as it is always a thrill to receive 5 star feedback on our exceptional customer service. We are anxiously looking forward to having you as our guest again, JM1016! Thank you for your excellent review.

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Address: 550 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Adagio features a fresh design that bridges its Spanish Colonial Revival architectural roots to a clean and contemporary design aesthetic. In the heart of San Francisco's theater, dining and shopping districts, the Adagio is the perfect destination for exploring whether you're visiting on business or pleasure. Uniquely San Franciscan and clearly Californian, the new Hotel Adagio offers a pace and atmosphere that is luxuriant and aromatic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Amex, Venere, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio San Francisco
Hotel Adagio San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;