We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #46 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We just spent a week at Hotel Adagio. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Housekeeping was so quick to honor requests for ice, towels, etc. We had queen sized beds, which were hard to find! Our room was large and we had space to move around without tripping over 4 large suitcases. Could not have made a better choice for our first visit to San Francisco.

Room Tip: With 4 adults, queen sized beds were great. Just blocks from Union Square. 2 blocks from Hertz - we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Pamelita7117,

Thank you for choosing to make us a part of your very first visit in San Francisco! We appreciate you sharing the details of your week long experience with us and that you were comfortable in our spacious accommodations. It's great to hear that you could not have made a better choice than staying with us, and we couldn't agree with you more! We truly enjoy going above and beyond in any way we can for our guests, and your recognition of our efforts is greatly appreciated. We are looking forward to having you and your family as our guests again.

Kindest Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    251
    75
    19
    8
See reviews for
102
187
20
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is walking distance to the shopping area, and touristy area. The room is clean and looks nice. The salad they serve at the bar is also good. (Although if you want diner type of food, there's a good one across from the hotel.) Wifi is available at the lobby. They serve Starbucks coffee and good teas (24 hours a day) right by the breakfast area. But what I was really impressed with, are the staff. EVERY PERSON I encountered that worked there were verrrry accomodating and warm. The room attendants, receptionists, concierge, bartender, people at the kitchen, waiters, general manager were all very warm. They greeted their customers and genuinely would ask if there was anything they could do to help.

There was a young lady who seemed to be functioning as a host of some sort, talking with the guests, finding out if they needed anything. She approached me and was perceptive that I was in need of something. She asked me if something was wrong. I said, no, I was just deciding what to do because I already had to check out but still had to wait for my husband who will be back to get me in 4 hours. She told me that I was welcome to have some coffee or tea, and access the wifi from the lobby or the breakfast area/lounge. I took the offer.

As I was getting settled, I approached a lady behind the counter/bar who was currently slicing tomatoes for a salad. I asked her if she knew what the password was. She warmly smiled and took my pen and paper and quickly went to the front desk to retrieve what I needed.

In a few minutes, as I was trying to log on, the general manager approached me and asked if I had any problems logging in. I was having some trouble with that and he was more than happy to help me find which network to get into.

I had lunch at the bar and the bartender was also very welcoming to the guests. It was nice.

Hotels can be very generic but it's the people who run it that make it feel special. I like this place. I'll come back to this hotel when I get back to San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Bernadette F,

We are ecstatic to learn that you were impressed with our hotel and exceptional customer service. Our team is always excited to receive such positive feedback from our guests. We work very hard to make our hotel experience a very special and unique one. Thank you for taking the time to share so many details of your enjoyable stay. We appreciate your business and are thrilled to have earned your guest loyalty. Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and providing us and other travelers with your helpful insight. We can't wait to serve you again on your next visit to San Francisco!

Best Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here for my birthday and 1st anniversary, very modernly decorated if you like that kind of thing. The snacks were very overpriced so we used a nearby shop 2 doors down. Biggest disappointment was that there was no free tea/coffee making facility in the room, the only hotel I have ever stayed in that does not provide this. Service not too bad although night receptionist wasn't that friendly but feel that generally people aren't that friendly in San Fan.

Room Tip: I think they are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear JHR1976,

We apologize for the disappointment in service that occurred at our front desk, as well as the unfriendly impression you received of the people in San Francisco. Please know that this is not the typical experience at our hotel, and the the people from all over the world that both live and visit our city are generally quite friendly. We have followed up on your comment with the appropriate members of our team to ensure this does not happen again. Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel to celebrate 2 very special occasions. We hope you did enjoy your overall experience in San Francisco and plan to return.

Happy Birthday and Happy Anniversary!
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Booked this property online a few days prior to arrival. Most of the city was sold out, however I managed to get a reservation here. I suspect due to a Platinum override on Marriott.com. My confirmation was for 3 nights. Rate was $249 plus tax. I stay in hotesl more than 80 nights per year, many years in excess of 125 nights. On this reservation, there was NO mention to the rate possibly being different on any given night (more on this later).

This property was ok. Hallways dark and narrow (not like an alley or anything, I think just because of the color and that they were indeed narrow).

Room was fine. Clean, no real complaints. The elevators were very small and instead of a metal door covering something, there was black duct tape. This was the case in both elevators. to some, this may be a nit, but found this to be absolutely tacky and really drags down what otherwise might have been a really crisp property.

The dining room and breakfast service was akward I think. Often having to flag a waiter down for something as simple as a glass of water. Also, they had complimentary coffee in the morning, which is great, however to get to it, you had to walk through a short narrow threshold that actually felt like you were walking back into the kitchen. Obviously you were just in another area of the dining room, but it didn't look very welcoming from the lobby side. I think they could find a better place to set up the coffee (in the bar area perhaps). The bar was fine, nothing remarkable.

Morning of check out, there was no bill under my door. An annoyance, but certainly not the first time this has happened. When checking out at the front desk, the representative reviewed, "three nights, a couple of restaurant charges, a couple of charges at the bar..." I said that sounds about right. So, in my mind i'm thinking three nights, my bills and basically figure out that sounds reasonable. I was handed a folded bill, I stuffed in my bag and outside to a car to the aiport. Keep in mind this is 5AM and I need to get going.

Fast forward to Sat, when I look at my bill and see that my 3rd night is not the same rate. I know this happens from time to time and sometimes it can be a big difference. however, in this case the rate was astronomical. More than 3X. And never was I advised the 3rd night would be a different rate. I simply would have kept looking for a property or checked out before such a rate kicked in.

I have contacted the property to try and work this out. So far, this is in progress and I remain hopeful we can come to a reasonable compromise and settle my concern and chalk this up to a simple error somewhere. Stay tuned.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed here at the beginning of June, the hotel bar/lobby looks fresh and clean and the staff are really friendly. The gym is small but okay for a small work out. I had a double double room which was in very good new condition with comfortable beds. The only draw back was no free wifi and no ipod doc station. The hotel is a 2 minute walk to Market street or Union Square. I would defo stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear SJP1980,

We love hearing you would definitely stay at Hotel Adagio again! Thank you for noting that you enjoyed our new, fresh and sophisticated new look throughout our hotel. Please know for your next stay that we do have auxiliary cords available for you to hook up to our premium sound system in your room. Certain room types have the actual docking system available, however, all of our rooms have an outlet where you can use an auxiliary cord to get plugged in. You are absolutely right; San Francisco is, indeed, absolutely amazing! We hope you will return soon to enjoy more of all that we have to offer.

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gesaati
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I spent 10 days at the Adagio, and it was really a great experience. The service was fantastic, the food provided at the restaurant was good.

The only things I didn't like was the fact that the bathroom fan and light were connected - it was noisy and a pain to have on all the time. Also the room lighting was very dim both in the room and in the bathroom - as a girl, I took issue with this b/c it made it really hard to put make-up on.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear gesaati,

Thank you for your 10 day stay at Hotel Adagio! We love hearing that it was a great experience and appreciate your time in sharing this with other TripAdvisor travelers. We enjoy serving our guests and receiving your fantastic comments on our level of service is very rewarding and encouraging. Your suggestions on the lighting in your room are also appreciated and taken seriously. Please keep in mind for your next stay that we are at your service at all times during your stay and welcome any opportunity to ensure your comfort. it would have been our pleasure to provide additional lighting for you to apply cosmetics. Thank you for your review. We will look forward to accommodating you on your future business and leisure visits to San Francisco.

Kind Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalaheo, Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This little hidden gem of a hotel is a great spot for lodging in the Union Square area. Recently refurbished, it's got character and style. We checked in late after traveling from Hawaii and were upgraded to a fantastic suite on the top floor (thanks Lonnie!), which also included an enormous rooftop balcony with a fabulous view of the city. Bathroom was a little small and oddly shaped (obviously, there's only so much you can do when remodeling an older property), but was nicely appointed and served it's purpose. The staff was consistently great and the valet parking was a breeze. San Francisco is a tight little town, with lots of one way streets and plenty of traffic at times, but the Adagio fits in well, with relatively easy access to the theatre district, freeways and bridges, and fairly direct access to the outer neighborhoods. Because of it's walking distance to Union Square and that shopping district, this is an excellent little spot for a weekend getaway or business trip near downtown.

Room Tip: By all means, ask for the penthouse suite - it's fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear nedleigh,

Thank you so much for you wonderful remarks; we truly appreciate them. We are very fortunate to have amazing views of the city and the luxurious comforts of our multi million dollar renovation! It was our pleasure to upgrade you and we're thrilled that your nice appointed suite was to your liking. Thank you for sharing how much you also enjoyed our consistently great customer service and fantastic location! We hope you will return soon to enjoy yet another excellent stay soon.

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Address: 550 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Adagio features a fresh design that bridges its Spanish Colonial Revival architectural roots to a clean and contemporary design aesthetic. In the heart of San Francisco's theater, dining and shopping districts, the Adagio is the perfect destination for exploring whether you're visiting on business or pleasure. Uniquely San Franciscan and clearly Californian, the new Hotel Adagio offers a pace and atmosphere that is luxuriant and aromatic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio San Francisco
Hotel Adagio San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.