We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People Here Are Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #49 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“People Here Are Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had three rooms for ourselves, two children & our daughter's boyfriend for two nights. The hotel creates a good initial impression with a light filled lobby, bar off to the side. The rooms were nice, large, with comfortable beds & windows that opened. What makes this property special in San Francisco is the employees. Almost across the board, from Colin at the bell desk (with his very nice attitude), to the front desk, restaurant to the bar, the employees really give it their best effort to be pleasant & helpful. The one situation I saw that I would suggest be changed was the hours for meals in the restaurant. The place was packed, we were eating. A couple came in apparently too late for breakfast & were rather flippantly told they were too late. I would suggest a sign stating "sorry - breakfast is done, come back at ___ for lunch" as it would be less abrasive. We will be returning here. We go to SF often & have tried a number of properties in the area & this one definitely deserves a repeat visit. Parking is next door, in an outside lot with a friendly valet. Getting to the area is a bit sketchy, but it really is fine, being just a couple of blocks off Union Square.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear HeatherSanDiego,

We can't thank you enough for the positive and encouraging feedback on your experience with us! It is always a great reward for our whole staff to receive such fantastic compliments on our customer service! We are very happy to learn of your comfort and enjoyment. All of your comments and suggestions are greatly appreciated. We are elated that you and your family plan to return to Hotel Adagio, as we are looking forward to earning another 5 star review!

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    168
    58
    14
    6
See reviews for
82
126
13
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

It is refreshing to find a fairly small, newly remodeled, very cool little hotel close to Union Square. And the Adagio staff is very attentive. Thoroughly enjoyed my first stay and have already booked my next four! My room was small but very well laid out, fresh, bright and clean! The bar downstairs was busy every night and the food was unique and tasty!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear ce_younger,

We are very exciting to have you as our loyal guest! Thank you for your fabulous review and for booking your next four visits with us. All of your wonderful compliments on our newly renovated San Francisco hotel are greatly appreciated. We're also pleased that you enjoyed our brand new, stylish lounge, The Mortimer. Our handcrafted cocktails, locally brewed beer and modern cuisine are definitely a must while staying with us! We are honored to be your gem at Union Square and look forward to welcoming you back!

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sje79
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was our first visit to San Francisco and being a fan of Marriott hotels, I was able to find a decent rate for the time we were staying. The hotel is a few blocks from Union Square, but an easy walk, although it seems to be on the border of a dicier area. Lobby was gorgeous, updated and very modern, as was our room. They upgraded us to a corner king room since we were traveling with a toddler to give us more room, which was much appreciated. The bathroom was also updated very nicely, though it looked like the tub had had a coating put on top of it to make it look nicer. For a swankier hotel for that price, I would've thought the TVs would be bigger, but not a big deal at all. You could valet park for $49 with in and out privileges or you could park literally right next door for $25 a day (slightly more if you have an SUV) with in and out privileges as well. A car is not necessary though as you're a very short walk to the cable cars and other forms of public transportation. The staff was extremely helpful and nice.

One suggestion I would make is to get a couple of high chairs for the restaurant. We came down for breakfast on our last day there and while they supply cribs for the room, they don't have high chairs, which I thought was a disconnect. All in all, a great hotel and we weren't disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear sje79,

We certainly appreciate your Marriott brand loyalty and making us a part of your very first visit to San Francisco! It is wonderful to receive your positive feedback on our multi-million dollar renovations and your valued suggestion for our restaurant. It was our pleasure to upgrade you into a larger room and provide you with our exceptional customer service throughout your stay. Thank you for completing the TripAdvisor review on your experience with us. We're so happy you had a great first visit in San Francisco and look forward to having you as our loyal guest.

Best Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hotel Adagio is a cute boutique hotel, super modern fixtures and great amenities. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable ( particularly Sam and Orlando) about good places to eat/ visit while in San Francisco. The location of Hotel Adagio was central to shopping and many other attractions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear MonicaChanel,

Thank you for your 5 star rating and review on your excellent experience at Hotel Adagio! We are very happy that you enjoyed our newly renovated San Francisco hotel and our incredible location. Our staff is thrilled to receive your positive comments on our helpful and knowledgeable customer service. It is extremely rewarding for us to hear when our guests thoroughly enjoy staying with us. We look forward to earning another 5 star review on your next visit to San Francisco!

Best,
MIchael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have Marriott Gold status and so figured I'd try this new addition to their downtown hotels, rather than go to a more regular haunt. Unfortunately on arrival, there was no valet and we were left to go in to reception and find them ourselves.

There's clearly been some investment in to the hotel with new furniture and an impressive lobby. I was lucky enough to be upgraded to a corner room (thank you) which gave a me a good amount of room with a small seating area and a decent desk.

Whilst the room was fine, the bathroom felt grungy - albeit clean. Room service took 30minutes for breakfast when they said 15 and I had a similar issue to a previous reviewer with the $20 credit being only partially applied to my breakfast.

I had high hopes of enjoying a little luxury, but sadly I'll have to find somewhere else to enjoy it.

Room Tip: Go for a corner room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Travelsmart101,

We appreciate your time in providing us with your insight on your recent experience with us. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced and our oversight in applying the correct amount of credit from your coupon. We have resolved the miscommunication with the members of our staff to ensure that this does not happen again. Your valued feedback is appreciated as we rely on your insight to inform us of our successes and where consideration for improvements should be made. Again, please accept our apologies for failing to deliver the luxurious, comfortable experience you deserve and should expect from our hotel. Your continued Marriott loyalty is greatly appreciated.

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

As a Marriott Platinum Premier staying way over 100 nights per year and often in SF I figured I would try this new hotel to the Marriott club....I will probably not be back.

It is in a decent location but it is in the shadier border of the Tenderloin. There are many better Marriott's near the Adagio.

Upon approach to the hotel there was no where to park and no Valet outside to unload luggage so I had to go around the block....twice...parked but still no Valet...went inside and had to find somebody to take the car.

Nice but small lobby with okay bar/small restaurant...the bar staff are very nice.

The rooms are tired and kinda grungy. The hotel has cheap but very modern looking furniture in a fairly crappy room with very thin doors and poor sound proofing. The TV did not work and took a while to get it fixed...the maintenance guy was very nice but he was out of breath and said he was VERY busy fixing things on several floors at the same time. Clearly lots of things break and they are understaffed. I told him the air conditioning was not working...he tried but could not fix it...room was in the upper 70s during my stay.

Room service was to be about 30 minutes or so they said. It was 75 minutes. The food was warm not hot....again the guy said he was sorry but he was very busy as lots of people were ordering food since it was ~6-7pm...perhaps more staff are in order.

No coffee maker in the room...lame

Finally, I had a coupon for $20 worth of food and it stated that the tip and tax were included. I used it for breakfast (very nice waiter). He told me with the coupon I fully covered and could just go...I did...upon check out they had ~$5 added to my bill from breakfast. I asked for them to explain and they said it must have been the tip, tax, or simply more than $20. No offer to resolve or fix. I was in a rush to get to the airport and $5 is not that big of a deal, but not the best service.

Overall okay hotel but many flaws and with great options near here there is little reason to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Brad S,

We are very disappointed to learn that we missed our mark at providing an impressive stay. Our guests' feedback is always taken seriously and is extremely important to us. The various miscommunications and inconveniences described in your review are unacceptable and will not be overlooked. We have immediately followed up on your comments with the appropriate members of our staff to further investigate the details of your experience. Thank you for bringing your stay to our attention. We appreciate your Marriott loyalty and hope to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations and deliver an improved stay in the future.

Sincerely,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We purchased a night at the Hotel Adagio thru Groupon. We were looking for a Boutique Hotel near Union Square. We didn't know anything about this hotel, but the Trip Advisor ratings were good. From the minute we walked in the door, we knew we had found a gem of a hotel. The lobby was inviting and spotless. Every member of the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Kim Ferguson for her special assistance.

Our corner room, located on the the 11th floor was spacious and very comfortable and quiet. We had fabulous views of the skyline as well. This hotel has been renovated recently and the attention to every detail was evident. They offer a well equipped fitness center and complimentary Starbucks Coffee. What more could we want?.......Complimentary WIFI. WIFI was available for a daily fee, which really surprised us.

Overall, I would strongly recommend this hotel for its location, amenities and incredible staff. When we return to San Francisco, we hope it will be to stay at the Adagio again.

Room Tip: We loved our 11th floor corner room with great city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Desertdweller2877,

What a pure delight and honor to be names your gem in the heart of San Francisco! It was our extreme pleasure to provide you with our newly renovated accommodations and incredible customer service. It is wonderful to hear that you felt welcomed and comfortable from the moment you walked through our doors. Thank you for your high recommendation of our San Francisco hotel! We are thrilled that you will be returning to stay at Hotel Adagio on your next visit to our amazing city!

Warm Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Address: 550 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Adagio features a fresh design that bridges its Spanish Colonial Revival architectural roots to a clean and contemporary design aesthetic. In the heart of San Francisco's theater, dining and shopping districts, the Adagio is the perfect destination for exploring whether you're visiting on business or pleasure. Uniquely San Franciscan and clearly Californian, the new Hotel Adagio offers a pace and atmosphere that is luxuriant and aromatic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio San Francisco
Hotel Adagio San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.