We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Staff but Lame Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #47 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Staff but Lame Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

As a Marriott Platinum Premier staying way over 100 nights per year and often in SF I figured I would try this new hotel to the Marriott club....I will probably not be back.

It is in a decent location but it is in the shadier border of the Tenderloin. There are many better Marriott's near the Adagio.

Upon approach to the hotel there was no where to park and no Valet outside to unload luggage so I had to go around the block....twice...parked but still no Valet...went inside and had to find somebody to take the car.

Nice but small lobby with okay bar/small restaurant...the bar staff are very nice.

The rooms are tired and kinda grungy. The hotel has cheap but very modern looking furniture in a fairly crappy room with very thin doors and poor sound proofing. The TV did not work and took a while to get it fixed...the maintenance guy was very nice but he was out of breath and said he was VERY busy fixing things on several floors at the same time. Clearly lots of things break and they are understaffed. I told him the air conditioning was not working...he tried but could not fix it...room was in the upper 70s during my stay.

Room service was to be about 30 minutes or so they said. It was 75 minutes. The food was warm not hot....again the guy said he was sorry but he was very busy as lots of people were ordering food since it was ~6-7pm...perhaps more staff are in order.

No coffee maker in the room...lame

Finally, I had a coupon for $20 worth of food and it stated that the tip and tax were included. I used it for breakfast (very nice waiter). He told me with the coupon I fully covered and could just go...I did...upon check out they had ~$5 added to my bill from breakfast. I asked for them to explain and they said it must have been the tip, tax, or simply more than $20. No offer to resolve or fix. I was in a rush to get to the airport and $5 is not that big of a deal, but not the best service.

Overall okay hotel but many flaws and with great options near here there is little reason to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Brad S,

We are very disappointed to learn that we missed our mark at providing an impressive stay. Our guests' feedback is always taken seriously and is extremely important to us. The various miscommunications and inconveniences described in your review are unacceptable and will not be overlooked. We have immediately followed up on your comments with the appropriate members of our staff to further investigate the details of your experience. Thank you for bringing your stay to our attention. We appreciate your Marriott loyalty and hope to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations and deliver an improved stay in the future.

Sincerely,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    249
    74
    19
    8
See reviews for
101
185
20
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We purchased a night at the Hotel Adagio thru Groupon. We were looking for a Boutique Hotel near Union Square. We didn't know anything about this hotel, but the Trip Advisor ratings were good. From the minute we walked in the door, we knew we had found a gem of a hotel. The lobby was inviting and spotless. Every member of the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Kim Ferguson for her special assistance.

Our corner room, located on the the 11th floor was spacious and very comfortable and quiet. We had fabulous views of the skyline as well. This hotel has been renovated recently and the attention to every detail was evident. They offer a well equipped fitness center and complimentary Starbucks Coffee. What more could we want?.......Complimentary WIFI. WIFI was available for a daily fee, which really surprised us.

Overall, I would strongly recommend this hotel for its location, amenities and incredible staff. When we return to San Francisco, we hope it will be to stay at the Adagio again.

Room Tip: We loved our 11th floor corner room with great city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Desertdweller2877,

What a pure delight and honor to be names your gem in the heart of San Francisco! It was our extreme pleasure to provide you with our newly renovated accommodations and incredible customer service. It is wonderful to hear that you felt welcomed and comfortable from the moment you walked through our doors. Thank you for your high recommendation of our San Francisco hotel! We are thrilled that you will be returning to stay at Hotel Adagio on your next visit to our amazing city!

Warm Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and had a lovely stay. Yes there are homeless people but in San Fran this is not unusual. A 4 min walk to union sq the hotel is on the very outskirts of the tenderloin - most central locations are close to the homeless (where money is!). The room was cleaned and decorated to a high standard. The housekeeping were very efficient (I left notes asking for shower cap etc and when we retuned it was there). In the lobby there is fresh water - with mint&cucumber or strawberry infusion etc, a nice added touch. The Mortimer bar is lovely to relax in and the food we had delicious. We would definitely stay here again.
The only downfall is the wifi - $9.95 (plus tax) per day - which is ridiculous when you can get it free a few doors down in a cafe. Our wifi didn't work the second day so we were refunded but still grudged paying for wifi on the days we had it. Travelling from the uk we needed wifi as roaming cost were extortionate so payed for wifi!! our 4* rating would have been 5* if the wifi was free and good strength. Good stay however!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear MScott18,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Adagio during your recent visit to the U.S. It is quite thrilling for our entire staff to receive your wonderful compliments on our hotel, services and location. Also, thank you for your valued suggestions, as we rely on your input to inform us of our successes as well as areas where improvements should be considered. We are very excited that you would definitely stay with us again, and hope that it will be very soon!

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel Adagio is a perfect place to stay for a trip to San Francisco, the hotel is located just a few minutes walk from Union Square and therefor easy excess to the rest of the city making it perfect for a sightseeing trip. The hotel has recently been refurbished and is very modern and smart. The staff could not do enough for you both on arrival and throughout the rest of our stay. The room was furnished beautifully and the bed very comfortable. The only slight down side was the view from the window but we spent so much time seeing the city this really didn't matter. I would 100% recommend this hotel for your stay in this fantastic city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Jacob N,

Hotel Adagio truly is the perfect place to stay while visiting San Francisco! Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed your experience at our newly renovated hotel. Your 5 star rating and high recommendation are very much appreciated by our staff. We enjoy doing all that we can to ensure that our guests enjoy each and every moment of their experience with us. We want you as our loyal guest and will anxiously await the opportunity to earn yet another 5 star rating on your return visit.

With Much Appreciation,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I booked four rooms for Hotel Adagio to stay for one week. Three of us arrived very late for our check in but were still greeted warmly by a wonderful receptionist by the name of Whitney. She assisted with placing us on the same floor and within close proximity of each other. She even told us the details of each room. The final person to arrive in our party was also treated royally. The rest of the staff were very polite and prompt with request calls.

The rooms are large (for San Francisco) and comfortable in design. Bedding was great and the bed itself gave comfortable nights of sleep. The location allowed us to walk comfortably to the Moscone for our meetings.

The price for the rooms was reasonable considering that we were attending a conference at the Moscone and the entire Union Square had higher hotel prices for April 11-18.

The flavored water in the lobby and the complimentary Starbucks Tea and Coffee throughout the day was very welcome. I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning a stay in San Francisco.

Room Tip: Corner room 1100 has a large closet and a couch for the seating area. The room lights are a bit pale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear avjeth,

Thank you for your one week stay at Hotel Adagio. We are thrilled to hear of your delightful stay with us! All of your compliments on our superior customer service, spacious and sophisticated rooms and great amenities are greatly appreciated. Thank you for recognizing our efforts to always provide exceptional service. It is our sincere pleasure to treat our guests like royalty, and it's extremely rewarding to receive your positive feedback. Thank you for recommending Hotel Adagio to family and friends. We hope that your future travel plans bring you back to San Francisco to see us again soon!

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have mixed feelings about Hotel Adagio. We were in town for a business conference and the location was very convenient, near Union Square and close to the Moscone Center. The holtel was newly renovated, but our room was not quite ready. First, the staff were very friendly; the beds were comfortable; we appreciated the coffee service in the lobby. But our room was very dusty; there was a dirty washcloth hanging from the shower curtain left over from the previous guest; the vent over the bathroom sink was missing, so there was a hole in the ceiling over the sink; and the closet door was stuck and couldn't move. We also hated that they charged for WiFi and internet access via ethernet!! I think this comes from being a faux boutique, Hotel Adagio belongs to Marriott. The housekeeping staff was very stingy with soap and towels, by our last day we were down to a sliver of soap.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Geary
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear vacyclist27,

We are very disappointed to hear that we failed provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We have immediately followed up on your comments to ensure this remains an isolated incident. Thank you for completing the review and bringing these details to our attention. On your next visit to our area, we hope you will decide to stay with us again and give us an opportunity to deliver the impressive experience that our loyal guests have come to enjoy.

Best Regards,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cameron park, ca.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My friends and I went to SF to see an art exhibit. There were four of us, we had two rooms. Before this stay none of us had heard of the hotel, but decided to take a chance after reading reviews. We had a great stay!! The rooms are lovely and large. The staff is outstanding. We liked the location as it is close to many sites and transportation. Would recommend!!!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor front and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarmRegards, General Manager at Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear fish555,

Thank you for deciding to stay with us after reading reviews on Hotel Adagio. It was our extreme pleasure to pleasantly surprise you with brand new, spacious accommodations, outstanding service and an amazing San Francisco location! Your 5 star rating on your experience and high recommendation means the world to us. We will look forward to delivering another fabulous experience on your return visit.

Best,
Michael Pace, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection

Address: 550 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#26 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Adagio features a fresh design that bridges its Spanish Colonial Revival architectural roots to a clean and contemporary design aesthetic. In the heart of San Francisco's theater, dining and shopping districts, the Adagio is the perfect destination for exploring whether you're visiting on business or pleasure. Uniquely San Franciscan and clearly Californian, the new Hotel Adagio offers a pace and atmosphere that is luxuriant and aromatic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Amex, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio San Francisco
Hotel Adagio San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Adagio, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.