We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and high quality hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Argonaut Hotel

Save Saved
You added Argonaut Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109 (North Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AAA Members Save More
Ranked #7 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Hobart, Tasmania
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great location and high quality hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

The Argonaut is in a great spot - just a couple of minutes away from all of the Fisherman's wharf attractions. The hotel is of a high standard - good service, decent sized rooms (we had a standard), nice amenities etc. San Fran is not a cheap town and the Argonaut is priced accordingly, but I think it's reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,460 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,207
    921
    211
    79
    42
See reviews for
834
1404
88
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, nc
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

Great location........ expensive for parking, don't rent one.
Food service at breakfast fair/slow. Noisy, noisy, noisy.
Can hear doors closing, road and band noise at night.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

My husband & I enjoy Kimpton hotels. They are so funky! We stayed at The Argonaut for 2 nights. Upon arrival, since we had missed wine hour, the bellman gave us coupons for a free chowder and 2 free wines at the adjoining restaurant, The Blue Mermaid. Nice touch since we got in late and we were hungry and needed to unwind. Food was good, service was attentive at dinner. The location can't be beat. It is on the "quieter" side of the Wharf. The hotel is within walking distance to Ghirardelli Square and if you are a little more adventurous, you can walk to North Beach. If not, hop a cable car. Plenty around as far as restaurants--Starbucks around the corner, Joanie's diner (good breakfast) across the street, the Buena Vista Cafe is around the corner (good Irish coffee). Love the decor--you feel like you are on a ship. Rooms are nicely appointed. Aveda products are provided. The bed was comfy and there was plenty of electrical outlets. We ate one breakfast at The Blue Mermaid. Service the second time around was so so. Our waitress seemed to forget about us. Don't know if it was because it was busier than dinner. Overall, it was a pleasant stay and we would stay here again if we are in SF.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

If you want a reasonable priced hotel that is clean, convenient with good service this is it. I think that the almost 700 reviews with a 4.7 rating speak volumes about this hotel. Some people will always find something to whine about. Sure the odd person has some bad luck or some unforeseen occurrence, but this was not the case with us. I researched plenty before we booked at this hotel and could have spent a lot more money to stay at other hotels that didn't come close to the reviews that this hotel had. We had a great time and not on complaint. Sure, the restaurant beside is not ultimate dining experience, but there are plenty of other restaurants around. I am booking a trip for November with 3 friends for a football trip and will be returning, No question.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

Stayed here on a trip to California, were in San Francisco for 4 nights.

Service

Very friendly and polite check in staff, always helpful and smiley. The hotel restaurant also had a good and welcoming service. The rooms were spotless and cleaned to a high standard.

Room

The room was a good size, had a room with 2 double beds and was well equipped with free wi-fi, tv and iPod radio dock. The bathroom was clean and modern also. As the hotel was originally a warehouse, the window was small and had a limited view when we expected to have great views over at Alcatraz and the bay.

Location

One of the few decent hotels in Fisherman's Wharf. A fantastic location for exploring the wharf, biking the bridge and Alcatraz. However it's very touristy and the food isn't great in the area. Best bit is to jump on the cable car a minutes walk from the hotel and go into downtown San Francisco. It gets busy at night, but a taxi isn't too expensive either.

Amenities

Didn't really use much of the hotel's features as were out and about most of the time, it did have a Nintendo Wii free of use in the hotel lobby though which was a nice touch.

Overall

A comfortable, high standard hotel defiantly worth considering if planning to visit San Francisco.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

This hotel came highly recommended by a friend who was participating in a sailing competition with my husband. We were downtown in the JW Marriott and thought it a good idea to be somewhere closer to the Yacht Club. We checked in on 24 August and were shown to our room which was described as 2 Queen suite. The first thing we saw was the toilet which was 2 steps to the right from the door opening, the beds were more like lge singles, the room was pokey, the bright yellow/vivid blue decor a visual affront, a strong odour similar to the Sea Lions at the wharf. I asked to be moved to another room hoping that the smell and size would be improved, it was identical to the previous one with the same rancid odour. This one had a ground floor window outlook - and we were witness to a pedestrian leaning on our window then promptly vomiting. What can I say, the noise, the run down tacky souvenir stores, the odour, pokey rooms, loud decor did not appeal to me. I discreetly approached front desk for a third time and let them know I would not be staying as the rooms were not to my liking. I expressed concern that they had my credit card details and would place a charge on it. I was assured that that would not happen. When we arrived back in Australia and checked our credit card statement they had placed a $258.00 charge on our card for a 'no show' ( meaning we booked then didn't turn up). It has taken 3 International calls, 1 email and speaking to 2 Managers to rectify this problem. I had to prove I had personally been there by naming the 2 front desk staff that I dealt with ( I couldn't ) but luckily I remembered the Bell hop name and a conversation I'd had with him so they had to verify with him!!
Needless to say I got on the phone and rebooked us into the JW Marroiott and ran out of there! If you like a nautical theme, won't spend much time in yr room, don't mind the noise of busy street and endless pedestrians, eat seafood, and have a blocked nose then go ahead and book. Also it was twice the price per night as the JW Marriott ( see my review of the Marriott )

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

As others have said... perfectly situated, excellent staff, and fantastic view if you happen to get a Bay View or Gate View room. We'd booked Kimpton's "Breakfast for $1 more" offer, which meant the Blue Mermaid restaurant next door. We tried dinner the first night, and found that the service was inattentive, slow, and (more than once) incorrect. One of the fish dishes was served so undercooked it was practically raw, which is just dangerous - and this was "fish and chips", not sushi. The cooked breakfasts were cold by the time our waiter brought them over, and more than once only bore a passing resemblance to our order.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Argonaut Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Argonaut Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Tingo, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Argonaut Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argonaut Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.