We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non-smokers be forewarned:” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Argonaut Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Argonaut Hotel to your Saves list
Argonaut Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109 (North Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 25% with AAA
Ranked #5 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Non-smokers be forewarned:”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2004

This hotel has an unbeatable location. While our room was clean and had a beautiful view, the stench of cigarette smoke permeated everything in the room so severely that it prevented us from getting sleep. We were disappointed, as we had specifically requested a non-smoking room at the time of our reservation. The manager did offer a free breakfast to make up for the problem, but I would recommend that non-smokers INSIST on a non-smoking room or a refund of your money - the smell was that overwhelming. Also, be advised that parking is extremely expensive, even for hotel guests.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,346
    1,012
    227
    82
    39
See reviews for
933
1,543
91
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston MA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2004

This is absolutely the best hotel for the money in all of San Francisco. We stayed here for five nights at the end of June. The location is perfect. Giradelli Square is right around the corner, cable cars even closer and the Wharf right at your feet. The room we had was spotless and the Aveda products a nice touch. Personally I loved the decor and found the lobby with it's comfortable chairs and fireplace to be an inviting place to rest after a day of sightseeing. We took advantage of the "wine hour" from 5-6 three evenings during our stay and found it a great place to chat with other guests. The doormen were wonderful and the other hotel staff were very accomodating. Thanks to all who reviewed this hotel since that's how we ended up there.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2004

After a lot of research on where to stay in San Francisco, I chose the Argonaut and was so happy! It was the last leg of our California adventure and it had a happy ending. From the moment the bell captain greated us to stepping into our room, to the best mattress I've ever slept in, we were very pleased. I would probably spend the extra to upgrade to a view of the bay next time, however, our room was extremely quiet and after a long day of sight seeing, it was great to return to a tastefully decorated, clean, quiet room. The wine reception was also appreciated! We will recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the bay area and we will definately return one day!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, Pa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2004

The Argonaut Hotel was everything we expected. The staff was quite helpful, and the location was perfect. We stayed on the top floor overlooking the bay. It's worth the additional cost. We were also able to see when the cable car lines were short! This can be critical when staying for only one night, fitting in as much sight-seeing as possible.
The details in the room such as Aveda products and fun decor sets the Argonaut apart from the typical chain hotels. The bedding was super comfortable too. If you're looking for a small "boutique" hotel, the Argonaut is a great choice!

  • Stayed June 2004, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2004

My husband had stayed at the Argonaut previously and insisted that we stay there when we went up together. The idea of Fisherman's Wharf turned me off, but I relented and we stayed in a room with a view at the Argonaut. I could not have been more happy..the view of the Park and Bay was wonderful, running in the morning was a delight and the staff could not have been more sincere, down to earth, eager to please, happy and well trained. However, one night the hotel was very busy and it seemed that the staff acted a bit rushed and frantic. We did use the restaurant for breakfast and it was fine, but there are so many excellent restaurants in San Francisco why stay for dinner. I would highly recommend this hotel if you like being by the water. It's great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, IN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2004

Just returned from the Wharf after spending two nights at the Argonaut Hotel.

The Hotel location, amenities, value and cleanliness were excellent. The service staff were excellent.

Highly recommended - we had three adults and 3 children (ages 13, 13 and 7). The kids loved the place! They also loved the Hotel's restaurant, the Blue Mermaid!

Why an A- instead of an A+ - because the concierge/check-in staff were less than helpful on two occasions.

The first was on initial check in. Traveling with children we had requested adjoining rooms only to find that our rooms were located quite some distance apart.

The explanation was that the hotel was full and they had to do some moving around to accomodate other visitors. NOT GOOD ENOUGH since we had made reservations quite some time before. Personally, we could care less about their booking problems.

Anyway, they made it right by upgrading one of the rooms to a suite. MOST EXCELLENT! It was quite superior to the standard room.

We inquired whether all 6 persons could just stay in the suite (with roll aways) and was told NO. However, when we checked back later (different staff), we were told YES! So the second night we all stayed in the suite (which had a premo hot tub/whirlpool overlooking the bay!).

Persistence pays off!

Anyway, we would recommend both the hotel and the restaurant (on its own).

Oh the other occasion, the we asked the concierge where the closest ATM was and his directions were less than accurate and obviously less than helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2004

The Argonaut Hotel was in an excellent location. It is uniquely decorated and the beds and pillows are heavenly. The restaurant service was slow in the mornings but all of the staff was friendly and helpful. It would be nice if they offered coffee service in the lobby during the early hours of the day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Argonaut Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Argonaut Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Argonaut Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argonaut Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.