We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service!!! Great Location!! Good Value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Argonaut Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Argonaut Hotel to your Saves list
Argonaut Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Jefferson Street, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Valet parking
Ranked #6 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Service!!! Great Location!! Good Value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We had Great Service from staff especially from Steven!! Great Location! I will return and will recommend! Great Valué Proposition. The rooms were ample and clean. My only objection was the noise insulation, we could some times hear are neighbors and the hall.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tuntu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hi, Tuntu M, and thanks so much for your review!
I'm thrilled that we were a great value and location for you. Of course, we have a personal stake in the service, and I'll make sure to share your appreciation with Steven :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed at the Argonaut in July for 3 days as part of our silver wedding anniversary trip from Scotland. We had the hotel know about our special occasion but there was no special message or any gratuities offered. We had visited NY, Savannah, NORA and this was our last stop at San Fran. There was a change to our flight so we arrived about 10pm. We didn't realise that all places on the wharf close at 1030pm-11pm so nowhere was available to get water and a wee aperitif. There was a couple of bars up around the cable car rides, wish we had have did that. We called room service which was almost closing also so we did manage to order some water and vino but it took almost an hour. The room was very tastefully decorated with it's nautical theme and the big mirror is really nice although no view. There was no noise from bar so that was good. Comfortable bed too. Guy that took our luggage in was very helpful and informative. The next day we walked around, the wharf is very touristy and busy so wouldn't be a place I would return to. We visited Muir Woods, Sausalito which was stunning. We sat overlooking the sea and looking across to bay Bridge, then of course Alcatraz which is a must. The staff were very nice and accommodating at the hotel. We never unfortunately arrived back for the free gratis wine hour, too much to do in the time we had. The concierge was very helpful issuing us with a map and booking us dinner overlooking the Bay bridge which was stunning, bot the food and view. We enjoyed it very much. Cable cars around the corner, be prepared for approx 1hr 30 min wait. You must do a trip around the bay, it is lovely. Wished we had more time there awe....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mags2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hello, mags21912, and thank you for your insights! I agree that it is a "must" to get out on the Bay and enjoy the views and some salt air. It's great to see that we were a convenient jumping off point for you to explore Sausalito and Muir Woods to the North as well. Next time, if you arrive late again, you mentioned that the famous Buena Vista Cafe is a great option, and I'd also recommend The Pub (amazing American BBQ!) and Jack's, which has a zillion beers on tap and a great "locals scene," much like Fiddler's Green behind the hotel. But now you've made me thirsty during the work day ;)...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

As the last stop on a long road-trip, it was nice to be able park the car and not need it for a couple of days. That's because it was right down on the street along the wharf.

The rooms are a tad bit smaller than other hotels, but you're in the city, so that's normal. As our room overlooked a inner courtyard (you look down to a roof, not grass), it is nice and quiet.

The valet was quick on drop-off and pickup. Wifi was free for us because it just was free for everyone this month. I don't think it is always free.

It was a bit pricier than other hotels, but we felt given the location and quality of the hotel, it was reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuGrunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hi, StuGrunt, and thanks so much for visiting us!

I'm glad that the location was so convenient for you, and -- yes! -- we are lucky that our hotel rooms are quite roomy by city standards. I will also share your praise with the valet team for their speedy service with your car! As for the wifi, the good news is it is always free for members of our Kimpton Karma Rewards program -- and of course that is free to join, so there's no strings attached :)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The Argonaut is a large hotel on the Fisherman’s Wharf. It is well placed for trips to the Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz and other bay tours. It is a 10-15 minute cab ride from Union Square and you can take the cable car from just next to the hotel. Check-in was efficient. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The soundproofing however was poor for a hotel at this level. We were kept awake late at night by someone speaking on the phone and woken early another day by children playing in the room next door. They have a complimentary drinks hour (5-6pm) each evening, which was a very good touch. The staff were a credit to the hotel with their courtesy and professionalism.

Hotels are expensive in San Francisco, especially in high season, and the Argonaut is not a cheap option. However, it is a reasonable choice for this part of town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adeno_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hello, adeno_34!

Thanks for joining us for summer at the waterfront! I'm bummed to see that that neighbor noise put a damper on things, but happy that the room was so comfortable overall. We are indeed lucky to have some space for folks to spread out in the rooms (at least by city standards!) and of course I feel lucky to work with this crew, too. I'll let the team know you appreciated their helpfulness! I hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My husband and our 2 daughters loved this Hotel from the minute we walked in, the nautical theme was very impressive and you instantly got a warm feeling as soon as you walked in, a fireplace in the foyer made it a great place to sit and relaxed and the free wine & beer tasting from 5-6pm everyday was so much fun. We had a great view of the Golden Gate Bridge from our room and being on the waterfront made it perfect to get around San Francisco without using the car. The rooms were stunning as well and the staff were lovely and so helpful, we would stay there again if we were ever in San Francisco again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reginia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thanks, Reginia G!
I have met so many folks from Australia since joining the Argonaut, and it's been a pleasure! I can't wait to make a trip to your country one day.
I'm glad that you loved the hotel from the first moment, and we were a hit with your daughters, too. It's fun to chat with guests at the wine reception and watch them making friends from around the globe :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
160 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed here as a family for 4 nights at the start of our California road trip, booked via Virgin Holidays.

The trip from the airport was a little longer than anticipated - around 30-35 minutes. After an 11 hour flight, I was too tired to keep an accurate check.

Check in at the hotel was fast and efficient. I had joined the Kimpton 'In Touch' loyalty program so received free wi-fi and a drinks voucher. First impressions were off a clean, well maintained hotel with friendly and efficient staff.

The nautical theme running through the hotel fits the location perfectly. I thought the furnishings and fittings looked modern and clean, not at all dated.

The room was superb, 2nd floor with a view of the bay and Alcatraz. Beds were very comfortable, room spacious and bathroom well kitted out and roomy.

Everything in this hotel smacks of quality. I didn't notice a thing out of place while I was there.

From 5-6pm each evening there is a complimentary drinks session, where all guests are invited to the lobby for wine and local beers. This is the perfect tonic after a hard day's exploring San Francisco, but timing can be an issue if you are out and about like we were.

Location is just what we wanted, All the piers of Fisherman's Wharf within a short walk; cable car stop just outside; Hop On/Hop Off Bus 10 minutes away; and a nice flat starting point for bike rides down the bay to the Golden Gate.

Really happy with our choice of hotel and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hi, Mark B, and many thanks for recommending us! I've shared your review with the Executive Housekeeper so she can let her team know that our guests appreciated the cleanliness of the hotel. (Most notice the free drinks, teehee, but kudos to you for the keen eye ;) )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

I was impressed with the foyer and location. The room was tastefully decorated and the bed was comfortable but in both our rooms we were disturbed by noise from next door late at night and early in the morning. We reported a non- functioning extractor fan which was not repaired. The location is perfect for tourists though Fisherman' Wharf itself is a bit tacky, it's nice to be near piers, boats etc.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalikome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hi, Kalikome,

I appreciate you making me aware of this rooftop noise issue. I will do some digging. I am hoping that either it was resolved or you have especially good ears, since we haven't heard any other reports. I wish that you had not had this disruption, though I'm happy it looks like everything else was comfortable for you, and convenient as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,862 reviews
Nob Hill
The Fairmont San Francisco
The Fairmont San Francisco
#16 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,730 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 233 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#19 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,429 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#33 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Argonaut Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Argonaut Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing