We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had such a wonderful time in August, we will be back in November!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Argonaut Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Argonaut Hotel to your Saves list
Argonaut Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109 (North Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 25% with AAA
Ranked #5 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Newbury Park, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Had such a wonderful time in August, we will be back in November!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We chose this hotel when we were here in August for our anniversary and had such a wonderful time that we will be back again for my birthday/Thanksgiving!
We loved the view room, all the pleasant employees, great location and of course the close proximity to the Buena Vista. It was fun just walking across the street to catch the cable car!
Looking forward to staying with you again!

Room Tip: Ask for a view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Yay! Thanks for your rave review, cwilkecat! The team will be so happy to hear you loved the anniversary getaway so much you'll be back to see us again. Repeat guests are a privilege, and make the experience of working here that much more fun for our crew.
Cheers and see you next month!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,346
    1,009
    227
    82
    39
See reviews for
931
1,542
91
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (699)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Hotel close to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39 and close to tram and cable car. The room was large and comfortable. Each evening there is a wine reception in the very comfortable foyer, very welcoming after a day of sightseeing. If you want a hotel by the Bay this is the one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thanks, Paul N! It feels great to be "The One" top choice of hotel at the waterfront. I'm glad you liked the lobby/fireplace area and evening wine party, too. I hope you got to sample some of chef's cozy crab & corn chowder as well? It just won the People's Choice Award at last weekend's big Wharf Fest celebration. Yay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Helpful, friendly employees! Shout out in particular to Emily who was so nice at check in and at the hosted wine hour, she made us feel very welcome. Clean rooms, very quiet, such comfortable beds, great view, awesome location. I loved hearing the bell of the cable cars from our room. Can't say enough about this hotel. Such a nice vacation! A+

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Well, well, Cindy G -- This may be my favorite review to read in some time, and I'm sure you can only guess why :) :) :).
Seriously, though, thanks for recognizing the team here. I'm glad you felt welcome and at home! We'll share your praises with the unsung heroes of housekeeping for the super-clean room you enjoyed as well. Thank you so much for your note!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Large clean room with maritime theme. Befitting considering its great location. Hyde-Powell cable car terminates next to the hotel, bus lines stop a block away,restaurant & shopping options are plenty. The best part is that there's a nice park next to the hotel and beach front is just minutes walk away.

We stayed on the 2nd floor and can hear the street noise but it's not so loud that we can't sleep. If you have kids with you, they even deliver a gold fish in aquarium to your room as a travel pet for the children, cute.

Would highly recommend this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thanks, Harister! I'm glad that you and the kids had a great time with us here at the waterfront. The goldfish friends are a fun thing to request -- regardless of guest age! I hope you got to enjoy the wine and non-alcoholic sparkling cider at our nightly reception as well? I imagine everyone would enjoy meeting a family from Copenhagen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Having been to SF 20 years ago we are determined to return and picked this hotel as the location looked ideal, we weren't disappointed. The hotel is a 'boutique' style in an old reclaimed building on the edge of Fishermans wharf & they have made a really good job of the conversion.

We opted for a 'view' room & asked for the top floor, there are only four. We had a fantastic view of the Golden Gate bridge ( when the fog clears ) so it's well worth upgrading. The rooms are a good size and have a nautical theme to compliment the area. The furnishings are very comfortable with super beds. The staff are really helpful & the hotel has a very friendly feel.

With plenty restaurants close and a Starbucks in the same building there is plenty choice on the doorstep.

The wonderful SF trams, a must for any visitor, are at the side of the hotel giving great access to downtown.

If you want a quality hotel in a great location with transport links to downtown go to the Argonaut

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks, Omey23!
An A+ is our goal, so I'm thrilled that you loved the stay, and the location lived up to all expectations! Did you get to "Live Local" at some of the neighborhood spots like the Buena Vista or, on the less well-known side, the Codmother Fish truck or the more formal Frascati restaurant? What better way to arrive at dinner than on a cable car, right?! When in SF -- and staying just next door to the starting point -- it is a "must" to ride this historic monument!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time great hotel great free beer and wine every night 6 till 7 really nice staff helpfull and pleasent rooms well stocked with everything you might need from band aids to headache pills wine beer and even condoms and lube. Hotel in great situ right on the wharf close to golden gate fish bars ghiradilli chocolate factory the famous bush man shops and easy accesses to trams.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thanks Paxton7! It's wonderful to hear the Argonaut made your celebration seamless, and you got to enjoy the little conveniences and the fine at our nightly wine party (5-6pm). Please know that if you join up with your loyalty club (for free!), you also get to enjoy $10 off the minibar or the "real bar" in our very own Blue Mermaid restaurant. Another good perk for you to enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Essex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel as part of a tour for our 25th wedding anniversary. It's in a great location for seeing everything you need to in San Francisco. We enjoyed the wine tasting evenings and the room was comfortable, only our view was looking on to another building. The walls also are very thin, need I say more, hearing everything next door! So won't give my room number. Staff were brilliant and helpful. The decor is very nautical which fits in nicely with its location. Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hi, there, Global_Ant,
If you do decide to drop us a line with your room number, we'll take a look into that noise issue. Also, our exterior rooms should be just as quiet as standard rooms, so you might enjoy one of those types with a view of the city/Del Monte historic courtyard. We can explain some options to you when you're back from the 26th year anniversary :). I'll share you thanks with the team for the "great stay" and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Argonaut Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Argonaut Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Argonaut Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argonaut Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.