We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Argonaut Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Argonaut Hotel to your Saves list
Argonaut Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109 (North Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 25% with AAA
Ranked #5 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“5 Star Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Large clean room with maritime theme. Befitting considering its great location. Hyde-Powell cable car terminates next to the hotel, bus lines stop a block away,restaurant & shopping options are plenty. The best part is that there's a nice park next to the hotel and beach front is just minutes walk away.

We stayed on the 2nd floor and can hear the street noise but it's not so loud that we can't sleep. If you have kids with you, they even deliver a gold fish in aquarium to your room as a travel pet for the children, cute.

Would highly recommend this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thanks, Harister! I'm glad that you and the kids had a great time with us here at the waterfront. The goldfish friends are a fun thing to request -- regardless of guest age! I hope you got to enjoy the wine and non-alcoholic sparkling cider at our nightly reception as well? I imagine everyone would enjoy meeting a family from Copenhagen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,340
    1,004
    225
    82
    39
See reviews for
925
1,538
91
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Having been to SF 20 years ago we are determined to return and picked this hotel as the location looked ideal, we weren't disappointed. The hotel is a 'boutique' style in an old reclaimed building on the edge of Fishermans wharf & they have made a really good job of the conversion.

We opted for a 'view' room & asked for the top floor, there are only four. We had a fantastic view of the Golden Gate bridge ( when the fog clears ) so it's well worth upgrading. The rooms are a good size and have a nautical theme to compliment the area. The furnishings are very comfortable with super beds. The staff are really helpful & the hotel has a very friendly feel.

With plenty restaurants close and a Starbucks in the same building there is plenty choice on the doorstep.

The wonderful SF trams, a must for any visitor, are at the side of the hotel giving great access to downtown.

If you want a quality hotel in a great location with transport links to downtown go to the Argonaut

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks, Omey23!
An A+ is our goal, so I'm thrilled that you loved the stay, and the location lived up to all expectations! Did you get to "Live Local" at some of the neighborhood spots like the Buena Vista or, on the less well-known side, the Codmother Fish truck or the more formal Frascati restaurant? What better way to arrive at dinner than on a cable car, right?! When in SF -- and staying just next door to the starting point -- it is a "must" to ride this historic monument!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time great hotel great free beer and wine every night 6 till 7 really nice staff helpfull and pleasent rooms well stocked with everything you might need from band aids to headache pills wine beer and even condoms and lube. Hotel in great situ right on the wharf close to golden gate fish bars ghiradilli chocolate factory the famous bush man shops and easy accesses to trams.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thanks Paxton7! It's wonderful to hear the Argonaut made your celebration seamless, and you got to enjoy the little conveniences and the fine at our nightly wine party (5-6pm). Please know that if you join up with your loyalty club (for free!), you also get to enjoy $10 off the minibar or the "real bar" in our very own Blue Mermaid restaurant. Another good perk for you to enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Essex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel as part of a tour for our 25th wedding anniversary. It's in a great location for seeing everything you need to in San Francisco. We enjoyed the wine tasting evenings and the room was comfortable, only our view was looking on to another building. The walls also are very thin, need I say more, hearing everything next door! So won't give my room number. Staff were brilliant and helpful. The decor is very nautical which fits in nicely with its location. Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hi, there, Global_Ant,
If you do decide to drop us a line with your room number, we'll take a look into that noise issue. Also, our exterior rooms should be just as quiet as standard rooms, so you might enjoy one of those types with a view of the city/Del Monte historic courtyard. We can explain some options to you when you're back from the 26th year anniversary :). I'll share you thanks with the team for the "great stay" and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Argonaut Hotel is located in a good spot! short walk to Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiaraldi Square, as well to the Trolley. Numerous Restaurants in walking distance. The rooms are spacious and reasonably priced (Californias Hotel tax is a killer however) The Staff from the Front desk to the cleaning Staff were all friendly and helpful. From 5-6 PM daily they offer free wine/beer in the Lobby.
The Blue Mermaid while their Clam Chowder was good they are very pricey. Suggest if you don't mind walking a block or two you can get a cheaper breakfast then $40.00 for two people!!
Overall would definately stay there again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: King bed was awesome, view not worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hi, BadDawgBob!
Thanks for the five stars - great to see that the location was spot-on for you and everyone from the front desk to the housekeepers gave you that feeling of welcome and comfort. We take pride in boutique hotel service here, and it's nice to hear when we achieve our goals!
I know the city hotel tax is a killer, but SF is so worth it as a destination, don't you think? It steals your heart! Also, while the restaurant here can be pricey for the crab omelette etc., it is possible to save a bit with the smaller a la carte items (their oatmeal is strangely amazing!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The staff at the hotel are really lovely. They were very helpful with all of my questions. The concierge helped me to book my airport shuttle. There is a free wine reception from 5-6 and there is a lovely fire place. The hotel is themed but it is quite cute and makes it a bit different from the other hotels I have stayed in. When I checked in Lauren looked to see if they could offer me an upgrade, sadly there wasn't one available for my whole stay so I stuck with my original room. The room had a really bad use of space and there wasn't a full length mirror. The robes provided were a little on the tacky and scruffy side, I would have preferred a regular fluffy robe. The room was on street level and it was noisy! Every morning we got woken up by people right outside the window or rubbish trucks collecting the trash. It was really irritating. I guess there isn't a lot the hotel could do about that but it was a pretty crap room for that reason. Ask for a room that isn't on Beach Street. If you don't like touristy locations don't stay here. It is a bit out of the way for walking anywhere. The public transport is easy to navigate and there is a cable car stop right next to hotel and lots of busses that go to all different neighbourhoods. I liked the location personally but my friend found it far too touristy. When my friend's airport shuttle didn't turn up, John, the doorman called the shuttle company and got them to promise to pay for her taxi, he then made sure she got a taxi that took visa. It was a shame he was working alone as it was really busy and because he was so busy I felt it was hard for him to pay proper attention to his guests. Overall a nice stay just a shame about the noisy, badly laid out room.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Beach are noisy. Get something facing the wharf or sacrifice a view and get an internal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hi, Deborah Caroline,
I'm glad that the crew here--especially Laureen and John--showed a real empathy and commitment to your satisfaction. I just wish we could have gotten to the bottom of that noise issue or gotten your room switched during your stay! As you mention, we have a whole variety of rooms. I personally really like the deluxe courtyard-side rooms, but I know everyone has their preferences. I'd be happy to help make sure you get a room layout and location you love next time -- just drop us a line, and we'll hope to make it up to you! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton Bray, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

First the good stuff: we loved San Francisco and the hotel. The room was nice, the staff friendly and 5 o'clock wine was brilliant. But for me the good stuff has been overtaken by you ignoring my emails regarding returning to me $300 that you took on my MasterCard as a guarantee for incidentals. We stayed on October 1st thru 3rd, and still we await the return of our money. Actually a response to our emails would have been nice. We have since stayed at 3 other hotels in California and not had to wait over 2 weeks for the funds to be released. I have now escalated this to MasterCard. This has spoiled our view of your hotel. If you are interested my name is Michael power.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Owner at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hello, Mr. Power,
What a mixed situation! I am thrilled that you loved the room, staff, and wine party, but of course I am very saddened to see that an issue with your Mastercard has turned the good experience upside down. Very unfortunate, and I would like to investigate why you did not receive a response to your emails. I will be looking into all of this with our accounting team today to see if they have a record. If the hold is still pending, please reach out to me directly because I see we do not have your contact information on the booking (due to it coming through a travel agency). I would be happy to make this my personal project!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Argonaut Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Argonaut Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Argonaut Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argonaut Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.