We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great second visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Argonaut Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Argonaut Hotel to your Saves list
Argonaut Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109 (North Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20% with AAA
Ranked #6 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Scotland
1 review
“Great second visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Having enjoyed our first trip a couple of years ago, we sprung for a fourth floor suite.
Room 445 on the corner must be the best in the hotel, quiet, huge, with views of the Golden Gate bridge and Alcatraz from lounge, bedroom, and even from the hot tub in the bathroom with wine in hand - doesn't get much better than this if you can upgrade - after all, its about the experience in the round. the happy hour is great - meet different people daily, no real walk ins from the street (our experience from both trips).
Kevin & Dawn

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Well thank you, Kevin & Dawn! It is delightful to have people choose to return to the hotel, and I'm so happy you got to indulge in Specialty View Suite this time. That is my favorite hotel room in the city and worth every penny if you love views, space, and the crazy-deep soaking tub.
Those of us who work here also get a kick out of the wine hour. As you say, it feels private to guests yet very energetic with so many folks visiting from around the globe. I have learned a lot about different cultures, and it's interesting to hear people compare San Francisco to other world cities. (With ours being the best, of course ;))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,382
    1,025
    229
    83
    39
See reviews for
954
1,556
93
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

What a great hotel, superb staff, really spacious and comfortable rooms and a great loaction.
Really can't fault this hotel. Would have to be one of our favorites ever.
We had a double room on the 3rd floor looking out over the water to Alcatraz. The view was amazing across the bay.
Breakfast was fine, nothing special but a great looking restaurant. A strong nautical theme runs throughout and it feels like a boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a room on higher levels to get you a view over fishermans wharf. The noise from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi, Alexanderfz,
Thanks for the fantastic five-star review. I'm glad you loved the hotel and the views are such a great way to soak in the feel of San Francisco, aren't they?! Thanks for checking out the restaurant as well, though it sounds like we may have to steer you toward one of our specialties next time. I definitely love the bacon quiche or the benedicts... or, if you want to stay healthy on vacation, the oatmeal is great as far as that kind of thing goes ;).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Firstly the staff were brilliant very helpful! secondly the hotel is very clean and comfortable with a homely holiday feel.
we stopped here for 4 nights before going on to Los angeles, the location being right on fishermanswarf meant we did not have to drive as you have everything on your door step, fishermanswarf is the place to stay in San Francisco!! You have shops, bars, great places to eat, boat trips and form the hotel you can see the golden gate bridge and Alcatraz as well as you have a small bay beach which was brilliant seeing as we were here when they had a heat wave! The hop on hop off buses are a must to see all the sights in SF the first stop is basically right out side the hotel which was very good.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable! I cant say a bad work about this Hotel, I have been lucky enough to visit some beautiful hotels due to being a Travel Agent and this hotel is one I hope to visit again in the future.

Room Tip: as for a room to look over the bay so you can see the golden gate bridge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks, xxgeorgia04xx!

High praise from a travel agent is the hotel manager's dream :). I'm thrilled that we rank at the top of all the hotels you've visited, and I'll make sure to share your kind words with the "brilliant" crew working here as well! If you have the chance to come back here or travel to other Kimpton Hotels in the states, I'd definitely recommend our free loyalty club, Kimpton InTouch, which will set you up with a minibar welcome amenity, newspaper of choice, preffered pillow type, etc!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel, which was converted from a former cannery many years ago, was unique enough to avoid the "cookie cutter" category, but also offered some personal amenities usually found in bigger hotels. It's part of an deluxe group of hotels (Kimpton), but they know how to make you feel at home...without the attitude. For instance, we arrived shortly after they finished their nightly happy hour in the lobby (no charge), but the bellman asked if we would like a glass of wine (on the house) while we were waiting in line to check in. Off to a good start. The rooms are comfortable, but not what they could be with more windows or light sources. But, I'm sure one of the conditions they encountered when deciding to restore the old cannery warehouse was leaving the exterior as is, since it's a historical landmark. Thus, the limited amount of windows for each room. Nonetheless, they aim to please and you won't spend much time in your room while you're walking distance to so many attractions. If you don't feel up to walking, you're not even 1 block away from the main turnaround of San Francisco trolley cars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on upper floor (3rd or 4th) if you want to see anything from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks, Ken S! I love reading about the team showing friendliness and professionalism "without the attitude" -- so Kimpton! We try to be people serving people, and never robotic :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Argonaut hotel 
Never ever again
Firstly I must say that so much about this hotel is near perfect - friendly doormen and bellhops, wonderfully large rooms for a family , super sized bathrooms,  attractive furnishings and even an evening mix and mingle with complimentary beer and wine. However, the primary purpose of any hotel is for sleep and due to the loud and intrusive music played loudly (this morning until after 2.30am) this hotel is one I will never again visit. On check in last Thursday afternoon my family and I were all extremely impressed by the decor and location. By 10pm that night we had approached reception about the noise volume coming from the blue mermaid restaurant directly below our room 256. Reception indicated that they had no idea where the music could be coming from - and unfortunately could not move us as they had no rooms available. However, they could move us the following day but the room was not 'as nice" as our current bay view location and she was unsure if it was as large. As the music that night ceased at 10.30pm we made the decision not to move as we had already settled into the room and were loathe to move to a smaller room with two teenagers, providing this was the normal time the music ceased. Friday night we were out late so did not notice the noise, Saturday the noise went on to approx. 12.30am and restarted at 7am in the morning. However, with an early flight to catch Monday morning our Sunday night sleep was minimal with loud music blaring until after 2-30am. Alongside this noise was loud scraping  noises as if furniture was being moved. Finally my husband went downstairs to complain - on investigation we were advised that the restaurant had 'forgotten ' to turn off it's courtyard speakers and this was why the music had continued so late. We were offered Ear plugs and if necessary a room change - however, as we only had three hours left before our wake up call we declined. 10 minutes later the music was switched off - all noise ceased and the room became blissfully quiet. The night manager originally advised he would waive all incidental charges we had made to the room due to the inconvenience, but on check out were advised we would only receive a $50 credit. This hotel had cost us well over $500 a night - far in excess of all the other 4-5 star hotels we had stayed in in LA, Vegas and Waikiki and to have to put up with loud intrusive music till the early hours of the morning is well below what I expect a hotel of this level to provide. The noise was not coming from the surrounding area - all other restaurants and bars were closed up and empty by 11pm each night - but rather from the sound system and kitchen area of the hotel restaurant. I find it impossible to believe that the hotel has not received numerous complaints prior to ours re the noise from this restaurant. Unfortunately   lack of sleep and the hotels response marred what was  our first visit to an amazing city. We will certainly return to San Francisco - just not to the argonaut! 

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Oh, no TinaGoldCoast -- this is such a bummer! I see the staff and the spacious room and everything were "near perfect" and then this odd noise situation (and our handling of it) ruined what could have been a five-star experience. I have alerted the restaurant managers as well as our overnight security guard to nip this in the bud. It is not a problem we've had before so they will sort out who was not completing nightly closing procedures properly. I hope that the overnight manager you spoke with already alerted them, but I forwarded your comments for good measure. Please give me a call if you have a moment and I can further update you on the action taken here to remedy this (for you and for future guests). Thank you so much for visiting us and I hope we can rebuild your trust that this was a "freak thing!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I'll lead with a tip - the best way to stop the ancient plumbing system keeping you awake all night is to put the ends of a small towel into the faucet and the overflow pipe. The noise from the old system sounded like the bathroom was possessed.
This hotel has undergone a funky nautical refurbishment but nothing can disguise the fact they are reasonably superficial. The rooms are small, the beds are hard and the bathrooms are quite inadequate given the expensive room rate.

The restaurant within the hotel serves very good food and the clam chowder really is excellent. Unfortunately, the service staff do not support the high level of food. For example, I waited 10 mintutes for two staff to prepare 2 take out coffees - they were having a completely unacceptable and loud arguement about swapping shifts!
You'll find a range of quality hotels within 3 blocks of this that may not be as funky but they are better on price, quality and service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hello, MurrayBSydney,
I appreciate your initiative and problem-solving with that pipe noise, but please know that our engineers would love to get to the bottom of any oddities like this, and they're available to you daily from 7a-11pm. I can also reassure you that all of the hotel plumbing (all of the hotel, really), was newly installed ten years ago and maintained consistently since then. We have the benefit here of massive brick walls to keep noise from the outside out, but all new "guts" inside the structure. The beds are also a recent-model pillowtop, so if you can provide me with a room number, we'll look into what may have made it feel hard?
Meanwhile, I've passed on your feedback about the Blue Mermaid restaurant and will give the chef a high-five for that chowder :). Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royersford, pa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The location, the décor, the friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness of the rooms, the fact that it used to be an old cannery made this hotel. The little things in the room like lights by the door to let the maids know if you when to make up the room and the 2 ports to charge all of your electronics were bonuses. Now the reasons why this didn't get 5 stars from me: I thought the room could have been a little bit bigger, the elevators were painfully slow at times, incredibly thin walls, not 1 premium channel for free, no free wifi and having a room next to the maids' storage area so that our room was literally banged into every morning, over and over, didn't go over so well. We told the front desk upon checkout about the banging and noise and they credited my $12.99 one day wifi fee. We also said that if we came back, we would demand not to be in the room by the storage area. There were other hotels in the vicinity and if they had free wifi in the rooms, HBO and slightly bigger rooms, we might switch.

Room Tip: Don't get the room by the storage area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you, Abura. We appreciate the feedback because "almost perfect" is definitely not what we go for here!! I had actually heard about this situation from the front desk team and we've trained the ladies to be quieter with their carts, even if they do have to start at 8:40am. I had never heard about banging like that and our goal is to ensure we don't have that issue gain!
If you do head back this way, I'm not sure if the team let you know about free wifi as a loyalty club member? There is never a charge for internet as long as you are signed up with Kimpton InTouch. Details are available on-line and it's free, no strings attached!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Argonaut Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Argonaut Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Argonaut Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argonaut Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.